Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.8 out of 5 stars
250
3.8 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 22 July 2010
i've got this smoke alarm in the kithen and it doesn't go off when you lightly burn your toast, create steam or manage to to other daily things that tends to create false alarms. I have however tested this alarm by lighting paper near it (as I was a bit nervous that it wasn't going off at all!) and it did set the alarm off. Looks inoffensive and works well... you can't put a price on safety.
0Comment| 64 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 April 2010
Compact and unobtrusive smoke alarm. The long life battery is a great benefit
if you've owned other models that the battery lasts about 1 year on and then
starts the annoying beep-beep to have it's battery replaced. Fit and forget.
0Comment| 36 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 January 2012
This First Alert Smoke Alarm is easy to fit. Just screw the backplate to the ceiling, line up the arrows on the backplate and the alarm body, twist the body of the alarm and it's fixed. The screws are covered by two little plastic tabs. All neat and tidy.
Had ours fixed outside the kitchen for a week and it hasn't false alrmed once. was worried that it wasn't working so deliberately burnt some toast. It works. Loudly.
The battery is supposed to last about ten years. That's pretty good. Fantastic value for money, especially if it saves my rear from a fire. I'm kind of fond of living.

It has a cancel/test button in the middle of it and there is a tell-tale LED that pulses every 40 seconds or thereabouts just to give a bit of confidence that all is well. Apparently, when the battery starts to die, you get an audible warning. Removing the alarm is not as easy as fitting. It has a catch that stops children and others from easily undoing it. That can be overcome by slipping a small screwdriver into the catch and releasing it.
0Comment| 27 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 August 2009
Product is compact and easy to install. The writing indicating push-test button should be more visible i.e. actually printed, and perhaps the unit design could be a little more stylish - hence 4/5 rating; these are only minor points as the 10 year battery life and the not overly sensitive sensor make it an excellent buy from an established company.
11 comment| 45 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 October 2010
Superb item for the price. I love the 'hush' button so no need to wave that kitchen towel around teh alarm if you burn the toast. Supposed to work for 10 years without changing batteries
0Comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 March 2013
I bought this alarm last July. I assumed I would have 10 worry free years - not the case. After 8 months I have been woken every night this week with a bleep...bleep... obviously its' 10 year battery has run out already.
Very disappointing and a real nuisance as I now have to go to the trouble of replacing not just the battery but the whole unit!
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 September 2012
I originally bought this product based on the price and reviews I had read,for a holiday cottage that I run as a business.
The first two that i installed died within 3 years.I replaced them with another two of the same(Yes,foolish me).The batteries died within 3 months of installation.I might hasten to add that there have been no fires in the property,so it is not through excessive use that these stopped functioning.
I have contacted Amazon who agreed to give me a refund.
Save yourself some money-don't buy these alarms!
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 August 2010
Very good value for money easy to install and no need to worry about it beeping,usually in the mniddle if the night!, to replace batteries. Don't need to do anything more for 10 years. Great.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 March 2010
For the price, this is a good product.
The siren is loud enough and there is a light that flashes every 45 seconds to tell you if it's on.
Not very sensitive/ has no fake alarms.
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 August 2014
Ordered two of these. Nice compact units. Pushed the test button on the first one, excellent loud beep, and fitted it. Then made the mistake of fitting the second one and pushed the test button once on the ceiling, and...nothing. Not a peep. Dismantled it, and back to Amazon it went, with a replacement coming a few days later. Pleased that the replacement had arrived so fast, I unwrapped and looked forward to the joys of covering the ceiling holes with the new unit. And guess what, that one did not work either.

So 1 star as two out of three products were faulty. I wait with baited breath to see how long the first one lasts.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 15 answered questions


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)