Customer Reviews


84 Reviews
5 star:
 (38)
4 star:
 (18)
3 star:
 (14)
2 star:
 (11)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


59 of 62 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Loved it!
My friends and I do film nights and I chose this film. None of us, including me, knew what to expect. We found it scary and had a good few screams along the way. We all agreed at the end that it was the best film we had watched in a long time. We loved the story and thought Zellweger was brilliant. We were also pleased to note that the priest wasn't called in, which...
Published on 30 Aug 2010 by Jane

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not bad, great acting, but it could have been so much better...
I liked very much the first 20 minutes of "Case 39" and if the rest of the movie could be as good, I would rate it five stars without hesitations. But in my purely personal opinion, the scenarist greatly blundered by revealing the main secret before even we wathed one third of the film - and the rest of the plot is simply quite predictable and frequently borrowed from...
Published on 27 Jun 2011 by Maciej


‹ Previous | 1 2 39 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Suspenseful psychological thriller!, 19 Dec 2013
By 
ReviewBlog51 (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Case 39 [DVD] (DVD)
'Case 39' isn't all that scary if i'm honest, but it is suspenseful and thoroughly entertaining. It's unlikely that you'll scream at it, but you might jump at times.

The film revolves around biker chick social worker Emily (beautifully played by Renée Zellweger) who adopts ten-year old Lilith (played by Jodelle Ferland who has a string of film credits to her name including 'Silent Hill' and more recently 'Cabin in the Woods') after her parents try to roast her. At first the viewer feels sympathy for Lily, but it isn't long before the girl begins terrorising Emily, and the people closest to her, including her best friend, Douglas (played by Bradley Cooper) meet an unexpected end. Ian McShane also stars as Detective Mike Barron.

Lilith plays on people's emotions and it's only when she has them feeling threatened, that she can have them ending up dead. Although, without giving to much away about the movie, she is unable to get the better of her adopted mother towards the end.

In short, 'Case 39' is a good physiological thriller and very well acted from everyone involved. Jodelle Ferland is outstanding as Lily, effortlessly changing between the two roles of the sweet, innocent wide eyed little girl to the tiny demon who is capable of saying and doing the most horrible things.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars HER NAME WAS LILLITH [sic], 23 Sep 2013
By 
The Movie Guy "Movies from A to Z" (United States) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
If you don't read the box, you will still know the entire plot about 10 minutes into the movie. Rene plays a savvy case worker. She is overloaded with 38 cases when she is given case 39, about a 10 year old girl named Lillith [sic] a dead evil name give away. Rene ends up rescuing the girl from parents that are attempting to Hansel and Gretel her to death. Lilith stays with Rene (Emily) until she can get a foster home. While Rene is picking up stuff at the little girl's home she notices large dead bolts on the inside of her parent's door. At this point the plot is fairly well established and you can guess the rest of the film.

The acting was superb. Jodelle Ferland was excellent, with the highlight being the scene with Rene's smug boyfriend. "How did you answer number 12?" Sweet.

There were no great twists in the plot, not really a surprise ending. These were really needed to distinguish this movie from other demon kid movies. Overall I would go 4 1/2 stars on the strength of the performances and good dialouge. Not for parents with 10 year old girls who think they are possessed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Clever supernatural horror with some tense scenes, 2 Jan 2011
I was expecting little from this, given that Rene Zellweger doesn't usually do this genre. However her choice to play social worker Emily actually gives the film greater clout, as she's a very sympathetic lead and she brings a vulnerability to a lead role where she's surrounded by angry, abusive parents and vulnerable kids.
When she gets assigned the titular Case 39, her immediate impression is that sweet little girl Lily is in some kind of danger from her freakish and wild-eyed parents. One breathtakingly intense rescue later, and it's apparent she was right.
However, the closer she gets to easing Lily back into normality, the clearer it becomes that there's more to the case.
Zellweger is excellent, as it Bradley Cooper as her best friend and romantic interest, and Ian McShane as her cop buddy. Most of the thrill of the film is in riding the twists as they happen, so I won't give away any more of the plot. However, for those of you with a curious nature, if they were to re-create a certain Richard Donner movie from the '70s from scratch without trying to immitate what's gone before, this is how they might do it. Very creepy and very exciting.
Well worth watching.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Thoroughly Enjoyable!, 3 Nov 2010
By 
Ms Maria Leigh "Maria" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Case 39 [DVD] (DVD)
Was'nt quite sure about this film to begin with. Not use to seeing Renee Zellweger in this time of horror thriller but it worked, she worked! Very good! Would recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 29 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Dear Diary - met a devil of a little girl named Lilith today !, 25 Feb 2010
By 
Mr. R. Coleman (Marlow, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Case 39 [DVD] (DVD)
Firstly I think I have to say that I am not a huge Renee Zellweger fan, so really approached this movie with some trepidation - I was also worried that I would not be able to stop seeing her as Bridget Jones and would be waiting for her to run off with some British hunk and that that would ruin the film for me. However, that said she did not write in her diary and her hunk ? Well, let's just say there's a sting in the tail as far as he is concerned !

Basic plot ? Social worker Zellweger is given the case of a young girl who appears to be potentially experiencing some trouble at home, and after meeting the `weird' parents and a quite `disturbing' oven event, Zellweger takes day-to-day customer of the child after the parents are thrown in the local nuthouse. Shortly after though, the sweet little girl Lilith begins to turn into every parent's worst nightmare and as the small girl starts to be linked to the deaths of Zellweger's most closest friends, she starts to realise that maybe the girl's parents were not quite as mad as she thought at first.

To me the film really feels like an `Exorcist' hybrid, but my big issue with the movie is that the reason for Lilith's behaviour is not really gone into in any real depth like others of this genre, and once again - like so many other movies today - it felt at times like there was probably an awful lot of plot cut out to get it to a length that the makers thought an audience could comfortably slurp their coke and crunch their popcorn through. Mistake people ! I'd rather have got a second helping and sat another 20 minutes or so to expand the depth. The few brief visual seconds of a demon inside the child are clearly not given enough precedence, explained or used to maximise the story. There are a few visually disturbing scenes but cut those out and your left with a PG movie !

The movie certainly has me appreciating Zellweger a little more, but not enough to have me searching out BJ Diary in the shops ! So a reasonable movie for a night in, but it is not going to set the drama and horror world afire ! 3 out of 5.

Lastly - Dear English actors stop putting on the fake American voices, it sounds so ......fake !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing, 29 Dec 2011
By 
Aido "Aido" (Sydney, Australia) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Case 39 [DVD] (DVD)
I'm a total horror fan, so any horror movie I see I want to like it.

Case 39 starts off very well. A couple is arrested after attempting to kill their daughter by chucking her into the oven and turning it on. It's a pretty harrowing scene, and we wonder what kind of psychos are these people? The parents are locked up in an asylum and along comes Renee Zellweger to look after the child until something more permanent can be found for her. While investigating, it is discovered that the girls parents would lock themselves into their room every night. Maybe they have a reason for wanting to kill their daughter.........

As the movie progresses, however, things become stupider and stupider, and in the end I was just longing for it to be over. I was so disappointed as the trailers I had seen looked so scary, it's a shame the movie didn't live up to it. I didn't hate it, so it gets 2 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars forget the bad reviews, this is a very scary movie, 19 Nov 2010
By 
Jose Juan Garcia (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Case 39 [DVD] (DVD)
i will be honest with this but this is the most scary movie i've seen in years, the performances are all around very good, the twists are unexpected , and only the ending doesnt make it a five stars, being it a bit simple.

without spoiling it for you it makes for an extremely good viewing, my favorite scene is when the psicologist interviews the little girl after Renee zellweger takes her away from their lunatic parents for adoption... if not to buy(which it is) is a sure movie for renting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great thriller, 14 Nov 2010
By 
Sue Lewendon "Film fanatic" (England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Case 39 [DVD] (DVD)
I watched this tonight with my hubby who doesn't usually like this kind of film...he loved it just as much as me but keeps saying..."It's not right though is it?"...after watching the bathroom scene with Doug, (Bradley Cooper). I myself found the scene where Lily is being interviewed by Doug more scary and creepy.

It tells the story of social worker Emily, (Zellweger), who is called into a case of child neglect, said child being Lily. Emily is more convinced than ever that Lily is being mistreated at the hands of her parents after meeting them face to face. They appear extremely creepy and guarded. When Emily manages to get Lily on her own, the 10 year old confesses that she overheard her parents saying that they are going to send her to hell. Emily tries to get the girl to speak up on record but she refuses so Emily gives her her home phone number and tells her to call if she gets scared.

This is where the movie really kicks in...there's a dreadful scene of mistreatment followed by the agonising attempts to rehouse Lily. But maybe things aren't quite what they seem with the little girl. Ian McShane plays a good part as a cop, and friend to Emily. Bradley Cooper is the child therapist. But top marks to Jodelle Ferland who plays Lily....she's awesome!

This is a great film to watch with your partner, get all snuggled up with a pizza and some chocolate and you're in for a real treat.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Who would be a social worker?, 14 Aug 2010
This review is from: Case 39 [DVD] (DVD)
OK it's absolute hokem. Nevertheless this is a pretty entertaining film, ideal for a quiet night in with a bottle of wine and some nibbles.

Zellweger plays a believable well-meaning social worker who comes across a terrible case of child abuse. Together with cop friend Mike (played by the ever reliable Ian McShane) she comes to the rescue of a ten year old girl in peril.

There are twists and turns that make for some scary shenanigans and although this sort of thing had been done a hundred times before, Zellweger and McShane make it well worth watching.

Not a classic and far too daft to be taken seriously, it's perfect flat-lining entertainment if you need to disengage your brain for the evening.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Distasteful totally hated it, 1 Aug 2014
By 
Sunnyme38 (British Isles) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Case 39 [DVD] (DVD)
This film was truly awful, horrific and violent. Watched the first 40 minutes then switched off. The scene in the beginning where the mother and father of their daughter shuved her in the oven and switched it on as they were trying to hide her from Social Services. Just awful. I wouldn't recommend this film to my enemy! It was NOT what I was expecting from Renee Zellweger who seems to have taken a wrong turning in agreeing to star in this film. Its far from Bridget Jones' Diary and good old Mr Darcey. I don't agree with the film being rated 15 years either. It should have been rated 100 years then most people would never get to watch it. DVD gone in the bin!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 39 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Case 39 [DVD]
Case 39 [DVD] by Renee Zellweger (DVD - 2010)
3.90
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews