Customer Reviews


40 Reviews
5 star:
 (32)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


44 of 45 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "...What I'm Out For Is A Good Time...All The Rest Is Propaganda..."
After viewing this unashamedly gritty portrayal of British working class life on BLU RAY, you're left with two distinct impressions - one is admiration for the extraordinary restoration work done by the BRITISH FILM INSTITUTE on the newly restored near-faultless print - and second - and more importantly - is sheer astonishment at what a truly fantastic and ballsy film...
Published on 28 April 2009 by Mark Barry

versus
0 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Bought for Uni.
It was okay, but I was not impressed with the ending. The acting is fantastic and if you like older films you'll probably love this.
Published 19 months ago by Emily Bell


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Memories, 6 Jan 2012
It was great to see this old film again, it is a film I never get fed up of watching as it is based in the sixties when I was about 18 years old and it is so like what life was like in those days. The delivery of this DVD was speedy and the the condition and packing was excellent, I was very satisfied. Thank you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Must own in your collection, 21 April 2011
By 
Wariner (Hamilton, Ontario, Canada) - See all my reviews
One of the best British movies ever. I'm from Canada and normally would never watch these types of movies but there are so many funny scenes in them I start laughing. Some of my favorites is the one where Arthur puts a mouse in a co-workers area. Another is when he shot something at the nosy neighbour. I found out about these movies because Morrissey is a big fan and I decided to watch them. I am so glad I did. I also recommend Billy Liar, The Leather Boys, The L-shaped room and A taste of honey. The book for the L-shaped room is excellent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THE BEST REMEMBERED OF THE 'KITCHEN SINK DRAMAS'!, 3 April 2010
By 
FAMOUS NAME (UNITED KINGDOM) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Saturday Night and Sunday Morning [Blu-ray] [1960] (Blu-ray)
'Saturday Night And Sunday Morning' has to be one of the all-time greats from the 1960s.

This movie is one of the best-remembered of the so-called 'Kitchen Sink Dramas' that would become the trademark of the decade. It was an important film for many of its cast - not least for Rachel Roberts (later to commit suicide) who won a BAFTA for her role in the movie - and for a part she nearly never got! Also; Hylda Baker made her screen debut in this before going on to become a household name in her own sit-coms that would prove highly successful throughout the rest of the decade and early 70s, and for Edna Morris who will always be best-remembered for the trouble-making 'Ma Bull' who for her pains, gets an air pellet right on the backside - a priceless scene that's not to be missed!

'Arthur Seaton' (Albert Finney) is an angry young man who's out for a good time. He's not too bothered whose toes he treads upon - providing he gets what he wants, until that is, he meets 'Doreen' (Shirley Anne Field) who distracts him from a long-term relationship that was going no-where with a married woman. (Rachel Roberts)

This movie will be simply paradise for many as they recall the dingy, but 'homely' houses, smoky pubs, down to earth banter and the neighbours chatting with their hairnets on and arms folded over the garden gate - so many things that for so long now have become but a distant memory for many of us... A perfect capturing of 1960s 'ordinary' Britain forever - simply 'gold'!

There's also some very interesting Bonus Features on this DVD; (something I'm usually not into - but these are quite wonderful) including Interviews with both Albert Finney and Shirley Anne Field about the movie - a Commentary from several key people involved in making the film, (including the author of the original novel) and best of all; an hour long real-life documentary showing a bunch of ordinary young people enjoying a night out at a local Youth Club - and airing their views with a look at their lives that's really fascinating. It will bring back many memories of the period for thousands!

Great stuff!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars long awaited, 30 April 2009
By 
M. Cropper "manc monkey" (manchester) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
have waited for this to appear on dvd for ages ,if you like british new cinema you will love this ,excelent .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Saturday Night and Sunday Morning - Albert Finney classic, 16 Dec 2009
By 
JK "Julie K." (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Albert Finney was the perfect choice for the role of young Arthur Seaton. It's Finney's performance as Arthur that ensures this diamond of a movie continues to shine after more than 50 years. Arthur is a working class Nottingham lad living life at the start of the 1960s. Gone are the standards and morals set by his war generation parents and Arthur launches himself, at full speed, into social and sexual freedom. Little was hidden by the film makers as they tackled themes of abortion, adultery, violence, sex before marriage, foul language and drunken behaviour which seem mild by todays standards but were outrageous to a huge number of the viewing public in 1960. I suppose we'd now label Saturday Night and Sunday Morning as a coming of age film. It's true to say that after a great deal of rebelling Arthur Seaton meets the right girl and starts to settle down but; you're left with the feeling that he's always going to have a wild side. You hear Arthur talk about marriage and buying his own home but; you don't actually see him do it. The end of the film is wide open and you're left to make up your own mind. Much of the film was shot on location in Nottingham and has some evocative scenes of the Goose Fair, Raleigh and parts of inner Nottingham that have mostly disappeared. Packed with atmosphere, great acting and a real slice of East Midlands social history; Saturday Night and Sunday Morning is one of the best vintage British films, an absolute classic of this genre. Picture and audio quality are still good enough not to spoil your enjoyment of the film though, obviously, it's not keeping up with modern viewing technology and can come over as grainy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A pleasurable evening spent, 14 Aug 2009
By 
N. Marsh - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I first chanced upon this film in 1989 when it was shown on one of the main 4 TV channels available then. I enjoyed it so much it stuck in my mind for 20 years. So, I bought it on DVD in the hope I could remember why I enjoyed it so much. To be fair, much of the `controversy' and `violence' seems innocent in comparison to what goes on today. But, this is part of what makes is such a charming film. It dips between 1950s and early 1960s `shock horror' to very contemporary. It's pure brilliance. You know, 20 years on from first seeing it I will say I loved it and will watch it again. I will also be adding it to my list of classics!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Saturday Night and Sunday Morning (DVD) 1960, 18 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I love these old films. especially this one. Funny in parts. Very good actors who keep you glued to the screen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love it, 5 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Brilliant classic northern Brit flick. Albert Finney is brilliant as a typical northern working class bloke in post war 50s/60s Britain. Very funny but with a dark side to it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars BRILLANT MOVIE GOES TO BLURAY,, 8 Feb 2014
By 
HAN XIAO "heaven851102" (CHINA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Saturday Night and Sunday Morning [Blu-ray] [1960] (Blu-ray)
THIS SPECIAL EDITION IS NOT SPECTACULAR, BUT TERRIFIC! BFI HAS NEVER BEEN TOO DISSAPOINTED, AND THIS GREAT FILM DESERVES A FINE TREATMENT LIKE THAT!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Film, 14 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Portrays the real old Nottingham, where I am from, brings back memories, my children could learn a lot from the past, how things have changed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Saturday Night and Sunday Morning [Blu-ray] [1960]
19.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews