Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Children will listen and so should you, 11 Sep 2004
By 
James Walsh (Dublin, Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Sondheim 1987 classic is one of his most intricate and yet accessable musicals, if only because we are familiar with most of the characters from our childhood fairy tales.
What seems like a fairly straightforward story in Act 1, the weaving of a number of classic fairy tales through a story of a childless baker and his wife, becomes in Act 2 a much darker and ultimately poignant play with some salutory lesson on how sometimes wishing for things doesn't always bring happiness.
While the soundtrack does not give the full story it does contain some of Sondheim must lyrical songs and some of his cleverest lyrics (listen to both version of Agony a few times!).
Personal favourites among the songs are 'No More' and 'No One Is Alone' (probably because I got to sing both of them in an amateur production as The Baker), but most of the music is wonderful and easy to listen to.
A number of reviewers have been annoyed by the American accents on the soundtrack. Personally I don't have any such problems with this and I don't think it takes from what is a superb soundtrack.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sondheim - An American Genius, 24 Jun 2006
By 
Dot (London, England) - See all my reviews
Just a quick comment to the reviewers who object to the American accents on this recording. Sondheim is American, and 'Broadway' is American. This is a Broadway cast recording of a Sondheim musical. How strage to object to something about this recording which is inherant to it's source! Can you imagine ojecting to the British accents in an RSC production of Hamlet? How bizarre! This is a brilliant recording of a brilliant show. If you prefer Andrew Lloyd-Weber, then you deserve him.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Into your head, 2 Oct 2010
This review is from: Into the Woods (Audio CD)
I took my daughter to see Into the Woods in Regents Park -- we were bowled over by the wit and the depth of Sondheim's lyrics and music. We rushed to buy this sound track. I chose it because it was a Broadway cast. The plot seems at first to be based on well-loved fairy tales brought to life and magically interwoven. But the second half comes along to overturn that magic: a giantess is let loose in the woods and destroys everything in her path, including several of the characters we have come to love from the first part. Sondheim shows us delight, then he snatches it away, and exposes us to death and despair. There is redemption at the end, but it is a chastened, diminished, sadly realistic hope.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect recording, 24 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Into The Woods (MP3 Download)
This is one of my Sondheim favourites and as I saw the film of this cast performance it adds to the pleasure. Strange that 2 of the numbers that appear at the end of the recording are out of sequence.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic musical brilliantly interpreted by iconic performers, 10 Mar 2013
By 
darylhb (Cape Town, South Africa) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Into The Woods / O.C.R. (Audio CD)
Into The Woods is arguably Sondheim's most poignant and insightful musical, and certainly his most magical. This recording features many of the most accomplished and celebrated artists of modern musical theatre, all perfectly cast and delivering sensitive performances that communicate the heart of this story with finesse.

If you love shows with a keen understanding of human nature, presented through an innovative score, this recording is a must-have for your collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Into the Woods, 3 July 2003
This is one of those musicals that not that many people on this side of the Atlantic have heard of, and, when you initially hear what it's about, you tend to be dubious. That, at least, was my reaction when I volunteered to help out with an amateur production and was told what the show would be. Now, having been the assistant producer and as such both flogged tickets and sat through endless rehearsals, it's an amazing show with fabulous music. From the beautiful and poignant Act 2 Finale 'Children Will Listen' to the recurring theme track 'Into The Woods', which has a more upbeat tempo, this is a musical you will enter into with trepidation but, once into the songs and the story, will realise that had you passed it by, you would have regretted it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A favourite in my Sondheim collection, 4 Sep 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Into The Woods / O.C.R. (Audio CD)
A favourite in my Sondheim collection. The cast serves this work and its creator extremely well and delivers an enjoyable, memorable, singable CD that you will want to play again and again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars sONDHIEM IS ALWAYS GOOD, 24 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Into the Woods (Audio CD)
rEMEBER IN LIFE IT IS THE THINGS YOU WISH FOR THAT BRIG ON THE PAINFULL kARMA
mANY A WRONG STEP HAS STARTED WITH ' i WISH ''
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 1st Class Service & Product, 30 Mar 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Into the Woods (Audio CD)
Anyone familiar with Stephen Sondheim's work knows that it speaks for itself - consistantly great.

The service provided by Amazon for purchasing this product mirrors this exactly!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars musical cd, 20 April 2010
By 
G. Callan "selected reviewer" (London UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Into the Woods (Audio CD)
Not one of the best know Sondhwim musicals - but a great listen and a narrative that you can follow. Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Into The Woods
Into The Woods by Musical Cast Recording
Buy MP3 Album4.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews