Customer Reviews


64 Reviews
5 star:
 (30)
4 star:
 (15)
3 star:
 (11)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The midnight gore train
Well our Vinnie has now made the transition from thug to monster and didn't he do well. With only one word to speak in the whole film he manages to convey a sense of threat and menace by facial expression alone and does an excellent job. Overall I would have graded this film a 7/10 but obviously Amazon only uses five stars so I'll be generous. The ending will not be...
Published on 18 Feb 2009 by PJ Rankine

versus
13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Well worth buying - spoilt slightly by a sloppy ending
I picked this film up having not heard much about about it before and have to say I was pleasantly surprised. The film follows struggling photographer Leon (Bradley Cooper) as he looks for his big break, taking pictures of what he describes as 'the real city', but it criticized by other photographers for fleeing from high pressure situations, thus missing out on more...
Published on 31 Mar 2009 by The Bear


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Well worth buying - spoilt slightly by a sloppy ending, 31 Mar 2009
This review is from: The Midnight Meat Train [DVD] (DVD)
I picked this film up having not heard much about about it before and have to say I was pleasantly surprised. The film follows struggling photographer Leon (Bradley Cooper) as he looks for his big break, taking pictures of what he describes as 'the real city', but it criticized by other photographers for fleeing from high pressure situations, thus missing out on more powerful shots. On the back of this Leon follows a gang into a subway and photographs them attacking a women, who Leon then saves. Days later the Women is reported as missing and it is the investigation into her disappearance that really sparks the film into action and introduces us to Vinny Jones' character 'Mahogany'. The first thing that really struck me about this film is how visually scary it is, the cold and claustrophobic carriages housing some fantastically graphic murders along with a great visual performance by Jones makes this genuinely very scary. The acting is solid enough and the story line is better than the average Horror as you find yourself suspecting others around Leon of being involved in the Murders. I only have 2 complaints about this film. (1) some seriously dodgy CGI ruins a couple of deaths, in particular the eyes popping out of a characters sockets as he is struck in the back of the head with a hammer which just looks silly. this however is later rectified with a great scene where 'Mahogany' performs his own special hair,teeth,eyes and nails removal on one unlucky soul (not for the squeamish!) (2) my main gripe with this film however is the ending, obviously i wont give anything away but i will say this. The first 94 minutes of this film are 5 star, the last 5 minutes however really disappointed me, not so much because it is just stupid, which it is, but because it is so sloppy and unrealistic and makes the whole film less scary. Still, I really enjoyed watching this film and will do so again I'm sure. 3 stars seems a little low but 4 seems too high... lets say 7.5 out of 10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The midnight gore train, 18 Feb 2009
By 
PJ Rankine (Wallington, Surrey United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Midnight Meat Train [DVD] (DVD)
Well our Vinnie has now made the transition from thug to monster and didn't he do well. With only one word to speak in the whole film he manages to convey a sense of threat and menace by facial expression alone and does an excellent job. Overall I would have graded this film a 7/10 but obviously Amazon only uses five stars so I'll be generous. The ending will not be implausible to Clive Barker fans because of course you will already know what it's about and you won't be disappointed. Apparently the director's cut/uncut is the only version available on dvd and it is pretty hard core and not for the squeamish. It's beautifully filmed, especially the urban night scenes and the shot where the hero is about to descend the stairs into the subway is beautiful, wish I'd shot it myself. Some found the hero's pursuit of the killer a little implausible too but I saw it more of a morality tale in that he was reaping the rewards for his own greed and Barker does like to expose humanity's failings as well as their strengths in his books. Calling Mahogany a serial killer is a bit of a misnomer - he's a monster - and he makes this horror film worth a watch if this is your bag.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars CATCH THE RIDE, 13 April 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Having ordered 'Midnight Meat Train' on Blue Ray, I did not know what to expect. As a hardened horror film fan, it takes something special to rock my boat these days. The thought of Vinnie Jones as the protagonist I thought would ruin it, as I've always found him lacking in the acting department akin to an animated plank of wood. However I need not have worried, Jones gives a tour-de-force performance as the menacing serial killer. The film itself rolls along at a cracking pace. The slaughter scenes are spectacular. The hype on the cover of this horror film for once
delivers. What better recommendation can I give than to say that the wife watched the whole movie cowering behind a couch pillow. Great stuff 10/10.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Vinnie and his BIG Hammer, 11 April 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Excellent film. It's been said before and people will keep on saying it, vinnie can't act, well let me just say, yes he doesn't say anything in the whole film until right at the end, but for me he was excellent in this, the part he played didn't require any dialogue, his manor and facial expressions were great and when he looks up to find photographer leon has followed him onto the train he gives that menacing grin that would scare the hell out of most people. There is plenty of blood and eyes poping out, most of the effects are CGI but not all, I totally loved this film.
Some people have said they didn't like the end, perhaps they just didn't get it, for me the end was spot on. A well shot film with a very de saturated look which looked great and suited the gnere. I bought this on blu ray and the picture was sharp and crisp and one of the few films with 7.1 surround sound which sounded mega on my mission speakers. For the price I payed an absolute bargin!!

Recomended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An American Psycho set on the New York Subway, 12 Nov 2014
By 
William Mason (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Midnight Meat Train [DVD] (DVD)
This is a very stylish, beautifully shot horror film.
Bradley Cooper plays a struggling, freelance New York City photographer. He's an ambulance chasing lensman who wanders the streets of the Big Apple, hoping to catch sight of an accident, and to take snaps of the incident.
Brooke Shields plays a local art gallery owner, who's always on the lookout for new talent. She tells Bradley that his photos are too conservative, too safe, unprepossessing.
Vinnie Jones plays Mahogany, the "Subway Butcher", a relentless, stony-faced serial killer who prowls the New York Subway, always on the lookout for his next victim. He's quite a dandy with his wardrobe - he always wears elegant suits, and his hair is always immaculately coiffeured. His modus operandi involves a butcher's meat-hook, and by far the biggest meat tenderiser I've ever seen.
Bradley determines that, if his photography is to become more eye-catching and, therefore, marketable, he needs to roam the Subway in the early hours of the morning. This is the time when all the creeps, winos, lunatics and street hoods are roaming the train carriages. This of course proves to be ill-advised, because he inevitably crosses paths with Mahogany, and still worse, decides that the intense looking chap would be a good subject for photos, which means that Mahogany has to be followed...
This is a first rate chiller. It's very skilfully directed and shot with real exuberance - it has a visual flair and schtick which had me comparing it with American Psycho (Christian Bale) - American Psycho [DVD] [2000]. The acting is on point, especially Vinnie, who's performance is even more menacing than usual. The kill scenes are bedecked with oceans of blood and imaginatively executed - when Mahogany goes mano a mano with a very tough looking Guardian Angel - one of the Subway's self-appointed civilian law enforcers - it's a stunningly realised fight to the death sequence.
The flick overall is achingly cool, and I found the movie gripping from start to finish. The setting in the New York Subway is a masterstroke, and permits very elegant cinematography. It quite reminded me of Luc Besson's very stylish French thriller, Subway, which was set on the Paris Metro - Subway [Blu-ray]. Indeed, if you had told me that Luc Besson directed Midnight Meat Train (he didn't), I wouldn't have doubted it for a moment.
If I was being fussy, I'd criticise the fact that not a single policeman is ever seen patrolling the Subway. Given the Rambo-esque body-count which Vinnie achieves each night, the absence of any cops frankly defies belief!
However, all in all, I'm happy to give this film a very strong recommendation.
Thank you for taking the time to read this review.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The-plot-ful-of-holes-train, 28 Oct 2009
By 
N. Barrett (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Midnight Meat Train [DVD] (DVD)
This flick has been reviewed pretty well by most on this page with most viewers agreeing that it's exceeedingly well shot (which it is, beautiful shots, compositions, mise-en-scene, lighting for what is essentially a grindhouse horror flick) and the direction and cast are fine. It's just the script that has the problems. As one other reviewer pointed out, horror movie fans get very very annoyed if a movie's characters are dumb or don't act realistically, yeah it's a movie, but you've gotta have some reflection of reality or what's the fricken point. So the Midnight Meat Train thunders around endless amounts of track while Vinnie's butcher character slaughters a few last passengers, then carefully bags the clothes and, just as carefully, removes bit n bobs (eyeballls, nails, hair etc) - i mean, this would take AGES! How long is this train ride meant to be anyway..... Then of course the carriage looks like an abatoir after he's finished - so who'se scrubbing all this blood down? Does all the evidence get removed every single night/time? Gimme a break.... And of course the murder of the arty friend in an otherwise silent apartment while the girl is next door - and doesn't hear a thing!!! WHAT?!? And then she sees the murderers bag and doesn't run like hell out of the room, oh no, she sticks around for a bit, has a bit of rifle through..... Christ on a bike are we in any kind of reality here? And why have this anonymous sect chosen mr Cameraman to be their next butcher boy? What made him perfect for the part? Nothing really.... Don't get me wrong though, this flick passes the time effectively, it's all stylishly made and performed, but sometimes don't ya wish the screenplay was a little tighter?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Different movie, excellent blu ray., 27 May 2009
By 
Francisco José Poyato Ariza "Fran" (Madrid, Spain) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Some people did not like this movie and rated it with one star. I may understand this, because it is so intendedly different to standard occidental horror movies as it can be. For me, and for this reason, it is simply awesome. A different narrative, a different look, and a different mythology. It starts as an apparently predictable story, but the twists and the amazing looks very soon make all the difference. As for the transfer, it is just perfect; the grain is that of the high-sensitive negative chosen by the director, so it really is cinematographic. Some people seem to think that the purpose of the blu ray is to be crystal clear no matter what; I totally disagree. For me, it is to be as close to the original concept and aspect of the movie as possible, and this is just the case here. Plus a nice bonus: the sound comes in an impressive 7.1 mix, with trains going all the way from the rear to the front and vice versa. With more movies like this, one wouldn't have to look to Asia all the time in order to find something interesting, original and entertaining.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars VINNIE'S GOT A BIG HAMMER!!!, 21 Mar 2009
By 
Jason Thorne (England / Oxford) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Midnight Meat Train [DVD] (DVD)
Alot of people have said in the past Vinnie Jones could never play football only difference is he played football when football was played by men. Nowadays the game has 22 tarts running around looking up at the big screen to make sure their hair is ok and their gold boots are still shinning. Alot of people have also said Vinnie Jones can not act well I am afraid some people are wrong again this guy can it's that simple. He has now been in some very big films with top producers and directors and this is one of those. In this he plays this role brillantly and he doesn't say a word until the very end because bottom line he doesn't need to. Vinnie's facial expressions in this do the talking big time he really does look like a complete madman. In this film it has a great story the acting is very good and the film has plenty of suspense,tension and some great camera work. The blood and gore side of things are very full on and brutal my only moan was the ending was a little lame but apart from that a great night viewing that had a little bit of everything in it to keep most people happy. I can see this being done again because the film has been left wide open for another encounter. I can only see Vinnie Jones moving up from here he really does do this role with ease it's a shame so many people slate him because he does deserve some credit for this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A pleasant surprise, 8 April 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Midnight Meat Train [DVD] (DVD)
I must say that at first I was dubious, Vinnie Jones et al, but I was pleasantly suprised to find it a refreshing change to the mainstream hack & slash genre. Mr Jones portrayal of the the lead villain as a quie, menancing, and intimidating, but in some ways sad, individual, was excellent. SFX were amazing but at times the graphic violence was a little too relastic. Some scenes had me looking away from the screen....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Another surprisingly good performance from Vinnie, 21 Nov 2009
By 
A. S. Beale "Rehsinup" (U K) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This really is worth a viewing.Adapted from a Clive Barker short story this film is set on the underground system where numerous people disappear whilst travelling late at night. Vinnie Jones is cast in the perfect role where he utilizes his trade mark menacing glare. Plenty of gore for horror fans, enough of a story line to keep you intrigued and guaranteed to keep you twitchy on the last train home!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Midnight Meat Train [DVD]
The Midnight Meat Train [DVD] by Ryûhei Kitamura (DVD - 2009)
£4.40
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews