Customer Reviews


129 Reviews
5 star:
 (64)
4 star:
 (27)
3 star:
 (20)
2 star:
 (12)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


67 of 71 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Loved it!
My friends and I do film nights and I chose this film. None of us, including me, knew what to expect. We found it scary and had a good few screams along the way. We all agreed at the end that it was the best film we had watched in a long time. We loved the story and thought Zellweger was brilliant. We were also pleased to note that the priest wasn't called in, which...
Published on 30 Aug. 2010 by Jane

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not bad, great acting, but it could have been so much better...
I liked very much the first 20 minutes of "Case 39" and if the rest of the movie could be as good, I would rate it five stars without hesitations. But in my purely personal opinion, the scenarist greatly blundered by revealing the main secret before even we wathed one third of the film - and the rest of the plot is simply quite predictable and frequently borrowed from...
Published on 27 Jun. 2011 by Maciej


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

67 of 71 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Loved it!, 30 Aug. 2010
This review is from: Case 39 [DVD] (DVD)
My friends and I do film nights and I chose this film. None of us, including me, knew what to expect. We found it scary and had a good few screams along the way. We all agreed at the end that it was the best film we had watched in a long time. We loved the story and thought Zellweger was brilliant. We were also pleased to note that the priest wasn't called in, which sets it apart from other films of this genre. To be fair, we don't watch gory horror so if that is your thing then this would probably seem mild, but if you like a good story, good acting and some scary moments, then this is a great film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant!!!, 16 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Case 39 [DVD] (DVD)
This is a great movie the acting is fantastic. The bathroom scene where hornets come out of Bradley Cooper's character's ear is so scarey I could bearly watch. There is no blood and guts, so if you like slasher porn this is not for you, just good old fashioned horror at its best. Good buy!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not bad, great acting, but it could have been so much better..., 27 Jun. 2011
By 
Maciej "Darth Maciek" (Darth Maciek is out there...) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Case 39 [DVD] (DVD)
I liked very much the first 20 minutes of "Case 39" and if the rest of the movie could be as good, I would rate it five stars without hesitations. But in my purely personal opinion, the scenarist greatly blundered by revealing the main secret before even we wathed one third of the film - and the rest of the plot is simply quite predictable and frequently borrowed from other horror movies. Towards the end I simply grew bored.

That being said, "Case 39" is not devoided of qualities. Although not a big fan of Renee Zellweger, I must admit that I loved her performance in this one (the only time before when she impressed me was in the "Cold mountain") and even when the plot started to bore me, it was still a pleasure to watch her acting - especially in a role which is definitely not of her usual kind... also, I really would like that all the social workers have her devotion and courage.

But the real star of "Case 39" is of course Jodelle Ferland who plays Lily, the endangered child. I was already charmed by her performance as Bree Tanner in "Eclipse", but in this movie she showed an IMPRESSIVE talent! She is definitely somebody to watch with great attention, because we may very well have the next Natalie Portman here. And also it is almost impossible to believe, that this cute little girl is in fact 17...

Interaction between Renee Zellweger and Jodelle Ferland is a great show - they both gave the maximum and the result is very entertaining.

So to conclude, I think it is possible to watch "Case 39" and enjoy it, at the only condition that you are prepared that there will be a display of excellent acting by two very talented women, but with a storyline of which, after the first 20 minutes, you will be able to anticipate all the developments, because we all have seen them on the screen dozens of time before.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Omen-esque horror, 25 Aug. 2010
By 
Jules (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Case 39 [DVD] (DVD)
Although this film starts off slowly, it soon develops into a great horror film mid way, and really cranks up the tension by the end. Yes this story line has been done many times in the past, but for me this was one of the better versions of this Omen style demonic horror tale. Renee Zellweger (Bridget Jones's Diary) was very strong as the lead, and didn't need to carry the whole film on her shoulders here thanks to the good supporting cast. Of note 15 year old co star Jodelle Ferland, who also voices the little sisters in the PC game Bioshock, was top notch as the Damien style character, she brought across the sweet innocence of a child & could turn into her alter ego superbly well at a drop of a hat, an actress to keep an eye on for sure. Ian McShane (Deadwood) , Bradley Cooper (The A-Team) & Adrian Lester (Hustle) add gravitas in support.

In conclusion, I liked the film allot to be fair, as i say, for me this was a nice, well presented/plot twist film considering the somewhat predictable story line. Obviously those who watch allot of horror films or have a high threshold for horror, wont flinch too much when the scary stuff starts to kick off, but those who don't will probably be sleeping with the lights on(and door bolted ?) ;0) Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Suspenseful psychological thriller!, 19 Dec. 2013
By 
Amazon Customer (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Case 39 [DVD] (DVD)
'Case 39' isn't all that scary if i'm honest, but it is suspenseful and thoroughly entertaining. It's unlikely that you'll scream at it, but you might jump at times.

The film revolves around biker chick social worker Emily (beautifully played by Renée Zellweger) who adopts ten-year old Lilith (played by Jodelle Ferland who has a string of film credits to her name including 'Silent Hill' and more recently 'Cabin in the Woods') after her parents try to roast her. At first the viewer feels sympathy for Lily, but it isn't long before the girl begins terrorising Emily, and the people closest to her, including her best friend, Douglas (played by Bradley Cooper) meet an unexpected end. Ian McShane also stars as Detective Mike Barron.

Lilith plays on people's emotions and it's only when she has them feeling threatened, that she can have them ending up dead. Although, without giving to much away about the movie, she is unable to get the better of her adopted mother towards the end.

In short, 'Case 39' is a good physiological thriller and very well acted from everyone involved. Jodelle Ferland is outstanding as Lily, effortlessly changing between the two roles of the sweet, innocent wide eyed little girl to the tiny demon who is capable of saying and doing the most horrible things.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Clever supernatural horror with some tense scenes, 2 Jan. 2011
I was expecting little from this, given that Rene Zellweger doesn't usually do this genre. However her choice to play social worker Emily actually gives the film greater clout, as she's a very sympathetic lead and she brings a vulnerability to a lead role where she's surrounded by angry, abusive parents and vulnerable kids.
When she gets assigned the titular Case 39, her immediate impression is that sweet little girl Lily is in some kind of danger from her freakish and wild-eyed parents. One breathtakingly intense rescue later, and it's apparent she was right.
However, the closer she gets to easing Lily back into normality, the clearer it becomes that there's more to the case.
Zellweger is excellent, as it Bradley Cooper as her best friend and romantic interest, and Ian McShane as her cop buddy. Most of the thrill of the film is in riding the twists as they happen, so I won't give away any more of the plot. However, for those of you with a curious nature, if they were to re-create a certain Richard Donner movie from the '70s from scratch without trying to immitate what's gone before, this is how they might do it. Very creepy and very exciting.
Well worth watching.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Real scary film, 11 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Case 39 [DVD] (DVD)
Saw this on Amazon, decided to buy it, its creepy, real creepy, I love my horrors and this was great :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars HER NAME WAS LILLITH [sic], 23 Sept. 2013
By 
The Movie Guy "Movies from A to Z" (United States) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
If you don't read the box, you will still know the entire plot about 10 minutes into the movie. Rene plays a savvy case worker. She is overloaded with 38 cases when she is given case 39, about a 10 year old girl named Lillith [sic] a dead evil name give away. Rene ends up rescuing the girl from parents that are attempting to Hansel and Gretel her to death. Lilith stays with Rene (Emily) until she can get a foster home. While Rene is picking up stuff at the little girl's home she notices large dead bolts on the inside of her parent's door. At this point the plot is fairly well established and you can guess the rest of the film.

The acting was superb. Jodelle Ferland was excellent, with the highlight being the scene with Rene's smug boyfriend. "How did you answer number 12?" Sweet.

There were no great twists in the plot, not really a surprise ending. These were really needed to distinguish this movie from other demon kid movies. Overall I would go 4 1/2 stars on the strength of the performances and good dialouge. Not for parents with 10 year old girls who think they are possessed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars HER NAME WAS LILITH, 10 Jun. 2013
By 
The Movie Guy "Movies from A to Z" (United States) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Case 39 [DVD] (DVD)
If you don't read the box, you will still know the entire plot about 10 minutes into the movie. Rene plays a savvy case worker. She is overloaded with 38 cases when she is given case 39, about a 10 year old girl named Lilith a dead evil name give away. Rene ends up rescuing the girl from parents that are attempting to Hansel and Gretel her to death. Lilith stays with Rene (Emily) until she can get a foster home. While Rene is picking up stuff at the little girl's home she notices large dead bolts on the inside of her parent's door. At this point the plot is fairly well established and you can guess the rest of the film.

The acting was superb. Jodelle Ferland was excellent, with the highlight being the scene with Rene's smug boyfriend. "How did you answer number 12?" Sweet.

There were no great twists in the plot, not really a surprise ending. These were really needed to distinguish this movie from other demon kid movies. Overall I would go 4 1/2 stars on the strength of the performances and good dialouge. Not for parents with 10 year old girls who think they are possessed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good film, 17 Jun. 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Case 39 [DVD] (DVD)
Nice to see the leading lady in a serious role,she plays the part well,enjoyed this film,did predict what was going on quite early in the film,but still enjoyed,I would recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Case 39 [DVD]
Case 39 [DVD] by Renee Zellweger (DVD - 2010)
£3.85
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews