Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent boxset, 6 Sep 2010
This review is from: Melville Boxset [DVD] (DVD)
It is a privilege to own this boxset. LE CERCLE ROUGE, BOB LE FLAMBEUR and L'ARMÉE DES OMBRES are towering films, masterpieces anywhere anytime. LE DOULOS is a very quirky, well acted, and well filmed movie in the style of THE BIG SLEEP. LEON MORIN has excellent dialogue but I think it is a very delicate subject and along the way I lost the thread - I'll have to give it another chance. Inevitably, one of the films would always have to be weaker than the rest and in this instance that unenviable status goes to UN FLIC, though that's not to say that it is a bad, or even a mediocre film. It is just not as good as the rest. A word about the extras, in particular in respect of LE CERCLE ROUGE and L'ARMÉE DES OMBRES: They are excellent, very informative, and provide new and unexpected angles. All told, and at the current price, this boxset is a very definite must buy!

PS - I am looking forward to another Melville boxset with LE SAMOURAI, LE DEUXIEME SOUFFLE and QUAND TU LIRAS CETTE LETTRE.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


45 of 46 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Too Cool for School!, 28 Jun 2010
This review is from: Melville Boxset [DVD] (DVD)
Melville - not the one who wrote Moby Dick; the coolest French director of all time. If you like seedy, pessimistic, violent Noir then nobody has ever done it better than this guy. Cool anti- heroes in trenchcoats, standing way back in the shadows with a gun at the ready; dangerous women who live to deceive; Paris as the coolest city in the world. In this collection you can also find 'Army of Shadows' - a deeply disturbing and tragically violent study of the French Resistance & what it means when your devotion to a cause comes into direct conflict with your devotion to other human beings. Melville was in the French Resistance during WWII - here is someone who walked it as well as just talked it.

Do not miss this collection! It is, quite simply, beyond cool!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic Box Set full of Extras, 20 April 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Melville Boxset [DVD] (DVD)
* Bob le flambeur (1956) 98 mins B/W
Brilliant performance by Roger Duchesne as Bob the world-weary anti-hero. Isabelle Corey looking a bit awkward in her screen debut but lovely nonetheless. Brief nudity even for 1956 too.

Extras:
Introduction by Ginette Vincendeau

* Léon Morin, prÍtre (1961) 112 mins B/W
Emmanuele Riva falls in love with a priest played by Jean-Paul Belmondo. Well-acted, but full of heavy discussions about religion which did not appeal to me. I found it difficult to sit through in one go, and it is the only film of the six I wouldn't watch again.

Extras:
Introduction by Ginette Vincendeau
Selected Scene Commentary
Interview with Assistant Director Volker Schlöndorff
Original Trailer

* Le doulos (1962) 104 mins B/W
Jean-Paul Belmondo again in Melville's stylish homage to film-noir. Brilliantly directed with a maze of a plot. Notable for a famous nine-minute single take in the Police Station.

Extras:
Introduction by Ginette Vincendeau
Selected Scene Commentary
Interview with Assistant Director Volker Schlöndorff
Original Trailer

* Army of Shadows (L'armée des ombres) (1969) 139 mins Colour
France under German occuaption. Lino Ventura excellent throughout as one of the leaders of the Resistance. Some interesting set-pieces and a thoroughly enjoyable film.

Extras:
Commentary by Ginette Vincendeau
Documentary: Le Journal de la Resistance (33 mins)
Featurette: Jean-Pierre Melville, Filmmaker (5 mins)
Featurette: Melville, Army of Shadows (28 mins)
Trailer

* Le cercle rouge (1970) 135 mins Colour
Alain Delon, Gian-Maria Volonte and Yves Montand star in the ultimate robbery attempt. Will they be thwarted by the police though? Crime cinema at its best.

Extras:
Introduction and Commentary by Ginette Vincendeau
Interview with Assistant Director Bernard Stora
Rui Nogueira on Melville
Original Trailer

* Un flic (1972) 96 mins Colour
Melville's last film, and certainly not his best. Alain Delon is with the police this time out battling friend and criminal Richard Crenna for the love of Catherine Deneuve. Enjoyable to a point, but the use of train and helicopter models make it look like a Joe 90 episode at times. Strangely, Michael Conrad (Sgt. Esterhaus of Hill Street Blues) also co-stars in a French-speaking role! That caught me off balance.

Extras:
None

Overall, a fantastic set at this price. Melville was a unique director, and you can learn a lot about him from the extras.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Master at work, 30 May 2010
This review is from: Melville Boxset [DVD] (DVD)
Melville is a master to be savoured and this package of films offers a feast. Every film of 'the godfather of the new wave' is a treat - the sort we don't see in most of contemporary cinema. Although this 'filmmaker's filmmaker' is more widely know for his crime noir (of which the most glaringly missing in this collection is Le Samourai) I think his real masterpiece is 'Army of Shadows'. This film alone is worth the price you pay for the entire box-set.
This box-set doesn't really have such an abundance of extras but enough to keep you satisfied. But then, who really cares if you are getting these 6 Melville gems.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Six Fine Films From the Godfather of the French New Wave., 12 July 2010
By 
Bob Salter "Captain Spindrift" (Wiltshire, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Melville Boxset [DVD] (DVD)
This has to one of the best box set buys around at the moment. I brought mine for a snip, and have been extremely happy with my purchase. What a great way to introduce yourself to one of the great French film makers. Six fine films from the revered godfather of the French New Wave Jean-Pierre Melville. Aside from the films there is over 2 hours of extras which give an insight into the man himself by those who worked closest to him. If ever there was a true auteur of the cinema it was Melville. He would often write in his office which came directly down into the film set by a spiral staircase. This staircase is often visible in his films. I have already reviewed "Bob Le Flambeur" and "Leon Morin, Pretre", in some depth on Amazon. The last demonstrates Melville's versatility. He was certainly capable of making fine films outside his favourite film noir influenced crime films. "Army of Shadows" is arguably the finest movie ever made about the French resistance. In "Le Doulos" a criminal goes in search of revenge. In "Le Cercle Rouge" a jewel theif teams up with a disparate group to carry out a jewel heist. Finally in "Un Flic", made not long before Melville's untimely death, a Police Commissioner and a gang leader, in love with the same woman, clash when a bank robbery takes place. At the time of this review the box set can be purchased very reasonably, and it is a very good buy to the lover of fine cinema.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great value box-set., 8 Jan 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Melville Boxset [DVD] (DVD)
Melville has made some of my favourite films and this is a brilliant value set. They look great and seem to be in original formats, with nice crisp pictures. Some of the menu screens don't work brilliantly though, and I had to go to chapter selection to start watching the films. Not sure if this is my DVD player.

OK, so Un Flic is flawed and the set doesn't contain Le Samourai either, but these are great films and for the money you can't go wrong.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic French noir, 16 Jun 2010
This review is from: Melville Boxset [DVD] (DVD)
Although various critics have suggested that Mr Melville was too influenced by American cinema I would suggest that those critics are the ones who consider anything coming out of Hollywood is bad (similair accuasations have been levelled at Olivier Marchal - but I loved 36). This is classic French cinema, with the plenty of Alain Delon and Yves Montand. My faves being Army of Shadows, Un Flic and Le cercle rouge.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Film-noir homage to American gangsters by the father of the French heist movies, 28 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Melville Boxset [DVD] (DVD)
6 J-PM films at a great price! At least 3 are amongst my favs - the only regret is that 'Le Samourai' and 'Deuxieme Souffle' (which are two of my all-time favs) aren't among them and seem to be available but at a price!
Still, that aside what you have is a fabulously packaged box-set, each DVD in its own slim case, each of a different colour so you can see at a glance the one you're looking for. This box sits pride of place on my media shelf!
In addtion to excellent films by the master of his genre, you have accompanying documentaries on the director, interviews and trailiers plus options of commentaries as you watch for four of the six, trailers and the usual choice of subtitles in different languages. It's classic film-noir of the French persuasion and for me, a massive fan of LINO VENTURA, ALAIN DELON and CATHERINE DENEUVE, an easy watch again and again. There's also MONTAND, CASSEL, MEURISSSE, SIGNORET, PICCOLI, REGGIANI, BOURVILLE, CRENNA, DUCHESNE, VOLONTE and of course BELMONDO who I have to confess I've never been a fan of but he's in two and very impressive
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nouvelle Vague gOD., 3 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Melville Boxset [DVD] (DVD)
This Melville box contains 6 of his best movies except for Le Samourai which i bought from Amazon Fr on blu ray ( only French subtitles - no English ) so this is a 5 star rating box. The lesser one i find the one about the priest but again Jean Paul Belmondo's acting is so high that i give this one a 5 star too. My favourites are the 2 with Alain Delon ( one of the best French actors of all time ) and the Army of Shadows with the mighty Simone Signoret and Lino Ventura. This box is a killer must have for all lovers of the French cinema.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great "film noir" classics, 6 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Melville Boxset [DVD] (DVD)
The images are OK, but the quality of the voices and music is poor. Unlike Bunuel collection, all discs are working.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Melville Boxset [DVD]
Melville Boxset [DVD] by Jean-Pierre Melville (DVD - 2009)
£27.06
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews