Customer Reviews


76 Reviews
5 star:
 (47)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (12)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


61 of 66 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Deutsche Sprache nur fuer Teil 1 - 3
Very good quality and worth it. Please note, that there are many languages on it for the first three parts (German, French for sure, I didn't look, whether other languages are on it). Part IV (John Rambo) ís an English-only-version.
Published on 13 Jan 2009 by J. Römer

versus
34 of 36 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Worst 'Special' EVER!
** Note: This review is about the Special Grenade Packing only **

I have just unwrapped my 'Special Grenade Packaging' and immediately felt compelled to write a 'review' before someone else makes a BIG mistake.

The grenade itself is the cheapest plastic I have ever seen, or touched. The discs themselves are not in any cases or special packing, you...
Published on 19 Sep 2011 by Damian


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

34 of 36 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Worst 'Special' EVER!, 19 Sep 2011
By 
Damian (England, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
** Note: This review is about the Special Grenade Packing only **

I have just unwrapped my 'Special Grenade Packaging' and immediately felt compelled to write a 'review' before someone else makes a BIG mistake.

The grenade itself is the cheapest plastic I have ever seen, or touched. The discs themselves are not in any cases or special packing, you simply unscrew the top 1/4 of the grenades and the 4 discs are just sat there on a mini spindle, with 'bits' all over them.

An utter waste of £30 over the normal non-Special edition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


61 of 66 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Deutsche Sprache nur fuer Teil 1 - 3, 13 Jan 2009
By 
J. Römer (Deutschland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Very good quality and worth it. Please note, that there are many languages on it for the first three parts (German, French for sure, I didn't look, whether other languages are on it). Part IV (John Rambo) ís an English-only-version.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


57 of 62 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars For each Rambo Fan a must have!, 6 Aug 2008
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
First: It is Blu-Ray and not a cheap copy of the DVD.
From movie to movie it gets even better.
The sound is well mixed. That means that you are not pushed
from your seats when explosions occur. The balance between speach and effects is perfect.

Except of the fourth part "John Rambo" you have nearly no extras.
Only one interview with Sly, but this is worth a look.

Of course there are no cuts. You can enjoy the complete movies.
This is interesting for german costumers. They also find the uncut
german-version on this. Very nice.

Good quality, price is fair. Clear recommandation!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Legendary- heroes never die..., 21 Jun 2008
By 
R. Fisher "entertainment lover" (west midlands uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This set contains all four Rambo movies a saga spanning twenty-six years

Rambo First blood (1982) - when for no apparent reason, a small town police chief arrests a vagrant hitch-hiker, little does he realise that he has set in motion a catastrophic series of events. The vagrant in question is in fact John Rambo congressional medal of honour winner and Vietnam war hero. Responding to the harassment of his captors with sudden ferociousness Rambo makes a daring escape from the small town jail, and heads for the shelter of the nearby mountains as the manhunt begins Rambo prepares himself for a one man war.

The first and undoubtedly the best of the series which combined action with the sensitive political issue of the treatment of Vietnam veterans. The action sequences stand up still to the likes of today's Hollywood blockbusters. Edited well and a powerhouse performance from Stallone makes this a winner which unlike a lot of action films from the eighties has not become cheesy with age. Rating 10/10

Rambo First blood part 2 (1985) - Rambo is released from prison and is sent back to Vietnam on a secret mission to track down American soldiers MIA. Rambo parachutes into the foreboding jungle with nothing but a hunting knife and a bow and arrow, he is ordered not to engage the enemy just to take reconnaissance pictures but betrayed by his own Rambo struggles against deadly odds, vowing to get revenge on those who betrayed him and lead the POWS to safety.

Part 2, penned by Stallone and James Cameron, ups the action ante , its still took a hard jab against American foreign policy regarding Vietnam soldiers but the political dealings generally took a back seat droned out by the sound of endless gunfire. The action sequences are frantic and enjoyable giving Schwarzenegger's eighties flicks a run for there money in terms of body count, Part 2 has aged not so well but its well worth watching and will satisfy any action junkies needing a fix. Rating 8/10

Rambo III (1988) - when Rambo refuses the request of his old platoon leader Colonel Trautman for a new mission he chooses to continue with his new Buddhist beliefs. However, when the colonel is kidnapped by the soviets at the Afghanistan border and the American government are unable to take official action, Rambo goes in to rescue his friend.

Rambo III proves to be the worst in the franchise, while it quiet happily fills the required action quota and then some, the script feels dulled with the film draging in places and it shows the most signs of it age out of all the films, regardless of this its still worth a watch for its well orchestrated sequences of over the top action just don't be expecting an action classic. Rating 7/10

Rambo (2008)- Rambo has been leading a quiet life in Thailand until he is asked to ferry a group of missionaries into war-torn Burma. When they are captured, Rambo teams up with a rag tag regiment of mercenaries and heads back into the jungle on a rescue mission that will force him to return to the battlefield with explosively violent consequences. The one man killing machine is back with a vengeance.

Heroes don't die they just reload, twenty years it took for the fourth instalment and Rambo has changed, very much a old hero revamped for a new generation, Stallone shifts the political angle away from Vietnam veterans and shines the spotlight on the raging civil wars in Burma. Because of this Rambo seems to somewhat loose some personal connection with the war he finds himself involved in, as later in the film character development gives way for the relentlessly violent action scenes.

This is where the fourth films strengths lie. The action is ferocious, bloody and chaotic, I've seen a lot of action films and final sequence just blew me away a visceral experience that grabs you and doesn't let go. Rambo proves to hold some of the most exciting action sequences ever committed to film however this film is not for the faint of heart infinitely more gruesome than the previous three entries the violence portrayed in no holds barred. Stallone succeeds in pumping new life into the franchise with one of the greatest action movies ever made even if the hero isn't quite how you remember him. Rating 9/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Rambo 4 disc collection: From the sublime to the ridiculous, but all good fun., 9 Jun 2011
By 
Victor (Hull, England) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This 4 disc collection brings together the 4 Rambo films starring Sylvester Stallone into one easy package. All have been nicely mastered and are well presented.

First Blood: the original, and in my opinion, the best. It is a thoughtful and well put together film which examines the attitudes of America to its returning Vietnam veterans. John Rambo is drifting around until he meets Brian Dennehey's tough sherriff, who sets out on a personal mission to drive Rambo out of town. Pushed too far by the police, Rambo snaps and goes on the run, using all his survival expertise to deter those hunting him until he decides finally to take explosive vengeance on the town that broke him. It has its fair share of big action set pieces and lots of shots of Sly hitting, shooting and stabbing things, but it is essentially an excellent character study of one man pushed to his limit and another man's obsession. It also does not live up to its violent reputation, Rambo only kills one person, and that is by accident.

First Blood 2 - Here the series starts to get silly. Rambo is asked to go on a deniable black op into Vietnam in peacetime to suss out a camp where some American soldiers might still be held even after the cease of hostilities years before. Cue Rambo's one man mission to rescue the soldiers against all the odds after he is cut off by his duplicitous superior. There are lots of explosions as he blows up anything he can and kills everything that moves. It's big, loud, daft, and a whole lot of fun. Stallone tries to put in some character study, but this movie is all about the big bangs and the body count.

First Blood 3 - Rambo goes off on a one man mission to save his old boss, Colonel Troutman, from nasty Russian types in the depths of Afghanistan. As with First Blood 2, this film is all about big bangs and body counts as Rambo wreaks havoc all around, managing to save the Colonel and singlehandedly winning the war against the Russkies for the Mujahadin in the process. It's very very silly (especially the helicopter/tank duel) but very well shot big action adventure that really entertains.

Rambo - The fourth film in the series finds Rambo leading a quiet life in the East. Some missionaries get into trouble in Burma, and it is up to an ageing Sly to get them out. Stallone fits back into the role with remarkable ease, and gives a pretty good performance of a man torn by his desire for the quite life and the knowledge that he is a man of action and it is his destiny to act. It is by far bloodier and more gruesome than any of its predecessors, but still an entertaining film.

All in all a great box set with three silly but entertaining films and one more serious and actually very worthy film. A highly recommended buy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply great..., 16 April 2009
Its the cheapest you will find this classic collection... And the blu-ray conversion is superb...

A must buy for any Rambo fan...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 19 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars WARNING! expensive - horrid cheap plastic boxset, 4 Oct 2011
WARNING! DO NOT WASTE YOUR MONEY! DO NOT BE MISLEAD BY THE PRODUCT PICTURE ON AMAZON WEBSITE, THIS IS NOT WHAT WILL ARRIVE, INSTEAD IT LOOKS A CHEAP IMITATION WITH SIMILARITIES TO THE PICTURE ON AMAZON AND BACK OF BOX.

Although I have not watched the films yet, I am thinking about returning this box set as the actual hand grenade is cheap plastic and does not look much like pictured on Amazon website or on the back box.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 20 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars WARNING!! READ BEFORE YOU BUY!!, 8 July 2008
Once again sony pictures have released another mess. they have mislabelled the set, rambo 3 is NOT 5.1, it is in fact the same disc that appeared in a previous set that i also own. first set i bought had a faulty rambo 2 disc so i took it back and now i find that the 3rd film is NOT what it is claimed to be. Be totally aware of what you are buying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 14 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Great set - terrible discs!, 29 May 2009
By 
Mr. S. C. Dickinson "S.C.Dickinson" (Taunton, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
The box is design is great and the movies are some of my all time favs....

.... the discs however are not. To my fault i didn't watch these end to end as soon as i had them, disc 2 [Rambo first blood part 2] would not be recognized as a disc in 3 separate dvds players. so i contacted amazon and perfect as they are sent another set out, i sent my back at my cost.

i watched the discs when i got around to it and low and behold disc 2 is yet again faulty, not the same fault mind you but totally unwatchable 40 mins into the movie.

now outside return period im stiffed with a broken set.

my advice is buy this set as it the complete collection, is good looking and has potentially phenomenal entertainment value, but watch them all with 30 days of purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great movies...even the sequels, 10 Aug 2014
By 
Garry R. Walls "joepublic123" (yorkshire england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rambo - The Complete Collection (1-4 Box Set) [DVD] (DVD)
I have recently purchased this for my son ....and myself as I hadn't seen the last Rambo. Fantastic! Really enjoyed the first three and surprisingly, the fourth was also good (I say this as you can never tell with sequels and they can often go down hill).

I can recommend all 4 films! A great box set!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Rambo - The Complete Collection (1-4 Box Set) [DVD]
Rambo - The Complete Collection (1-4 Box Set) [DVD] by Sylvester Stallone (DVD - 2008)
Used & New from: £18.98
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews