Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle  Learn more Countdown to Prime Day Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars42
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£3.50+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 14 February 2009
This album may not be on your menu but I say to you make sure that it is, because it is full of musical treats. If you have seen the movie you will know just how powerful the soundtrack is. Dont deprive your sound system at home of this interesting collection of musical styles and sound that will also keep the neighbours guessing. Buy it and play it loud.

C.Kenny ( Dj ) Dublin.........
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 February 2009
I am so happy that finally one of world's best music composers gets his due in the west. With Slumdog Millionaire the legendary A.R.Rahman as always has given an utterly awesome and mindblowing album. The album is kind of an ambassador of Indian/Eastern music. Though for the western audience the sound is totally new, this is only one of nearly one hundred albums A.R.Rahman has given in his 16 years career. From overwhelming "O Saya" to vibrant "Jai Ho", every song is a gem in itself. The masterpiece work in "Mausam and Escape" and "Liquid Dance" gives a glimpse of immense talent the maestro got. The score is getting its due and A.R.Rahman has already won the prestigious Golden Globe award for it under the Best Original Score category. It has now been nominated for Oscars both in Best Original Score as well as double nominations under Best Original Song category (Jai Ho and O Saya..). M.I.A's Paper Planes comes as a bonus.
0Comment|19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 February 2009
A definate must have album, the Slumdog Millionaire soundtrack manages to capture the best music from the film and also present the genre to a much more wider audience.

Personally I think M.I.A's input is crucial and feel her tracks bring the whole interacial theme together!

Definately a must have!

Stand out tracks =

O...Saya
Riots
Paper Planes
Aaj Ki Raat
Millionaire
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 February 2009
A perfect way to recall all the emotions evoked by the film. This soundtrack buzzes with life, taking you through trepidation, adrenaline-fuelled optimism and tender romance. A.R. Rahman is a sensational composer and his co-artists on this album bring their unique skills to great effect (M.I.A. in particular just blew me away).
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 March 2009
Brilliant music score. Thoroughly recommend this CD, saw the film and now have boughthte CD and the book Q&A - superb. Also of couse this is a triumph for Danny Boyle and his team. The music of A. R. Rahman certainly deserves all the acclaims that it has received. Buy it!
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 April 2009
A. R. Rahman can be attributed to changing the Indian Music scene Single handledly.. In my opinion, the biggest difference between Rahman and the rest of Indian composers is that he produces Unique Indian Music using Western Intruments and the rest attempt to produce Western music using Indian Instruments and Rahman, by far is the most successful in that..

No other Music Director in History has been able to produce hits at such consistent pace for such a long span of time.. He has beaten all records in History already, even Madonna's and Michael Jacksons sales record..

In most cases, even a dumb film with no story line has been a super hit because of his Background Score and songs..

Even though there are better soundtracks than this, created by him, this can be considered a baseline for the little Maestro of Madras !!

All the very best A. R. Rahman...
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 January 2009
This soundtrack gets a 5 out of 5 from me just because....

(UPDATE 11 Jan---Composer A.R.Rehman has won a Golden Globe for this soundtrack)

1. O... Saya - is a track with punch and is simply an intro
2. Riots - is no deal breaker
3. Mausam & Escape - is better and inspiring
4. Paper Planes - M.I.A.
5. Paper Planes [DFA Remix] - M.I.A.
These two tracks are worth the money... a little bit of disco....a little bit of rap...( which work even better in the film)

6. Ringa Ringa
7. Liquid Dance

8. Latika's Theme - the feel good track
9. Aaj Ki Raat - sung by Alisha Chinai, Alisha Chinoy, Mahalaxmi Iyer, Sonu Nigam...some of the best names in Bolly..a cool pop song

10. Millionaire ---the theme song -----good

11. Gangsta Blues
12. Dreams on Fire
13. Jai Ho ......the ending and the uplifting track

All these tracks, as always work better with the movies
0Comment|29 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 March 2009
This soundtrack is stunning in its own right, albeit being heavily associated with one of the best British films of our time. When I saw the movie for the first time I distinctly remember being impressed and conciously aware of the music (Paper Planes, specifically) which prompted me to buy the soundtrack (from Amazon, of course - where else?!) For several weeks the disc hasn't left my car's CD player and my time at the gym is accompanied by Rahman's brilliant tunes on my iPod.
The flavour of the music has a retro feel, yet is utterly modern in its layers and production value; at the same time there is a vibrant energy in the music that is entirely satisfying. Parallels can be drawn to Nitin Sawhney and Talvin Singh, yet this album remains distinctive. Paradoxically, it's original and familiar all at the same time.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 April 2009
Be extremely careful, it would appear that several sellers are pushing 'India only' copies as the movie soundtrack.

I have just had one arrive, the track listing is not the same as listed on this page, the music is by some covers band, it's all in Hindi (which the film soundtrack is not) and the sound quality can best be described as 'interesting'.
It is most definately not the album listed here and not what I paid for.

My advice would be not to buy any disc not coming from inside the Europe, check the seller profile to make sure, you have been warned.
22 comments|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 June 2009
Until now Craig Armstrong has possibly been my favourite soundtrack composer but this album is seriously brilliant. It brings the India I know from my travels to life and is not only full of life and fun, but has some stunningly beautiful tracks like 'Latika's theme' and 'Dreams on Fire'. Was also great to hear the 'proper' version of Jai Ho again. This album provides an eclectic mix of tracks that contrast greatly with truly tradional indian style to M.I.A's paper planes - a must for anyone who loved the film.

Tip: listen to it at least twice before you fully pass your judgement as it grows on you greatly, especially if its not the kind of music you are used to!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)