Customer Reviews


23 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


154 of 155 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Works OK, but some caveats
First of all, it does work and consequently it gives a relatively easy-to-do use for waste paper. However, there are some things of which you should be aware, so that your expectations do not exceed the actuality:
* If I used it as per instructions and compressed with all my strength, I did not have the strength to push the log out of the tube. The solution I found...
Published on 14 Mar 2009 by Coticbane

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Dry log maker
As in other reviews I have to say that it is not a easy thing to use and that the logs do not burn for as long as the dried wet ones I make ,but it does use up my sawdust and shredded paper in a neat way.
Points to remember are don't over fill it ,don't compress it to hard as this makes it harder to push out,start by making small loose logs at first then add more or...
Published 19 months ago by R. N. Guy


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

154 of 155 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Works OK, but some caveats, 14 Mar 2009
This review is from: Eko-Mania Dry Paper Log Maker (DIY & Tools)
First of all, it does work and consequently it gives a relatively easy-to-do use for waste paper. However, there are some things of which you should be aware, so that your expectations do not exceed the actuality:
* If I used it as per instructions and compressed with all my strength, I did not have the strength to push the log out of the tube. The solution I found was not to fill it as much -- four double broadsheets gives about the right fill, so that the force required to eject is about the same as the force of compression.
* Be very careful when ejecting the log and ensure that no part of your hand can get caught between the tube and the plunger -- my second log left me with a 1cm diameter blood-blister! Subsequently OK -- once bitten, etc.
* It says that the logs burn for "up to" 30 mins -- expect about half that unless the fire is damped right down.
* The paper logs produce much more ash than wood or eco-logs.
* We have decided that the best use for these paper logs is as kindling/firelighters -- one log, on top of a scrunched up sheet of newspaper, is sufficient to light our woodburner.

Edit, 22 April 2009: I have found that the best "fill" is paper from the shredder. For some reason it can compress down very tight without jamming.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


30 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars There is a nack ..., 28 Nov 2009
By 
J. Bass (London, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Eko-Mania Dry Paper Log Maker (DIY & Tools)
I love this item. Took me a while to work out best way to use it. I started off getting it stuck every time and I felt very weedy. I soon found out that it is best not to tear up the paper as it gets stuck up the sides, as it were (it will make sense when you get it) it's best to scrunch the paper up in loose balls then use the plunger to pack it down. Fills right to the line and pops out with ease in a beautiful and tidy log shape.

Oh yeah and it burns very well too !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Works for me, 7 Feb 2010
By 
Hiram's Brother (Yorkshire, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Eko-Mania Dry Paper Log Maker (DIY & Tools)
This item is very well made and good value for money.
The logs are easy to make using J.Bas's advice and you can use the logs straight away. You could possibly hurt yourself with this if you don't take the basic care with any operation using a device. Some people will manage to hurt themselves with a hammer or screwdriver. This log maker is inherently safe.
I don't see the point of using a 'wet' method of making logs when this piece of equipment is available. Yes, the paper logs from this might not burn for as long as some those made by other methods but no matter how you burn a newspaper it will only have the same calorific value (amount of heat it will give) and always produce the same amount of ash. Why bother with a messy alternative?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Practice makes perfect, 7 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Eko-Mania Dry Paper Log Maker (DIY & Tools)
Encountered similar problems with over compacted log on first two tries. Subsequent attempts, including using rolled paper, produced a range of indifferent logs. However 12 year old grandson mastered this straight away. When filling the tube he simply randomly pushed individual open newspapers sheets in one by one (unfolded, not pre-scrunched)and used plunger to compact each sheet until stipulated level reached. End result was a well filled solid log that came out easily and burnt 30+ minutes.
He was well pleased and spent the next 2-3 hours in front of the TV producing several bags of logs.
Quicker,less messy than briquette maker (these take weeks to dry)and comparable end product. Entertaining the grandson was a bonus.
Recommend
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars paper block maker, 13 Jan 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Eko-Mania Dry Paper Log Maker (DIY & Tools)
Brilliant piece of equipment - already have wet paper block maker for use in summer but this can be used all year round to suplement longer burning 'wet' blocks
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Logs, 29 Dec 2009
By 
Helen Eatock "Aitch" (Wiltshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Eko-Mania Dry Paper Log Maker (DIY & Tools)
This is a great way of using all the junk mail, envelopes etc we would normally just chuck away. We shred it all and then use it as the filling. Makes excellent kindling.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Eko Mania, 7 Jan 2012
This review is from: Eko-Mania Dry Paper Log Maker (DIY & Tools)
Handy little product with the big advantage that it uses DRY paper - i.e. no need to wet or saturate paper. Be careful not to compress paper too much as it will then be difficult to 'push' out, hence 4 not 5 stars, but nevertheless, easy to use.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Like It, 28 Dec 2011
This review is from: Eko-Mania Dry Paper Log Maker (DIY & Tools)
I've found that is is easiest to get the log out of the tube by placing a stick or poker upright on the ground, then turn the cylinder upside down and press onto the stick.

This method allows the paper to 'Give' a little as you remove it and even well compressed paper can be pushed out without too much effort.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good buy wife?, 29 Dec 2012
This review is from: Eko-Mania Dry Paper Log Maker (DIY & Tools)
Having read previous comments where use of this product caused serious injury, I decided this was the perfect present for the wife. I waited as she opened it with baited breath, but soon lost interest as she read and followed the instructions and then effortlessly produced a number of paper logs. No jams or bodily injury, just paper logs that burn for 10 to 15 minutes. Great for regular conversion of junk mail unto heat. Would have rated at five stars but no broken fingers, otherwise a great product.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Dry log maker, 22 Nov 2012
By 
R. N. Guy (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Eko-Mania Dry Paper Log Maker (DIY & Tools)
As in other reviews I have to say that it is not a easy thing to use and that the logs do not burn for as long as the dried wet ones I make ,but it does use up my sawdust and shredded paper in a neat way.
Points to remember are don't over fill it ,don't compress it to hard as this makes it harder to push out,start by making small loose logs at first then add more or compress firmer to cope with how difficult it is push out. When pushing out do it slowly and keep your hands on the tube and away from the plunger so as not to trap your fingers very painful !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews