Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Anglophile classics
This is an excellent recording by the BBC Concert Orchestra of British Classical music standards included in the annual Last Night of the Proms concert. It should be noted that this recording was done separately from the actual event so there is no crowd or audience noise in the background which could be good or bad depending on your preference.

Some of the...
Published on 2 Mar. 2010 by Jerry Jancarik Jr.

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The Atmosphere is missing
Like others have said this CD includes all the tunes one would expect to hear at the Last night of the Proms but for me it didn't seem the same without the audience, it was more like a dress rehearsal for the real night. Furthermore, it was not recorded at the Royal Albert Hall but at All Saints, Tooting so, for me, it didn't have that Royal Albert Hall accoustical sound...
Published on 26 Aug. 2009 by Music Lover


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Anglophile classics, 2 Mar. 2010
This is an excellent recording by the BBC Concert Orchestra of British Classical music standards included in the annual Last Night of the Proms concert. It should be noted that this recording was done separately from the actual event so there is no crowd or audience noise in the background which could be good or bad depending on your preference.

Some of the better known pieces are Pomp and Circumstance, Rule Britannia, Greensleeves, Land of Hope and Glory and the British National Anthem but my favorite track is Jerusalem, a choral hymn that I first heard a rendition of on the Chariots of Fire soundtrack back in 1981. It is no doubt one of the most stirring patriotic songs ever written.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful, 9 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Anyone that likes the proms will love this cd, it ahs all the music you would expect to hear from the last night of the proms, as far as I am aware there isn't anything missing. It makes for a great listen and means you can take the proms where ever you go and reminise about such a great occasion. Fast deliverery and packaged well, Great for anyone that really likes the proms music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Last Night of the Proms Collection, 26 Sept. 2014
By 
Keen Reader "lhendry4" (Auckland, New Zealand) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I brought this cd for my mother, who always enjoys hearing Proms concerts on radio and tv, and especially the last night. This collection is really great, in that it is not live, so you don’t get any annoying clapping or coughing in appropriate moments. The list of pieces on the cd is just what you would expect from a Last Night at the Proms – Elgar, Walton, Parry, Clarke, Henry Wood; rousing renditions of Jerusalem, Land of Hope and Glory and more. A really pleasing cd, and a really great Last Night of the Proms Collection; my mother is enjoying this cd immensely. I would wholeheartedly recommend this as a great purchase for anyone looking to recreate, remember or just recall all the greats of the Proms Last night performances.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars rule brittania, 10 May 2004
i am by no means a classical music fan (more like 60s)but there is certain music that makes the hairs on the back of your neck stand up and this music does this and when you consider how long ago it was written is amazing,i guess its what being british is all about.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 26 Sept. 2004
By A Customer
As a Yank and a lover of all things brit, I found this cd overwhelming. Play it at full blast and all the neighbors will join you in singing both the British version and American version of these wonderful, familiar, and sacred songs. What an experience!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Replacement for an iTunes download, 12 Sept. 2013
By 
Dave M (Hampshire, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I originally bought this as a download from iTunes,however due to their highly restrictive DRM, I have now bought it again to allow me to play from a USB in the car and on various Android devices. (Rant over...)

The stirring music on this CD really brings back the regular, once a year, TV event that is the "Last Night" and it includes all the favourites.

There's not a lot else to say as you already know all the music.

Recommended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Last night of the Proms Dvd, 17 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I bought this for my dad who loves this kind of music and has been playing it ever since.

It arrived promptly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great British Music, 15 Dec. 2003
If you love Great British music you can't really go wrong with this fantastic CD. Classical music lover or not, you'll be sure to love this CD... Worth every penny in my opinion!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Rousing, 8 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great choice of music, well performed. A very enjoyable listening experience when you're in the mood for a bit of patriotism. Would recommend as a great selection of well-known favourite pieces.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Lovely slice of patriotism!, 7 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Bought for my grandad in law, as he loves this kind of music. He thoroughly enjoyed this CD; apparently it made him feel very emotional! Would recommend for any fan of the Proms.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Last Night of the Proms Collection
The Last Night of the Proms Collection by BBC Concert Orchestra and Barry Wordsworth and Della Jones and Robert Ferriman and The Royal Choral Society
Buy MP3 Album£7.39
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews