Customer Reviews


30 Reviews
5 star:
 (25)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


27 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Felix Mendelssohn: 5 Symphonies; 7 Overtures: Conducted by Claudio Abbado - LSO
This wonderful boxed-set comprises a grand total of 4 CD's featuring Mendelssohn's entire Symphonic output (Nos. 1 - 5), whilst also managing to squeeze in his seven Overtures for good measure. Felix's third Symphony ("Scottish") and fourth Symphony ("Italian") are probably the most widely performed pieces nowadays, but nonetheless it has been quite interesting for me to...
Published on 26 Aug 2012 by Mr R.Martin

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Some frustration.
I bought this as a gift for another person.The interior packaging was poor and damaged(see packaging review) so I decided that it was unsatisfactory as a gift, and kept it for myself. I bought my friend a gift elsewhere.
The music is excellent.
Published 27 days ago by Geraldo


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

27 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Felix Mendelssohn: 5 Symphonies; 7 Overtures: Conducted by Claudio Abbado - LSO, 26 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This wonderful boxed-set comprises a grand total of 4 CD's featuring Mendelssohn's entire Symphonic output (Nos. 1 - 5), whilst also managing to squeeze in his seven Overtures for good measure. Felix's third Symphony ("Scottish") and fourth Symphony ("Italian") are probably the most widely performed pieces nowadays, but nonetheless it has been quite interesting for me to familiarise myself with some of his lesser known works.
If you are reading this review, it is likely that you may well be familiar with some of Mendelssohn's more popular Overtures such as "A Midsummer Night's Dream" or "The Hebrides" (commonly referred to as "Fingal's Cave") for example, whilst not forgetting to mention "Ruy Blas" etc. At the time, the London Symphony Orchestra were at the top of their game under the masterful baton of Claudio Abbado and at no point during exhaustive listening sessions to these exceptional recordings can I find fault with the musical interpretations of these works.
Incidentally, the recording venues were especially chosen for their renowned acoustics by Deutsche Grammophon's exacting sound engineers and include those found at the respective churches of All Saints, Tooting, S.W. London and St. John's, Smith Square central London, as well as Walthamstow's Town Hall in east London. Personally, I would not hesitate for one moment to highly recommend these delightful discs to anyone considering the purchase of Mendelssohn's Symphonic output. In all honesty I regard this boxed-set of CD's as a genuine bargain, because the total cost amounted to just over 14.00 inc P&P, which works out at roughly 3.50 per disc. In conclusion I feel sure you will enjoy these recordings so purchase with absolute confidence.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


101 of 108 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great performances of underrated symphonies, 29 Feb 2004
If youre looking for a set of Mendelssohn symphonies look no further. For your money you get wonderful performances of all the Mendelssohn symphonies plus you get the wondeful overtures, my favourites being the 'trumpet' and 'overure for wind instruments'. If youre not looking for a set of mendelssohn symphonies why not? These have to be some of the most under- rated symphonies in the repertoire. The 'Italian' is the most famous -and Abbado leads a cracking rendition here, however I prefer the superb No. 5 'Reformation'. Not forgetting No. 2 'Lobesgang (Hymm of praise) - a chilled version of Beethoven's Choral. I could go on - but money on this set will not be wasted.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


30 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fine Set for a Small Price!, 31 Dec 2007
By 
David C. Coleman (Birmigham, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Look no further than this for an excellent set of Mendelssohn Symphonies and Overtures, superbly recorded and peformed. Always rather underestimated, in my opinion, compared to Beethoven and Schubert. Shame though, that the text for the "Hymn of Praise" (Symphony Nr 2)is not included in the notes..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mendelsshohn 5 symphonies, 3 Jun 2011
By 
Miss M. Potter "marcia" (england) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Claudio Abbado and the London Symphony Orchestra offer exceptionally stylish and fresh performances of five symphonies by Mendelssohn. The whole set is beautifully recorded.
They had recorded these pieces before but this recording is the recording by Abbado and the LSO that really matters.
Here we get Mendelssohn's mature symphonies plus three overtures and the orchestral arrangement (in shortened form) of the Scherzo from his String Octet.

On this release we get the whole of Symphony No. 2, Lobgesang ("Hymn of Praise"), a few seconds short of 75 minutes.
It must be said that is in this choral symphony the advantage of the wide-ranging digital sound comes out most strikingly, in clarifying the big sound of the choir. At the same time providing extra weight of sound, notably in the way that pedal notes on the organ come over in a rich and realistic way. This is particularly impressive.
As to interpretation, Abbado conveys a keen sense of joy with a wide expressive range.
Abbado uses a slow speed for the Andante that creates a warm but unmannered phrasing. Again, in the choral finale Abbado's speed is a bit more relaxed and the sense of joyful release is strong. Elizabeth Connell is tenderly affecting by being placed slightly at a distance. Then the chorus comes in with even more impact to signal the arrival of day. Earlier, Connell and the second soprano, Karita Mattila, are nicely matched in the duet with chorus, "Ich harrete des Herrn"
The recording helps to give them sweetness just as apt for the music. Hans-Peter Blochwitz's (tenor) is very good with beauty and natural feeling for words and phrasing. And the singing of the London Symphony Chorus is particularly beautiful in the chorale.
In Symphony No.1 the interpretation is tough and biting in the C minor first movement, slower and simpler in the second, returning to a tough, dark manner for the Minuet and finale.

In both the Scottish and Italian Symphonies Abbado is on top form. They are both very good recordings of these popular symphonies. The added Overtures on this disc, bring a fresh and attractive performance here.
The whole package is excellent and this is a release that is good to have in any collection of music by Mendelssohn.
This is a great product. A strong performance and an excellent sound recording.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful, 29 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mendelssohn: 5 Symphonies; 7 Overtures (MP3 Download)
Mendelssohn's symphonies are so lyrical and pleasant to listen to. The Scottish and Italian are performed often, but I found the others also well worth the listen. The performances are excellent. Nothing to say against this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Recording, 12 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Beautifully performed - wonderful sound from the orchestra. I can now listen to Mendelssohn's symphonies with renewed interest. Love the Hebrides Overture at the slower tempo.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mendelssohn Symphonies - Abbado, 28 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Wonderful performances with recordiings to match. The rich tonal quality is an absolute joy to listen to, an improvement over DGG's usual tendency towards be somewhat lean.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb in every way, 19 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mendelssohn: 5 Symphonies; 7 Overtures (MP3 Download)
Apart from Abbado's wonderfully dramatic interpretations of the symphonies, the quality of the recording itself is superb. Enough to convert the strongest critic to Mendelssohn...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Incredible bargain, 7 April 2013
By 
John HOLLAS (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mendelssohn: 5 Symphonies; 7 Overtures (MP3 Download)
I am not a great fan of the Mendelssohn symphonies but, at this price and with Abbado conducting the LSO, it was a bargain not be missed. In addition to the symphonies you get seven Mendelssohn overtures, some of which are not often heard but well worth listening to. Don't miss this compilation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great recordings, 29 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Very good value to get so much music for such a reasonable price. Very fine recordings too - nothing to dislike at all, just enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Mendelssohn: 5 Symphonies; 7 Overtures
Mendelssohn: 5 Symphonies; 7 Overtures by Claudio Abbado and London Symphony Orchestra
Buy MP3 Album10.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews