Customer Reviews


108 Reviews
5 star:
 (85)
4 star:
 (16)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


199 of 204 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best Poirot Collection yet! All 61 episodes!
For many years I have been wanting to purchase additional episodes of Poirot, but have put it off because the DVD's did not come with subtitles or no subtitle info was given (I am hard of hearing). Well, that is no longer the case.

I was lucky enough to receive this wonderful collection as a gift, and it more than surpassed my expectations. It is:

-...
Published on 19 May 2009 by Marils

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars OK Poirot Boxset
Positive point:
This is by far the most complete Poirot collection on a DVD boxset.

Negative point:
For a TV series made in the late 80's, the video quality of this boxset is really lamentable, way below one would expect (other TV series made in the 60's such as Mission Impossible has a much better video quality).
Published on 25 Mar 2011 by retrofreak


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

199 of 204 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best Poirot Collection yet! All 61 episodes!, 19 May 2009
By 
Marils (Los Angeles) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Agatha Christie's Poirot - Complete Series 1-11 [DVD] (DVD)
For many years I have been wanting to purchase additional episodes of Poirot, but have put it off because the DVD's did not come with subtitles or no subtitle info was given (I am hard of hearing). Well, that is no longer the case.

I was lucky enough to receive this wonderful collection as a gift, and it more than surpassed my expectations. It is:

- Attractively Boxed.
- Clearly Labeled
- Extremely Compact
- Quality Picture
- Quality Sound.
- And SUBTITLED (English only)

The menu of each disc allows you to play all the episodes on the disc, select an episode, or search by scene within an episode.

The collection comes with a collectors guide which lists dics and their corresponding episode titles, making it easy to search for a particular episode. It also gives a brief synopsis of each of the 61 episodes contained in this collection... as well as a little personal information about the actor's themselves.

There are 28 discs in all. When you first open the box, it may appear that there are only 11 disks. Upon closer inspection, however, you will find the remaining 17 disks are housed inside the attached jewel cases.

You probably will not be lucky enough to receive the collection as a gift, as I did, but the price is extremely reasonable. I would suggest that you purchase the 7 Series, as opposed to Series 6, as purchasing the additional 4 discs separately is more costly.

I had read reviews of other Poirot collections, where people complained that the sound and picture was not up to par, or up to the standard of the Sherlock Holmes Complete Set. I did not find that to be the case in this instance.

On a different note, I hope that Granada has decided to film Poirot's "Labor's of Hercules". They are great Poirot mysteries and it would be a shame if they were never produced.

I also look forward to the two new episodes to be aired in 2009 to be released on DVD. Please note, if you go online there is a discrepancy as to the numbering of the series/seasons. One site will list the 61 episodes as series 1-7, and Internet Movie Database (IMDB) has an Agatha Christie Poirot episode guide listing the 61 episodes as seasons 1-11.

Enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent... though no longer complete!, 27 Dec 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Agatha Christie's Poirot - Complete Series 1-11 [DVD] (DVD)
An excellent series excellently presented on DVD. Note that this collection covers series 1-11 but not the 2009 series 12 which you can buy separately.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


93 of 100 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Poirot Collection, 8 July 2009
This review is from: Agatha Christie's Poirot - Complete Series 1-11 [DVD] (DVD)
Brilliant set of DVDs, ideal present for the Poirot enthusiast. A slight niggle is that each DVD in the collection is prefaced with the Copyright Theft Video. Having purchased this item legitimately, this becomes irritating, and you start wondering if a pirate version would be preferable to own!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Far Better Than In the US, 1 May 2011
This review is from: Agatha Christie's Poirot - Complete Series 1-11 [DVD] (DVD)
Before I actually review the box set I would like to state that I am a huge fan of the David Suchet Poirot series. This show has been running for more than 20 years and although it has had its ups and downs the show has been generally very good to excellent. David Suchet is THE Poirot and all of the cast play theire roles wonderfuly. The productions themselves are another reason to watch this show. The period detail is perfect. Costumes, hair, and makeup are all very well done. many episodes are just beautiful to behold, especially when Poirot travels to different countries. Doing an in depth review of the entire run of the show would take up too much space so now without further adieu, the DVD set itself.

I am writing this review from the United States. Here getting Poirot DVDs is difficult, expensive and confusing. The Poirot discs we get have virtually no extras. It sould cost up to $350 to collect all of the Poirot episoes, compare that with 60 pounds. It's sets like these that convinced me I should buy a Region Free DVD player. All I was expecting were the great episodes but what I found was so much more. Compared with the clutter of all the individual sets you would have to buy in the US this Poirot comes in one nice cardboard box package. It has a nice design and is easy to open. The discs themselves are neatley housed and the booklet is on top of all of the sets. Its a nice package to look at. So, on that score this DVD set absolutley leaves the American sets in the dust. One of the most important parts of a DVD is its picture. I was very much suprised to find that compared with the American discs the early Poiorts were much better looking full screen transfers on this set then they were on the American set. I thought the transfers would be the same but I was pleasenteley suprised at the quality of these transfers. In America all of the Poirots made from 2000 to 2006 are in full screen they are also cut. I was so happy to find that all of the episodes shot in wide screen are in wide screen on this DVD set, this is worth buying the set from the UK alone. These are also the uncut editions. The later transfers look astounding and almost Blu Ray quality. The biggest suprise was the fact that there were EXTRA FEATURES! Amazon did not list any, but there are actually quiete a number of fantastic documentaries and interviews. The best ones are on the last two discs of collection 5 which specifically talk in depth about each individual episode on that disc. Overall this set is a reason to get a region free player and is one of the greatest values I have ever gotten on DVD. A fantastic show in a great set with an even greater value, this is a must buy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars David Suchet etc couldn't be bettered!, 17 Oct 2009
By 
This review is from: Agatha Christie's Poirot - Complete Series 1-11 [DVD] (DVD)
I have just bought this wonderful set (October 2009) and am ploughing my way through it,a few discs every night!
I cannot add much to the other reviews here,except to agree with them;and to add the picture quality is excellent too.

You might be interested to know that David Suchet has said publicly that he is determined to film all the remaining Poirot stories (about 8 I think) including of course "Murder on the Orient Express" before (he says) he gets TOO old to do them! LOL

So sometime another set will (hopefully) appear,as a completer to the previous (large) box set.

I (and all of you I am sure) will look forward to this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Piracy may be a crime but...!, 14 Nov 2010
This review is from: Agatha Christie's Poirot - Complete Series 1-11 [DVD] (DVD)
The Poirot productions are beautifully done and a joy to watch when you feel like a relaxing 'switch off' time; well worth purchasing. But why, oh why,do we have to sit through the gruesome 'piracy is a crime' video EVERY TIME! I have never contemplated engaging in such illegal activities and I resent the imposition of the space on every disc with no way of bypassing it (except by a mute button). Also, it would have helped to have a list of discs and contents with timings. Other than that - great!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


46 of 51 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Every Episode At Last!, 11 April 2009
By 
T. Barrs - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Agatha Christie's Poirot - Complete Series 1-11 [DVD] (DVD)
So here at last on 28 discs is every Poirot that David Suchet has ever made. He is in my opinion the definitive Poirot and is a pleasure to watch. I've only watched the first couple since receving the box set but will certainly enjoy the rest. The price is right too. I can't recommend it enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant Brilliant Brilliant Brilliant, 13 Nov 2010
By 
Mr. A. Devitt "AFD" (Dublin, Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Agatha Christie's Poirot - Complete Series 1-11 [DVD] (DVD)
David Suchet has, of course, ruined Poirot for any other actors for the next mmmmmmm let's say three generations as his interpretation of the character is faultless yet continuously evolving. Who would be insane enough to attempt the role? I hope that he can continue and complete the canon. Sadly this set does not have series 12 so I will have to buy that and update to a new box set in a few years but for the meantime this is the dream collection. Faultless acting and beautiful filming in glorious art-deco locations which are doubtless the result of intensive scouting and attention to detail. No country does detective drama like the Brits and at the moment it would seem that ITV are on the top of the game. Suchet, Jackson & Moran were a joy to watch and it would be lovely if they could return for maybe a few more of the remaining adventures. Brilliant, Brilliant, Brilliant, Brilliant and a treasured possession.Enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Agatha Christie - Poirot Box set, 16 Sep 2010
By 
Matthew (MALVERN, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Agatha Christie's Poirot - Complete Series 1-11 [DVD] (DVD)
This box set is simply marvellous. When purchasing there was some confusion as to which box set to get, after some research I opted for the latest release - 2009. (Even though it says 1989, the release date was march 2009).

(I understand there have been one or two new episodes since - but this contains nearly the whole lot, more than enough to satisfy the Agatha enthusiast).

It contains 3 cases inside the outer box; discs 1-10, discs 11-20 and discs 21-28. Each set clearly marks the episode index on the back which is helpful - but better still is the booklet inside which gives a plot synopsis of each episode, outlining characters and has sections about the Actors involved, which is extremely useful and a pleasure to read.

If you are an Agatha fanatic like myself these are a delight to watch. Admittedly, some episodes involve slight plot changes to the books, but that is so often the case these days. However, the acting is always first rate and David Suchet is without a doubt the definitive Poirot.

Overall a steal at the price, neatly packaged with Amazons usual hasty dispatch and smooth delivery, an absolute MUST for all Poirot fans
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Best Gift ever, 18 Jan 2010
By 
This review is from: Agatha Christie's Poirot - Complete Series 1-11 [DVD] (DVD)
An amazing collection. With 28 DVDs, and 61 episodes, you will need a lot of days to watch it all. In this BOX is also the 11th series included, with the episodes: Mrs McGinty's Dead, Cat Among the Pigeons, Third Girl, and Appointment with Death. Plus extra bonus: Behind the scenes feature, for 5 different episodes. Really excellent picture and sound. MUST HAVE for every Poirot fan. But there is something curious: The French dialogues are not translated, but subtitled in French!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Agatha Christie's Poirot - Complete Series 1-11 [DVD]
119.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews