Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stunning Return To Form!
I'm not a particularly huge country fan. So much of it is so twee and dislikeable, but I'm a big fan of quality music, no matter what genre its from. This 2008 return to Country from it's reigning Queen is quite simply, a stunning album. For a good half an hour I couldn't get past the first track, and first single from the album, 'Better Get To Livin' which cements...
Published on 11 Mar 2008 by Matt Black

versus
1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A Welcome Return To Country
Apparently this is Dolly's first "mainstream" Country album in 17 years. But throughout all the Bluegrass and covers albums, you should never have really lost sight of the fact that Parton is one of Country's greatest ever songwriters (and 9 of the 12 tracks here are Parton originals). And whilst this album would by no means convince anyone unaware of her greatness, there...
Published on 12 April 2008 by IWFIcon


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stunning Return To Form!, 11 Mar 2008
By 
This review is from: Backwoods Barbie (Audio CD)
I'm not a particularly huge country fan. So much of it is so twee and dislikeable, but I'm a big fan of quality music, no matter what genre its from. This 2008 return to Country from it's reigning Queen is quite simply, a stunning album. For a good half an hour I couldn't get past the first track, and first single from the album, 'Better Get To Livin' which cements Dolly's reputation as a master of her art. From that point onwards, the album just goes from strength to strength. I was touched by the lyrics of the song 'Backwoods Barbie', and Dolly's vulnerability beneath her exterior is a recurring theme. I'm not sure 'Drive Me Crazy' works as well as some others, but that's certainly not to say it's a weak point.

It's testimony to the quality of this release that those for whom Dolly has become the butt of her jokes in terms of her image will be unable to do anything but stand and admire a country legend, back and in the greatest form ever. Remarkable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars She ain't no barbie is our dolly!, 29 Feb 2008
By 
F. A. Penney "Fraser Penney" (Edinburgh, Scotland UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Backwoods Barbie (Audio CD)
This is another great album from Dolly, it's amazing how, after 41 years of releasing albums, she can keep coming up with the goods - but she does. The word legendary doesn't even begin to signify or describe her status as a songwriter and performer, while most of her peers live on their past glories and accolades, Dolly still sounds as fresh and exciting as the day she stepped off the bus in Nashville in 1964 with a guitar in hand, a notebook of songs & a head full of dreams and a drive that was gonna take her to the dizzy heights of superstardom. This album shows why she is still there at the top!
She's written 9 of the songs here, all to her usual high standard and the three others are great including covers of The Tracks Of My Tears and a wonderful country-fied version of (she) Drives Me Crazy, potential hit here? Some of the others already sound in the vintage Dolly classic mode, especially the tracks Backwoods Barbie, Cologne, The Lonsomes, I Will Forever Hate Roses (pure country), and the super Better Get To livin'.

I think this is the nicest packaged CD of Dolly's career (LOL), obviously she got her start with vinyl (I have 80 of them) so it was difficult to squeeze Miss Dolly onto a tiny CD sleeve, they're a bit limited but they've got it right for this CD, the artwork and packaging is brilliant... so top marks for that!

But the music is what counts and it is simply great and Dolly's voice is as strong as ever.

See you on tour girl!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Leicester Bangs Review (2008):, 22 Feb 2011
By 
Leicester Bangs "words-R-us" (Leicester, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Backwoods Barbie (Audio CD)
Dolly Parton - Backwoods Barbie (Dolly)
Her first mainstream country album in almost two decades, Dolly Parton returns to Nashville's womb-like embrace with a strong, mostly self-penned collection (nine from eleven are written by Parton). I must confess to enjoying her more rootsier releases than the more polished material presented here, but you'll bet the family pig that the big songs, "Better Get To Livin'", "Made Of Stone" and especially the title track, will be worrying a country chart somewhere near you, very soon. 8/10.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Barbie, maybe, but backwoods she aint!, 4 Sep 2008
By 
R. L. Judd (Oxford, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Backwoods Barbie (Audio CD)
This CD is fantastic - a return to form for the First Lady of Country music. From the opening track, the lyrics and music flow easily, and are all likeable, 'catchy' and heartfelt.

Ofcourse they are stand out tracks - the first single, 'Better Get To Living' but also the wonderfully up-lifting 'Jesus & Gravity' and the great 'Shinola' (a track where Dolly gets mad and even!). Plus an amazingly original cover version of 'She Drives Me Crazy', where Dolly add's her own touch of 'crazy'!

Most of the tracks tell a story and so many, it seems, come - possibly - from Dolly's own life experience's, especially the title-track 'Backwoods Barbie'. And top marks have to be given for the art-work of the album - Dolly looks 'the part'.

This is cross genre music at it best - I cannot recommend more highly!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Everything's Beautiful..., 27 Mar 2008
By 
C. N. Robinson (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Backwoods Barbie (Audio CD)
A wonderful, accessible album by the queen of country. While I'm not sure we need another cover of 'Tracks Of My Tears', even from Dolly, the nine original compositions here are all strong, melodic songs with Dolly's trademark intimate, clever lyrics. Stand out songs are the title track, 'Backwoods Barbie' - a more mature 'Dumb Blonde', 35+ years on - and 'Cologne', a beautiful, poignant song from the perspective of 'the other woman'. Then there's 'Somebody's Everything'... Oh what the hec, they're all stand out tracks! Just buy the CD and find out for yourself!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent ... Well done Dolly !!, 6 July 2008
By 
* "jensonbutton" (Norfolk - United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Backwoods Barbie (Audio CD)
I just felt that I had to write a review.

We went to see Dolly last night at the O2 arena and wow ... what a show.

Over 2hrs she played 6 of the tracks above as well as her classic's Islands in the Sream, Jolene, 9 to 5, Coat of many colurs, Why'd you come in here looking like that etc.

I've seen a few concerts in my 25 years but that by far was the best (I think that with no warm up act and the seats we had helped!!)

Buy the cd and then watch the 'Euro 08' tour DVD when its released.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars good listen, 11 Dec 2013
By 
A. Robbins - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Backwoods Barbie (Audio CD)
if you like country and western you don't get much better than dolly parton. It will even convert a few people.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars She's no Barbie!, 28 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Backwoods Barbie (Audio CD)
A good cd, with the usual well written songs, but also a couple of unexpected cover versions, in her style
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great CD, 30 Jan 2013
By 
Mr. D. J. Brooker Snr "DJBmusicman" (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Backwoods Barbie (Audio CD)
As always a great set of songs from Dolly. You will be impressed by them. Well done again Dolly Parton.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A good mix, 8 Jan 2011
This review is from: Backwoods Barbie (Audio CD)
This cd contains a good variety of songs and is very easy to listen to just to unwind. Worth buying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Backwoods Barbie
Backwoods Barbie by Dolly Parton
Buy MP3 Album£8.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews