Customer Reviews


44 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (16)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars ITS WRESTLEMAAAAANIA.
The Smackdown games have been going for a long time now and the yearly up date is guaranteed, I have played them all apart from 2009. The same people have now brought us Legends of Wrestlemania.
The big difference between them is that while Smackdown is more a simulation of the wrestling world Legends is more arcade style in its game play and of course almost all...
Published on 24 Mar 2009 by VC

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Spandex, face paint and nostalgia. No more.
Being a child of the 90's when wrestling was real and only available on Sky one and pay per view in the early hours of the morning, this really shouted out to me. If you are like me and the previews of all the `legends' on offer here brought your childhood memories flooding back then you may buy this despite what the reviews say. The reason I mention this is because it...
Published on 20 April 2009 by Coles Law


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Spandex, face paint and nostalgia. No more., 20 April 2009
By 
Coles Law (Beyond Thunderdome) - See all my reviews
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: WWE Legends of Wrestlemania (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Being a child of the 90's when wrestling was real and only available on Sky one and pay per view in the early hours of the morning, this really shouted out to me. If you are like me and the previews of all the `legends' on offer here brought your childhood memories flooding back then you may buy this despite what the reviews say. The reason I mention this is because it hasn't had the best of ratings from what I have read, but I wouldn't accept them. Surely it was going to be brilliant right? Well the answer is no. As much as it pains me to say it, the game just doesn't feel like you're part of it.

First things first though, the graphics, movement, wrestler theme music and sound is all 1st class, you couldn't ask for more. The wrestlers do their individual ring dance, move the same and even taunt like the real guys, the clips of old matches are all spot on, its great. But then you try to play.
I lined myself straight in for a Royal Rumble, my fave as a kid, and plonked myself in at No 1 expecting the ring to fill up quickly with 30 of my heroes from the past. I flew in as the Ultimate Warrior, sprinting into the ring like a speed junky after a litre of full fat coca cola and bag of Star mix, then after five minutes I soon realised that despite all the buttons on your control pad, only the four main ones do anything?!?

Fight Night for example utilises all buttons to allow you to control your fighter to huge degree, in WWF, your meathead can only do a knife edge slap, or if you hold `strike' down for longer, a punch. OK so a few kicks come in to play here or there but that's really it, and you're not in control of what he does. After a few hours it became clear that this is a button masher that just looks pretty.
Another thing that annoys is there are so many camera-cut-aways from what you're up to it becomes distracting. During the Royal Rumble when you're busy knife edging someone, every time a new wrestler comes in, the camera cuts to him coming down the isle. Not only that, when someone is hanging on after being thrown over the ropes, it cuts away to that too. All the while you've barely delivered an Irish whip! It's just not fluent enough.
To top off the royal Rumble disappointment, it only allows 6 men in at once, presumably so you can actually see what is going on because these guys are huge, and the ring is small. Boo. -Obviously that and if there were any more guys, there wouldn't be enough time to watch all those annoying cut-aways.

Shame really, thinking of what could have been, I suppose for a decent ring war, I'll wait for Fight Night 4, otherwise if you're after nostalgia, I would get an old classic Wrestlemania DVD to watch, and leave this alone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars An unusual let-down from THQ :(, 16 Jun 2009
By 
P. James - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:2.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: WWE Legends of Wrestlemania (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Having been fairly disappointed when I first played this, I picked the game up again after about two months and just about got into it second time around. Sadly it still leaves you a little under whelmed as it over-promises and under-delivers. The game almost admits being a let-down in the description of the game modes eg "Relive SEVERAL classic matches"..... ?? which is alarming considering this is the main draw of the game!

The concept of `Relive, Rewrite, Redefine' is great but the execution feels like the game was finished because they'd started it and had to, rather than really making it what it could have been. Regular players of the Raw vs Smackdown games should probably stick to those and give this a wide birth.

I was hoping for some real nostalgia but a number of the big legends of the time are strangely missing; maybe it's a licensing thing? Names like the Macho Man, Ricky Steamboat, Tito Santana and Demolition just about get a nod through the 'Create a Legend' mode which features some of their ring attire and nicknames, which was a real let-down. Quite bizarrely names like Michael Hayes made the cut even though to the best of my knowledge they were not (prominently) part of the WWF/E at this time.

My other major grumble is the chain-button-pushing way the game tries to recreate the story telling aspect of wrestling by having you follow a random sequence of buttons to successfully win a grapple or perform a finishing move. This can be really frustrating, especially when you have to recharge your meter to have another go.

Having objectives to complete in a match to recreate the real match is a good idea but the criteria of some are way too specific, like "grapple on the ramp side of the ring next to the steps when the opponent is bleeding after a chair shot and is standing next to the fan in a yellow shirt with a black sign and etc etc etc".

In total I've played the game for around 4 hours and unlocked 15 of the 19 achievements. However the majority of the time was spent on my `Create a Legend' and working out the lighting and pyros for my characters ring entrance.

I'm genuinely gutted to say that overall I'd not rate it more than mediocre as I was willing it to be so much more than it actually was. THQ should go back to the drawing board and totally overhaul it to deliver a superior sequel with a better roster and improved gameplay!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars ITS WRESTLEMAAAAANIA., 24 Mar 2009
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: WWE Legends of Wrestlemania (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
The Smackdown games have been going for a long time now and the yearly up date is guaranteed, I have played them all apart from 2009. The same people have now brought us Legends of Wrestlemania.
The big difference between them is that while Smackdown is more a simulation of the wrestling world Legends is more arcade style in its game play and of course almost all the wrestlers are no longer active and some have sadly passed on.

First of all it helps if you are a big fan of the 80's and 90's era of wrestling, I actually prefer those times the WWE takes itself way to seriously these days.

The roster is excellent apart from the unfortunate absence of Macho man Randy savage there are over 40 wrestlers and if you remember those times there are probably 20 or so more you could have included but the programmers have to stop some where and this a very good roster from a nostalgic point although as much as I like Triple H he seems out of place in this game.

Graphics are very good with far less clipping than the Smackdown games and the details on the wrestlers are great. The control system is the important part with this game as I said before this is not Smackdown. The controls are simple X=strike, A= grab, Y=block and reverse + holding buttons down give you more powerful attacks and double tapping b runs. There are also quick time events that require you to input the right button pushes to achieve chain attacks, (you may want to change the window time in the options menu as the standard setting gives you very little time) all finishers are activated in the same way for every wrestler by holding A+X this will start a quick time chain of three moves the last one being that wrestlers finisher.
The wrestlers have most of there signature moves and the world, Intercontinental and tag belts are there and can put on the line, you can also unlock match types and costumes by doing the wrestlemania tour mode which also shows actual footage of the feud between the wrestlers.

The first day I got this game I hated the way the finishers worked and nearly took the game back, I slept on it and put it on again the next day after a couple of hours I grew to love this control system its simple but fun and that's what games are all about fun me and my wife have had hours of fun with this game having cage matches and hell in a cell + throwing each other out of the Royal rumble.

I now love this game and could not go back to the laborious and slower control system of Smackdown I am so glad I took the time to get comfortable with the controls this is my favourite wrestling game since the N64 games of old.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A (Great) Trip Down Memory Lane, 21 April 2009
By 
Luca Sartori - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: WWE Legends of Wrestlemania (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
If you like me grew up training, saying your prayers and taking vitamins as the Hulkster stated you cannot not enjoy this great trip down to memory lane.
40 among the best wrestlers of all times, a fairly easy to pickup gameplay and an outstanding graphics.
Every match has a movie recap with original images that recreate the storyline behind the bout. This is absolutely my favorite part of the game since the footages are great and adds a enormous value to the game.

The game itself it's pretty arcade style and it's a great twist if you have some friends that wants to relive those years but cannot take the steep learning curve of the latest wrestling games.
This game is not a simulation is just fun.
Wrestlers details looks amazing, even if they are a bit too pumped up, especially when compared with the ones you can import from Smackdown vs Raw 2009 (great addiction)
Also all the arenas from the various wrestlemania looks completely authentic and also the small details like the name tag overlay are the same as they were in that particular year.

Only thing I really miss from this game is the presence of some legends like Macho Man Randy Savage (that probably has some issue with the WWE), Ricky "The Dragon" Steamboat, The Demolitions, and moreover some others mid-carder of the time like Earthquake, Typhoon and so on.

A must have for a wrestling fan
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars This is what I Fink, 19 Nov 2009
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: WWE Legends of Wrestlemania (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
The idea of playing as one of the "Legends" of the WWE/WWF peaked my excitement, and I couldn't wait to play this game. I played a demo and thought the play mechanics were simpler to pick up than the more recent Smackdown vs. Raw games so I ended up taking a punt and buying this game.

I was impressed by the visuals and the authentic on screen captions in each arena that mirror their real life counterparts from the television broadcasts of the events. The entrances look the part but I was slightly let down by two things; some of the music is the more recent versions rather than the music from the period, and some of the wrestlers on offer are hardly "Legends" at all. I was also miffed at a few of the absent stars, but I guess their liknesses were tied to a rival promotion at the time.

The gameplay is a much simpler affair than the recent WWE games which for me is a good thing, I prefer being able to remember how to do specific moves rather than not. The match types are certainly more limited than in the contemporary games but then with the era being covered there were not so many gimmick matches anyway.

This is worth a play through for nostalgia more than complex gameplay.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars MY FAV. GAME OF ALL TIME ..... PRE WWE 12 AND 13 !!!, 14 Feb 2013
By 
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: WWE Legends of Wrestlemania (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
my favourite game of all time without doubt , nostalgia galore everything down to the nameplates were like tv back in the day , if only the game had another 15/20 significant legends and more top old scool arenas and 4/5 more famous managers and commentry by say mcmahon and piper or mcmahon and ventura or even him and king also mean gene needs to be in there as well ........... but the game is amazing and i love it to this day 9/10

additional ingrediance as follows :

legends

dragon
macho man
demolition
martel
santana
virgil
ahkeem
jannetty
blanchard
haku
powers of pain
papa shango
orndorff
bad news browne
nat disasters
nastys
bushwackers
beverlys
and a few more

arenas

sat nites main event
orig. monday night raw
summerslam
surv series
kotr
in your house
or / and
create an arena

managers

liz
sherri
slick
genius
cornette
whipplemin
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Legends of Wrestlemania, 9 April 2009
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: WWE Legends of Wrestlemania (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
After reading up on the hype surround this game, I bought it to rekindle the fond memories of wrestling as a kid. Having previously purchased Smackdown VS Raw 2009 I expected a solid game with a decent gameplay. I was wrong. For the price, the gameplay and the controller configuration is awful. Instead of SVR' technical yet smooth grapple system, Legends uses a button bashing method, similar to an arcade machine with a very limited moveset for each character. Movesets are not the only feature which is very limited, the roster being another. Very disappointed that the roster only features around 35 superstars. The game itself seems to depend upon the feature which allows you to import the roster from SVR2009, which is handy if you own the game, if not you will probably get bored within about a week. The only decent gameplay features are the Re-living/Re-writing Wrestlemania history modes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good fun, 14 May 2009
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: WWE Legends of Wrestlemania (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I got this game as I'm a big fan of wrestling games and this one seemed to have it all. Following a good few days playing it, I can confirm that it is great fun to play!

I like the graphics, which are awesome, and some of the moves you can do look fantastic. There are loads of different modes to play, which means it should keep you going for quite a while! It's also easy to pick up and play, which means if you have any friends round they can play it without having to sit and read the manual for an hour.

There are a few things that I do not like though, it is accessible, but sometimes the moves seem a bit random. Also, there are loads of ace wrestlers missing!

Overall though it is a very fun game and an essential purchase if you are a fan of wrestling.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars legends of wrestlemania xbox 360, 26 Mar 2009
By 
Ricky Reeve - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: WWE Legends of Wrestlemania (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
game is fun great selection of wres could of had more, 38 legends and 4 managers. sadly vince took macho man app there on bad terms, although would be nice to see him in a seqeul.
also if you have smackdown 09 u can transfer all ur wres to legends, which proves they could ave had more wres in the game.
only dissapoinment is matches are limited its not many tag matches,
and online theres even less matches.best improved match is the royal rumble as theres differnt ways of being chuckd out,
controls are fun and easy to get use to except kicking out of pin is like a little mini game. also too easy to make the wres submit.
outside the ring is far the best part as u can use everything as a weapon even one arena u can chuck your opponent into the a drumkit
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not so legendary, 26 Mar 2009
By 
Dr Evil (England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: WWE Legends of Wrestlemania (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
THQ and Jukes are back again, this time bringing some of the WWE's best ever superstars back to the ring so that you can "relive, rewrite and redefine" some of the greatest moments in wrestling history. Growing up watching the golden era of wrestling when I was a kid, this game is like a dream come true.

THE GOOD
- Very realistic graphics - all of the wrestlers look extremely life-like and you can even see the sweat as the matches go on! All of the Wrestlemania arenas are there too from WM 1-15 including Caesar's Place, Trump Plaza, the Silverdome and Madison Square Garden.
- A really good roster of superstars including favourites like Hulk Hogan, The Rock, Shawn Michaels, Ric Flair, The Undertaker, Jake the Snake Roberts, Andre the Giant, Big John Studd, Yokozuna, Legion of Doom, Bret Hitman Hart, Stone Cold Steve Austin, The Ultimate Warrior, Rowdy Roddy Piper and Hunter Hearst Healmsley as well as some surprises like Hacksaw Jim Duggan, Kamala, Bam Bam Bigelow, Dusty Rhodes, Brutus the Barber Beefcake, The Big Boss Man and Mr Perfect.
- The connectivity to Smackdown vs Raw 2009 is pretty cool as it increases the roster by double.
- Plenty of game modes to choose from including one-on-one, tag team, Royal Rumble, Hell in a Cell, Cage, Ladder, Battle Royale and a few others as well as the one player Legend Killer mode where you create a wrestler and then try to beat the legends. Also the Wrestlemania mode where you replay classic matches.
- The video intros are brilliant, giving the history of the classic matches and also shows you what happened (I also forgot how funny Bobby Heenan was!) Perfect for fans from back in the 80s and 90s - it bought back a lot of memories! The presentation, including the original graphics used for the real-life Wrestlemanias is also excellent.
- Very easy to just pick up and play with a great learning curve and online mode is really good fun.
- It features all of the entrances and original music.

THE BAD
- So many classic superstars are missing! Where's Macho Man Randy Savage, Demolition, Mick Foley/Mankind, Diesel, Razor Ramon, Earthquake, Lex Luger, The Nasty Boys, Akeem, Tatanka, Rick Martell, Tito Santana, Owen Hart, Marty Jeanetty, Doink, The Barbarian, Haku, IRS, The Big Show and Ricky the Dragon Steamboat!?
- There's quite a few wrestlers like Arn Anderson and Michael Hayes for example which I can never really remember as being legends in the WWE (maybe in WCW)..
- The controls aren't great - they should have stuck to the Smackdown vs Raw controls rather than the old school button bashing that is here, as I felt like a lot of the moves you pull off are quite random.
- It is stupidly easy on one player - I flew through Wrestlemania mode on Normal difficulty in no time. Nearly any pin will be successful.
- Some of the entrance music is the newer music and not from the era, like The Big Boss Man and Bam Bam Bigelow.

It seems that there are as many good points as there are bad, so this does summarise this game as pretty average unfortunately, especially for fans from this era like me who perhaps expected a little more from this as it had the potential to be the perfect wrestling game. I actually think that the Showdown: Legends of Wrestling game on the PS2 was a lot better than this in all honesty as although it didn't have the WWE/WWF branding on it, it did have about 40 more wrestlers on the roster and was a bit more fun.

Overall it is a fun to play game with the best presentation I've seen in a wrestling game, but has way too many flaws to be perfect. Worth try if you used to watch WWF in the 80s and 90s but expect to feel slightly underwhelmed on the whole. And that's the bottom line, because KM said so!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

WWE Legends of Wrestlemania (Xbox 360)
£21.01
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews