Customer Reviews


37 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (11)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Legends of Wrestlemania
WWE Legends of Wrestlemania (PS3)

I am not one for reviews, I read what people say and I take it on board but in general I keep my opinions to myself. The negative reviews of this game that you can see make some valid points but they are missing the point of this game altogether. Last night I cracked open the game and a couple of my mates came round and we had...
Published on 25 Mar. 2009 by K. Povey

versus
8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good fun but not legendary
THQ and Jukes are back again, this time bringing some of the WWE's best ever superstars back to the ring so that you can "relive, rewrite and redefine" some of the greatest moments in wrestling history. Growing up watching the golden era of wrestling when I was a kid, this game is like a dream come true.

THE GOOD
- Very realistic graphics - all of the...
Published on 21 April 2009 by Dr Evil


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Fightdelight!, 18 April 2009
By 
ratstails "ratstails" (Penshaw, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: WWE Legends of Wrestlemania (PS3) (Video Game)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Wrestling games, and the whole American Wrestling phenomenon tend to be aimed at young teen males (even, or perhaps especially with the 15 rating). WWE Legends of Wrestlemania features stars that appeared on the first broadcast on satellite TV in the late 1980s and early 90s, and will probably appeal to those kids back then who are now the dads of the current generation of fans, so this game may find a nostalgia audience too.

The wrestlers of that time were literally larger than life, such as 7 foot plus, 500lb Andre the Giant. Personalities and rivalries were exaggerated, and as the many video clips in the game show, made for great spectacle.

The game has many modes, such as the ability to relive classic bouts, rewrite them, and also make your own 'Legend' to try and conquer all of the WWE superstars.

Controls at first seem a bit clumsy and limited, and matches often launch into Quick Time Event set pieces, but after a little practice you realise they do the job very well and once mastered allow you to perform a wide range of moves.

I've played the game on both Xbox 360 and PS3 formats and the graphics look a little dated on both, but textures and shapes (especially those in the crowd) look more solid and believable on the 360 version.

If you like wrestling games or think that they have become very 'samey' recently, this slice of nostalgia seems a refreshing change.

Recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Retro Wrestlers, retro game, 20 April 2009
By 
Paul B "-pb-" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: WWE Legends of Wrestlemania (PS3) (Video Game)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
The WWF, not the World Wildlife Fund but the World Wrestling Federation. Back in the day it was full of big egos, big hairdos and big pantomime storylines.

WWE Legends of WrestleMania attempts to recreate the Wrestlemania events of the time, the biggest events in the wrestling calendar. As you can imagine, it features many of the big name wrestlers of the time from Jake `The Snake' Roberts and Hulk Hogan to Stone Cold Steve Austin and The Undertaker. For some of them it's the first time they've been in a game since the 16-bit days.

Graphically, the game is a bit of a mixed bag. The wrestlers themselves look fantastic, all sweat and muscles. Their features, movements and even their hair is pretty accurately modelled, making it ideal for fans of the cult characters. The fans in the background are all animated and can be seen holding banners, but it's when these fans come to the foreground that things start to get a bit messy. It's still not enough to put you off the game and during some matches you won't notice it at all.

Fight options vary from a straight forward one on one ring match to reliving famous Wrestlemania fights. Presentation-wise it all seems very authentic; entry music, authentic moves and even the commentators with their funny quips. The relive or rewrite idea means you can view video of the events and then play them, either trying to complete certain events (breaking chairs over heads or tossing someone out the ring) or rewriting the match to change the outcome. It's a great idea and makes you really feel like you're playing a part of wrestling history.

Controls are not what you might be expecting from a modern wresting game. It's nearer to the 16-bit Wrestlemania on the SNES where buttons are mashed to stay in the ring and only 2 buttons are really needed to pull off all sorts of moves. While some may balk at this, I found it refreshing to play something that could be picked up and played so easily. It all feels like part of a grand plan to please old wrestling fans and I for one applaud it.

Playing on the online mode is fun, but can be little annoying with finding matches you want to play. The fights are fluid and the matching is fairly easy to get to grips with.

It's refreshing to say that WWE Legends is something different, a mix of old style gameplay that matches the era of the wrestlers and modern HD graphics and modes. While it isn't perfect and the control method won't be to everyone's taste it's a worthy addition to any old wrestling fan's collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars What was the point, 16 Feb. 2009
By 
= Fun:1.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: WWE Legends of Wrestlemania (PS3) (Video Game)
Can someone tell me what the point of ths game was?, I pre-ordered from Amazon using super-saver delivery (arrived on day of release, get in). I was able to easily convert my file from SvsR09 quickly and easily, then I converted my created wrestlers over, this was a doddle but thats the end of the good news. The configuration has completely changed, the top buttons are now obsolete, WHY?, I guess they were going for an old school feel but it's 2009, I don't want an old school feel plus I have a full tiime job, I don't want to spend time learning new buttons. You now have less options of moves to do. When you select a created wrestler he or she will not have his/her entrance from Smackers it will just be a normal entrance with no music or video. Rubbish. Also his/her move set will be completely different and the finisher will be changed to a 'Pedigree' but it isn't a pedigree, it's a running knee lift. All the moves and the names of the moves have been thrown in a tombola and mixed up. A sweet chin music is actually a running flying punch. As soon as I saw the mess you find in Create a Move Set I turned it off and will probably never put it on again. Why didn't THQ just sell the wrestlers and arenas as an update for 10/15 notes and everyone would've been happy. Also you can't use weapons, its says in the book push so and so to get object but it doesn't work, I have no idea how to get the ring bell either, you can get steps but you can't run with them like you can in Smackers.

RUBBISH!!!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Good But Not Unstoppable, 18 Jun. 2009
By 
DL Productions UK (Merseyside, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
= Fun:2.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: WWE Legends of Wrestlemania (PS3) (Video Game)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I've never really liked Wrestling, but as a fan of Tekken, and waiting for 6 to come along this winter, I thought I'd give this a go. To be honest with you it was fun for an hour or so, then it just became too boring, using the same button presses again and again. This doesn't have the fire, fun or greatness as Wrestlemania had on the Atari ST 20 years ago, it's just the same but with the obvious fact it has better graphics.

I was disappointed that a lot of the classics were not here, like The British Bulldog who I liked, and what happened to that clown from the early 90s Doink or something like that?

This is probably great fun for young boys between 7-12 but for me it was boring and I didn't enjoy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 2 July 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: WWE Legends of Wrestlemania (PS3) (Video Game)
Awesome game ...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Finally the legends of wrestling have come to the next generation consoles, 15 Feb. 2009
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: WWE Legends of Wrestlemania (PS3) (Video Game)
This is a great game for old school wrestling fans as it contains over 40 legends from the 1980s and 1990s including Hulk Hogan, Ultimate Warrior, Bret Hitman Hart, Shawn Michaels, Steve Austin and The Rock. The game is also great for new fans too as the connective feature with Smackdown vs RAW 2009 allows you to import your favourite current wrestlers into the game for example you could have the legend killer Randy Orton facing the Great one The Rock. The gameplay controls have an arcade feal about them making it easy for anyone to play. All the Wrestlemania arenas from 1 to 15 are here including the great Wrestlemania 9 roman coliseum venue. Game Modes include Exhibition mode which includes the Royal Rumble match type plus you can have title matches too with the world, tag team, incontinental and million dollar title belts. The Wrestlemania Tour Mode lets you relive, rewrite and redefine classic matches from the first 15 wrestlemanias plus theres create modes and online play too. The wrestlers look great some even have alternate attires to choose from. The entrances are cool with there entrance music and video playing as they come to the ring. This game really takes me back to when wrestling was fun to watch and now it's even more fun to play thanks to this game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 4 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: WWE Legends of Wrestlemania (PS3) (Video Game)
enjoyable
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 20 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: WWE Legends of Wrestlemania (PS3) (Video Game)
excellent
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 23 May 2014
This review is from: WWE Legends of Wrestlemania (PS3) (Video Game)
very good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Awful service, 17 July 2009
By 
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: WWE Legends of Wrestlemania (PS3) (Video Game)
I did not receive my order within the specified time frame. I sent two emails querying this but did not receive a reply. I have subsequently cancelled my order.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

WWE Legends of Wrestlemania (PS3)
WWE Legends of Wrestlemania (PS3) by THQ (PlayStation 3)
£12.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews