Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

36 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars worth it for Emma's voice, 11 May 2003
By 
Norma J. Sassone "Norma J" (Olympia WA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This is a stunning rendition of the "Gloria." It's probably worth buying for the rendition of "Laudamus Te" alone - angelic!
For anyone who loves Vivaldi, it's a must. My only miniscule criticism is that the tempo on the "Gloria" at the beginning is a bit too fast.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A glimpse of the immortal, 24 July 2006
By 
J. Hutchings "jjhutchings" (Framlingham, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Ah yes. This recording, which was my second ever, the first being Emma Kirkby & James Bowman with AAM performing Pergolesi. That recording was so perfect that I had to buy more and hear it, so I found this one.

The sound of the choir in the Gloria is of course Anglican by its very nature - none of the earthy gutsy sound of the Monteverdi Choir here. However, the performances are very fine indeed, and cannot be faulted in terms of quality.

Nulla in mundo was rightly made more popular by this recording and by the film Shine (oh yes - remember that!?). Kirkby's singing is youthful and clear, and there are indeed moments where she sounds like a treble boy, but with some serious experience!

As always, the AAM under Christopher Hogwood combine to create an almost unrivalled ensemble, as demonstrated on the second disc of little-known cantatas for voice.

A superb disc, and a great introduction to Baroque music. Stop reading this and buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


45 of 49 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Its the academy of ancient music, enough said., 7 Nov 2000
By A Customer
This is absolutely fantastic, anyone who can claim to like baroque music should not be without a copy of this. As is to be expected the Academy of Ancient Music has produced a fine recording of this Vivaldi masterpiece, (and it is not half as religious as the title suggests). A seriously essential edition to any cd collection. If this hasn't persuaded you then maybe the combination of Christopher Hogwood & Emma Kirkby should, as recordings rarely come finer than this. I love it & so will you!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Still wonderful after all these years, 20 Dec 2010
By 
Mr. A. D. R. Hoyle (West Yorkshire, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
My main purpose in writing this review is to prevent too much dust settling on a set of recordings which have seldom, if ever, been out of the catalogue for something in the region of 30 years. Some treasured recordings sound disappointingly dated when one returns to them after many years. Not so this set! If Vivaldi has gone stale on you, these performances will refresh your ears.

I agree with the praise expressed by my antecedents here & would simply add that, while Emma Kirkby is in wonderfully mellifluous voice (especially in 'Nulla in Mundo Pax Sincera'), we should not overlook Judith Nelson, whose glorious singing, in duet with a gorgeously lyrical oboe, makes 'Domine Deus, Rex... (Track 6, disc 1) the absolute highlight of a double CD that is never less than brilliant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gloria, 9 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I had a copy of Vivaldi's Gloria, which pales into insignificance in comparison to this version with Christopher Hogwood conducting. Most moving and emotive interpretation of the music. Vivaldi would have approved!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I'm really enjoying this CD, 26 Jan 2007
By 
Superb, majestic. Absolutely worth the money. Latin to English translation of the titles is included If you are considering buying it then think no more - just do it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great music, great value, 22 May 2010
By 
M. Western (Dunfermline, Fife, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This was my first Vivaldi CD, although I have a lot of renaissance and baroque music. It's stunning - I played it over and over again. I would think that anyone who likes Baroque or choral music would love this CD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Vivaldi: Gloria (Nulla in mundo pax sincera, 17 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
One of the best cd's I own. Vivaldi's music is stunning. I play it in the car most days. The journeys always seem to be quicker.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 5 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Listened to various recordings but I believe this one is the best. Some are too slow/too fast but this is, in my opinion, spot on!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Glorious sound, 26 Jan 2010
By 
P. Prendergast (Bromley, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I was introduced to Vivaldi's cantatas by the 2L recording by Tone Wik, and wanted to hear more.
This is a wonderful variant, Emma Kirkby has a beautiful voice, which suits the ethereal nature of the Mass.
The only better way of enjoying the music that I could imagine is to hear it in church.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Vivaldi: Gloria/Nisi Dominus/4 Cantatas etc.
Vivaldi: Gloria/Nisi Dominus/4 Cantatas etc. by Oxford and Christopher Hogwood and Emma Kirkby and James Bowman and Judith Nelson and Simon Preston Carolyn Watkinson and Catherine Bott and Catherine Mackintosh and Choir of Christ Church Cathedral
Buy MP3 Album7.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews