Customer Reviews


355 Reviews
5 star:
 (171)
4 star:
 (66)
3 star:
 (40)
2 star:
 (24)
1 star:
 (54)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


22 of 24 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Digital copy expired November 30th, 2010
Nothing wrong with the film, or discs, but if you are buying this for the extras then be aware they have all expired. The digital copy and the 3D holographic experience both expired on 30th November 2010.
Published on 10 Mar 2011 by D. Pugh

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Robots Go Botty.
Transformers 2: Revenge of the Fallen is directed by Michael Bay and jointly written by Alex Kurtzman, Ehren Kruger & Roberto Orci. It stars Shia LaBeouf, Megan Fox , John Turturro, Ramón Rodríguez, Josh Duhamel & Tyrese Gibson. Ben Seresin is the cinematographer and the music director is Steve Jablonsky.

The Autobots and the US military have...
Published on 14 April 2011 by Spike Owen


‹ Previous | 1 236 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

22 of 24 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Digital copy expired November 30th, 2010, 10 Mar 2011
By 
D. Pugh "DenaVirago" (Bristol, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Nothing wrong with the film, or discs, but if you are buying this for the extras then be aware they have all expired. The digital copy and the 3D holographic experience both expired on 30th November 2010.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Robots Go Botty., 14 April 2011
By 
Spike Owen "John Rouse Merriott Chard" (Birmingham, England.) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Transformers 2: Revenge of the Fallen is directed by Michael Bay and jointly written by Alex Kurtzman, Ehren Kruger & Roberto Orci. It stars Shia LaBeouf, Megan Fox , John Turturro, Ramón Rodríguez, Josh Duhamel & Tyrese Gibson. Ben Seresin is the cinematographer and the music director is Steve Jablonsky.

The Autobots and the US military have formed an alliance called NEST, their singular goal is to rid the World of Decepticons. But now they face their biggest challenge, because heading for Earth is the ultimate destroyer, The Fallen.

Michael Bay has never been the most subtle of film directors, he knows how to have fun, and in the main he knows how to drag his target audience along with him for a slam bang good ride. After the hugely enjoyable Transformers film, and after its subsequent success, he has crafted a sequel that he felt needed a more is more approach, where everything is bigger and louder and nothing pauses for breath. The end result is a dizzying ball of entertainment that's sadly devoid of substance. If ever there was a film to be put forward as OTT then Transformers 2 is a leading candidate. The plot is thin yet unnecessarily made complex by the writers, who you feel are trying to be heard in amongst the eye candy carnage, while Bay even resorts to cheap moments of crudity to get some laughs for his film. His cast are fine, yes Megan Fox seems to only serve as a drawing in weapon for the randy teenagers, but she still works well off of the ever likable LaBeouf, who in turn continues to deliver a good line in action comedy performance. Pity, tho, that in a film that's so big, with everything expanded, that John Turturro doesn't get more screen time. Only he, with his visual comedy at optimum, can make a metal testicle scene seem less crass than really it is.

When all is said and done, all the human actors are playing second fiddle to the Bots/Cons and metal critters. To that end the film is exciting, undeniably so. Sure some of the set-ups riff on other movies that have gone before it, but Bay is the master of Bayhem, there's just too much fun to be had if one is prepared to forgive its shallow center. With a third film on the go and set to be released in 2011, without out Megan Fox (Rosie Huntington-Whiteley slipping into the considerably short skirt this time), it's anyone's guess what we will actually get this time. Will Bay pull back a touch and give us a story, with characters given time to breath? Or will it be bigger and noisier than part 2? You hope it's the former, but even if it's the latter, it will be fun for those after a certain level of popcorn explosive cinema. Transformers 2: Revenge of the Fallen is like a great ride at the funfair, one you have been on four times in a row. You know you have had a great time, but as your head starts to spin and your stomach feels queasy, you wonder if it was just too much overkill? 7/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars lots of transformers transforming, 14 Feb 2010
By 
Paul Tapner (poole dorset england) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Transformers: Revenge of the Fallen (2-Disc) Special Edition [DVD] (DVD)
A sequel to the 2007 movie that brings us back to the main characters from that. Two years have passed for them. It doesnt make much concession to those who didnt see the first film but it shouldnt be hard to get into anyhow.

Main character sam is off to college and is getting along nicely with girlfriend Mikaela. He's also trying to distance himself from the whole alien robots whom he got involved with in the first film. The good guy autobots are helping the military destroy the evil deceptions. But the latter have a whole new plan that involves a figure from their history. As that kicks into action, nobody is safe, and it's time for sam and mikaela to help save the world again.

This builds things up to a much greater scale than the first film, and it brings in a lot more of the robots, both good and bad ones. This is the right decision but there's so many new characters, few of whom get anything other than cursory introductions, that those who don't know the transformers characters from other media might be a bit confused. There were times when I thought a scorecard would have helped.

Some have rather silly voices and some are used for comic relief, but these ones do at the same time have a fair amount of character as a result, so they work.

The plot also being move involved means you do have to work at it, a little more than you might expect from a piece of escapist entertainment.

And yet, whilst it's not as focused as the first film, it does come the big action battle climax manage to get you caught up in things. As humans and alien robots alike battle evil forces and strive to do the right thing and are quite prepared to put their lives on the line, it's not hard to find yourself rooting for them all the way.

Parents please note that this is 12 certificate because of a few jokes about drugs and other things of an adult nature so it has parts that may not be entirely suitable for young children.

Having said all this though, when I watched it a second time, I found it worked better. Now that I'd gotten used to the plot and all the new characters I could take in all the detail instead. And once you can do that, it's not bad at all. But if there's so much detail in the first place that you need two viewings to fully appreciate it, then maybe it's a bit too involved for it's own good.

A good piece of entertainment all in all though, and I look forward to another film in the series. Hoping at the same time that it will be a bit more focused.

The two disc edition of the dvd is quite a decent package.

It has the following languages and subtitles:

languages: english

subtitles: english danish dutch finnish norwegian swedish

The first disc has a commentary from the director and the two writers.

The second has a two hour and ten minute long making of documentary, that can be watched all in one or in seven shorter sections. Incredibly comprehensive with lots of behind the scenes shots - not least the director fine tuning the visual effects images two hours before the premiere - this is absorbing viewing.

A day with Bay is a thirteen minute long look at the directors visit to japan for the world premiere, and all he had to do on the day of it. It's quite interesting viewing, to see what such people go through from day to day.

Transformers data hub shows you lots of production designs for a few of the robot characters.

Deconstructing visual bayhem shows the cgi storyboards for various scenes, each with a commentary from the designer. These can be watched all in one - running for twenty three minutes total - or one at a time. Interesting visuals and a good commentary make it a quite interesting look at how films like this are made.

25 years of transformers is a rather short feature about the transformers brand. It's not a documentary about the characters over the years, rather about how the brand has adapted over the past couple of decades. Once you accept it's going to be the latter not the former it does get engrossing.

There are also three rather short deleted/extended scenes [one of which gets a bit adult so isn't necessarily suitable for children]

The cinema trailer for the movie.

And a pop video for a song that appears in the film. Decent song. Good video.

So not a bad package for a fairly good movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good, But Too Much, 30 Jun 2009
By 
Caleb Williams (Liverpool) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Transformers: Revenge of the Fallen (2-Disc) Special Edition [DVD] (DVD)
The original Transformers movie is an ultimate favourite of mine and I was delighted when I first heard there was going to be a sequel and Bay was going to turn up the juice. Unfortunately, in comparison to the first movie, this fell flat in many ways and left me feeling a bit empty when leaving the theatre. The amount of Transformer characters in this movie is four times as many and they have a more prominent presence on Earth in terms of their co-operation with the government in tackling the Decepticon menace.

The story is set two years after the original. More Autobots have come to Earth and formed a government alliance with the humans known as NEST which has the aim of eradicating the Decepticon presence on Earth. We see the return of our favourite Transformers and our favourite human characters such as Sam Witwicky (LaBouf), Mikaela (Fox), Major Lennox (Duhamel), Agent Simmons (Turturro) and Master Sergeant Epps (Gibson). This time the humans and Autobots face their biggest enemy to date as they have to tackle one of the original Transformers, from the Dynasty of Primes known as the Fallen.

17,000 BC the Dynasty was on Earth and the Fallen wanted to harvest the sun which would provide Energons for the AllSpark. His fellow Primes disagreed with his plan as Earth was inhabited by humans so, in order to prevent him from starting the sun harvester destroying the planet, they sacrificed themselves and hid the Matrix of Leadership which powered the harvester. The Fallen vowed to take his revenge on Earth by finding the Matrix and starting up his sun harvester and destroying the humans. Now in the present, Sam Witwicky is going to college, Soundwave has joined the Decepticon forces by hacking into a government satellite to mobilise those who will help The Fallen achieve his revenge.

On paper the plot sounds like it could work wonders and translate into one hell of a blockbuster extravaganza, however, what it translated to was a film that didn't seem to know where it was going and what it was trying to achieve. The human characters had to naturally take a step back in order to make way for the new and larger presence of the transformers, but what this meant is that the film makers still needed a reason to keep them around which ultimately, was ridiculous. The goofy humour is back but becomes way too childish for my liking. Bumblebee peeing on one of the Sector 7 agents in the first movie was pretty funny but, despite what imbeciles will tell you, dogs humping aren't. Sam's parents are also given a bigger and more annoying role as an attempt at some form of comic relief and also end up falling flat by destroying the plot line by breaking away from an important moment in the movie to see the parents being stupid.

Talking about a lesser point of the human characters, although this is to make way for the higher level Transformer storyline, it does end up meaning you don't care what happens to any character. One of the more important people in the movie does get killed and I just found myself thinking "who cares?" which is something you don't want in a movie. The fighting in this sequel has been altered somewhat to get away from the confusion of the fight sequences of the first film. One of the better battle sequences pits Optimus against Megatron and Starscream. The look and set up for the battle is really well done and presents an exciting scene that presents the enjoyable aspect of this film.

There's much more good and bad that I could talk about this movie, but I think it's best that you discover that for yourself. If you liked the first film then you will enjoy this but feel a bit dry coming out of it and there's the likelihood you will still prefer the first live action film. Character voicing is good, human acting is OK and the pacing and construction of the story is abysmal to say the least. When you blend them all together you are presented with a summer blockbuster that is just OK and nothing more than that. Judging by the fact that Michael seems to have learned from his mistakes of the first film, I'm hoping that if he does make this a trilogy, he manages to repair the numerous mistakes made by this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great for kids, not so great for adults, 1 Dec 2009
By 
Jonathan Wallis (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
After watching this film I couldn't help but think it was really quite disappointing. There seemed to be a tendency to fill the film with visual effects and forget about everything else. I'd go further and say that there were some bits that felt added purely to show off the effects and didn't actually give anything to the film.
This film is certainly one for children (I'm quite sure my eight year old nephew would love it) but I'm not convinced adults would find it quite as good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Poor sequel, 2 Mar 2010
After watching Transformers, I was looking forward to this movie when I heard that the Autobots would be working with the military hunting down rogue Decepticons, I mean, how cool does that sound? When I found out the main bad guy would be an ancient Transformer looking to destroy the world, I was worried because Megatron should ALWAYS be the bad guy and when I saw Revenge of the Fallen, I was deeply disappointed, not least because Megatron is made out to be a simple lackey to the big bad guy.

The film spends an hour showing how Sam is now going to college, introducing his conspiracy nut room mate who is perhaps the most annoying character in ANY Michael Bay movie I have ever seen, and shows Sam being hit on by a Terminator, no wait sorry, human form Transformer. WHY were they focusing on this when they could have shown the Autobots shooting the hell out of the Decepticons, especially when they had so many cool looking new characters like Sideswipe, Sideways and Arcee? That being said however, two new Autobots are introduced and they appeared to be even more racist than Jar Jar Binks from the Star Wars prequels, and they were just as annoying to watch.

The plot is messy and key plot points are left unexplained, old and new characters are wasted and the film relies so heavily on CGI that the Transformers fight sequences are a literal blur of metal and you can't tell what's going on or who's winning. The main focus of this film seemed to be Megan Fox, not that I'm complaining but you don't watch Transformers for the girls, you watch it for explosions and robots beating the hell out of each other.

Transformers was a good film that had potential to spawn great sequels, but I hope they think of something a LOT better if they make another film, because this was a poor effort.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars "If you hate me I understand. I messed up. I'm sorry." Michael Bay, rather than Sam, should say this line EVERY DAY in public!, 20 Jun 2014
By 
Darth Maciek "Darth Maciek" (Darth Maciek is out there...) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
I hated this film and I am so sorry that I stupidly bought it. The reasons why I hated this thing are as follows:

- absence of any kind of scenario

- boring, repetitive action scenes

- lack of humour

- too much of darn Sam Witwicky which also means much too much of darn Shia LaBoeuf

- Sam parents are just obnoxious jerks

- you can't really watch this film with your kids - the language is too strong, even for a 12 years old (it should really be rated "15");

- noble Optimus Prime is misused in this film in every possible way

- a completely ridiculous vilain

- Megatron is reduced to be a sidekick (!)

- Starscream is reduced to a pathetic, miserable, crawling lackey

- grotesque, ridiculous, gross robots with golden teeth (!)

God, I hated this film! After like 50 minutes I just wanted it to finish already but I kept watching it hoping for at least a great finale - but it never came... Let's say it again, I deeply regret that I bought and watched this.

AVOID THIS THING LIKE NANOTECHNOLOGICAL PLAGUE FROM CYBERTRON!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Mis-sold digital copy, 21 Jun 2012
By 
Mr. D. Riley - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Movie is fine but bought this with intention of watching on my mobile device & the code for the digital copy is invalid. Emailed paramount and they say this feature has been discontinued. So why is it still being Mis-sold with "Digital Copy" written on the front
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Still fast and exiting but instead of correcting the flaws of the first film, Bay amplifies them., 4 May 2010
By 
G. McFarlane "gav_mcf" (Aberdeen, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Despite not being sure about the idea at first I was very impressed with the first Transformers, for me it was the surprise of 2007. The mixture of humour, action and special effects was spot on as well as making a star out of newcomer Shia LaBeouf. With Revenge of the Fallen, it's not a complete loss but it treads awfully close to being a one-star disaster.

Any problems that may have been slightly apparent in the first one, director Michael Bay just seems to have taken them and made them so much worse, within the opening 20 minutes a major one is apparent: the comedy. With Transformers the whole family dynamics element was amusing because it was light and believable, here it is just taken too far, especially with Sam's mother who is just so over the top, the most cringe worthy part is where she's running around Sam's college like an idiot, I couldn't wait for the scene to end.

I'd also like to ask Bay why Captain Lennox (Josh Duhamel) and Sergeant Epps (Tyrese Gibson) are so underused, they were important characters in the first film and with the part they have here they might as well have been written out. I'm sure plenty has been said already about the Transformer 'twins' so I won't go into it much except they are a complete disaster and are almost what Jar-Jar Binks was to The Phantom Menace. It's probably not too much of a spoiler to say, but in another act of madness there is a 'human' Decepticon, this is the worst thing Bay could've done because not only does this defy the whole point of the series it also begs the question: if they can transform into humans then whats the point in prating about with cars, planes etc. if they want to infiltrate a military base or something?

In a more positive note the action sequences on the whole are very good with the special effects perhaps being even better than the first one. The opening in Tokyo is fantastic as well as a fight with Optimus Prime going hell for leather in a forest. The desert finale is not bad, but perhaps like the ending of the first it suffers from being a bit repetitive and how many times do we need to see LaBeouf and Fox running in slow motion! It was also completely pointless Sam's parents being involved, they should only be in the film as comic relief and it was overstuffed as it was.

On the performances, Shia LaBeouf (who surely has a great career ahead of him) remains a likeable lead and does his best with the script. John Turturro (who stole the first one) provides solid support and is always good to watch, Ramon Rodriguez as Leo is pretty annoying and well outstays his welcome and like I said before Duhamel and Gibson are so sidelined they are hardly worth mentioning. I wasn't too keen on Megan Fox as Mikaela this time, despite what most people said about her in the first one I thought she gave a charming performance, however with Fallen she just looked like she couldn't be bothered therefore I didn't care at all about her character. Whats worse is the most attractive female from the first (Australian actress Rachael Taylor as analyst Maggie) wasn't even in this one which was very disappointing; hopefully there's a chance she'll return in the third.

From this review it's clear how little I've mentioned the actual story, thats simply because I don't know what to say about it! Similarly to Pirates of the Caribbean: At World's End, all sense of fun has been drained out and all we get is an over complicated, overlong film. I couldn't even tell you who the Fallen is and what he's getting revenge against, so either the film wasn't clear enough about him or it just got to the point I couldn't care anymore.

So as it is, Revenge of the Fallen is a major disappointment and just shows that you should never assume a great idea can only get better. Michael Bay and producer Steven Spielberg, along with screenwriter Ehren Kruger (Star Trek writers Roberto Orci and Alex Kurtzman bailed after this one thinking the idea could go stale) seriously have their work cut out for the third film (which is due out summer 2011) and need to tone down extensively in many areas and hopefully recapture the magic of the first film. Despite how many feel about Bay I think he's a good filmmaker (see The Rock & The Island) and I'm confident he can still turn the Transformers franchise around.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 20 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars There are no words to describe how bad this film is, 9 Jan 2010
By 
Mr. T. COLEMAN "Jesus freak movie geek" (Coventry, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
I am a Transformer's fan. I loved the original animated film (1986) and really enjoyed Michael Bay's first Transformer outing (2007): sure it was not high art, but with a straight forward plot, fantastic battle scenes and a great score from Steve Jabolosky, it ticked all the right blockbuster boxes. So I was excited about Revenge of the Fallen (2009).

There are not words enough to describe the cinematic train wreck that is this movie. With an incoherent plot, complete lack of meaningful characterisation, and not even a decent action sequence the film lumbers on and on for a seemingly endless 2.5 hours. I completely agree with a previous reviewer who commented on the silly humour which fills the film, with a plethora of fart, sex and drug jokes; plus stir in some gratuitous up-skirt shots of some hottie trying to mount Shia Le Beouf, and it's clear this film is aimed squarely at frat boys and and an all male adolescent demographic. As such it feels like a marketing machine has identified this target audience, spewed out a bunch of things to appeal to this audience (big robots? check. hot babes? check. low brow comedy ad nauseum? check) and just jumbled out those ingredients with no particular order or semblance of cohesion. The result is awful; relentlessly, unremittingly, irredeemably, awful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 236 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Transformers: Revenge of the Fallen (2-Disc) Special Edition [DVD]
£14.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews