Customer Reviews


80 Reviews
5 star:
 (36)
4 star:
 (18)
3 star:
 (14)
2 star:
 (10)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


59 of 62 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Loved it!
My friends and I do film nights and I chose this film. None of us, including me, knew what to expect. We found it scary and had a good few screams along the way. We all agreed at the end that it was the best film we had watched in a long time. We loved the story and thought Zellweger was brilliant. We were also pleased to note that the priest wasn't called in, which...
Published on 30 Aug 2010 by Jane

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not bad, great acting, but it could have been so much better...
I liked very much the first 20 minutes of "Case 39" and if the rest of the movie could be as good, I would rate it five stars without hesitations. But in my purely personal opinion, the scenarist greatly blundered by revealing the main secret before even we wathed one third of the film - and the rest of the plot is simply quite predictable and frequently borrowed from...
Published on 27 Jun 2011 by Maciej


‹ Previous | 17 8 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 23 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Case 39 [DVD] (DVD)
this was quite scary
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Predictable hokum, 21 Feb 2010
By 
PJ Rankine (Wallington, Surrey United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Case 39 [DVD] (DVD)
Renee Zellweger stars as a care worn social worker who rescues an 11 year old girl called Lilith (big clue) from her abusive parents with the aid of her detective friend played by Ian Shane. The girl worms her way into Renee's life and ends up living with her but wherever she goes bad things seem to follow and soon Renee's life and sanity are at risk as the world she knows crumbles around her. Good all round performances all round and realistic gritty locations but the shocks when they come are predictable as is the story line because at the end of the day you have seen it all before. The film is presented in a letterbox format and the audio track makes good use of the soundfield especially in the scene with the hornets. Reasonable selection of the usual extras too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Case 39, 2 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Case 39 [DVD] (DVD)
An ok film. The special effects are well done although there aren't many - one of the reasons why I only gave it three stars. But don't let that put you off - it's one of those DVDs which are handy to have on these long drawn out winter nights when there's nothing worth watching on tv.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars not that grea, 11 Jun 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Case 39 [DVD] (DVD)
trailer looked good but there just wasent much in the film could have been alot better but was ok to watch
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars case39 great story, 14 Oct 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Case 39 [DVD] (DVD)
loved the story line to CASE 39 excellent acting especially the little girl if there was any niggles about the film it has to be the faces that Renee pulls ps great to see IAN McSHANE in a top hollywood movie
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable, 13 Jun 2011
This review is from: Case 39 [DVD] (DVD)
I liked this film, there was some nice twists and turns with the plot. The acting was very good. A very enjoyable film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing Horror, 7 Sep 2010
By 
GratuitousViolets "Ash" (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Case 39 [DVD] (DVD)
My Thoughts: I was very stoked when I heard that Case 39 had FINALLY been released after it having had an incredibly prolonged on-again-off-again release schedule (something like two years?), but upon watching the film I found that the few years I had eagerly waited for the release of this film had been more or less been building myself up for something that was very disappointing in the end.

The story had more or less already been done in films like "Orphan" and "The Omen", and there was very little here that was scary or vaguely intriguing to a horror fans (you'll recognise all the usual cliches, all the same dialogue, all the same scares). After what seemed like an almost promising start, he movie fairly crawled along in a turtle pace while the audience waits for something remotely interesting to occur, and by the time the film DOES begin to pick up again, I found I'd already lost interest and was only watching the end for the sake of seeing it the whole way through.

Performances here were incredibly below par, and to be honest, every actor seemed to be stuck in that hell of being miscast. Renee Zellweger is a wonderful actress, but she is not under any circumstances a scream queen and struggles to portray the character she plays, and British actors Ian McShane and Adrian Lester were horribly wrongly cast as American and you are completely aware of their accents and care very little about the characters.

All in all, would suggest this as only a last resort rental rather than an impulse buy from what looked to be a fairly good trailer. If you're looking for a similar story with a better twist, you'd be more suited to something like "Orphan". Will also note for parents sensitive to references to child abuse or children being hurt, this may be a film that will be hard to swallow and should perhaps be avoided.

The Story: Emily, a sweet-natured and deeply passionate social worker throws herself into her work convinced that a young damaged girl known as Lillith is being mistreated and neglected by her edgy and seemingly disturbed parents. After Lillith is saved by Emily from her seemingly insane parents, Emily is propositioned by the girl to become her foster parent. As Lillith imposes herself on Emily's life more and more, Emily begins to realise that Lillith is not all that she had seemed and that perhaps, deep down, there is something more to her that is darker than anyone had realised.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars little girl, strange., 14 Aug 2010
This review is from: Case 39 [DVD] (DVD)
This film is not bad, it is in fact, much much better than most big-hyped up movies especially in the horror genre. Do not expect too much, but just enjoy this little-known thrills and chills by especially focusing your attention to the little girl which makes "Case 39" an interesting matter. Zellweger is perfect but the performance of the child actress is beyond greatness. Enjoy solving this case!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars CASE 39! SCARY BECAUSE AFTER WATCHING IT I WENT TO BED THINKING THAT LILITH WAS COMING FOR ME!!!!, 30 Sep 2010
By 
G. Stephenson - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Case 39 [DVD] (DVD)
CASE 39 is a terrifyingly great movie starring Renee Zellwegwer. She plays Emily, a social worker who's 39th case is troubled ten year old Lilith! At first it seems like Lilith's parents are the evil ones after Emily sees them locking Lilith into the oven! But...when Emily decides to take Lilith home with her so she can live there for a few months! That's when it starts! The HORROR! Lilith seems to have a murderous grudge against adults. There is one horrible and disturbing scene where a man discovers that he is infested with hornets. They come out his ears, eyes, nostrils and lips! She turns out to be...on second thoughts i wont say, but be warned, if your watching this at night make shore you can cope with horror, blood and terror and dont do what i did! I shut the door and closed the curtains and turned all the lights out! AAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAA!
But it is a fantastic movie! HUGE, HUGE FUN!!!!!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars nicely Done, 12 Aug 2010
This review is from: Case 39 [DVD] (DVD)
this movie was enjoyable and scary at the same time. I could nt take my eyes of the screen. But i thought the ending was not very good i thought that they could of done better instead of lilly just dying. but overall a nicley done scary thriller.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 17 8 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Case 39 [DVD]
Case 39 [DVD] by Renee Zellweger (DVD - 2010)
3.98
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews