Customer Reviews


59 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (14)
2 star:
 (13)
1 star:
 (13)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 'WORTH A WATCH'
I was quite surprised that the film had been 'slated' by critics when released and not apparently rated, well i've got to say...i enjoyed the movie.
I found it to be a clever plot with several moments of 'dry' humour, which i for one enjoy.
The plot, an agency tries to steal a mystery formula from another for 'great' financial gain.
Agents 'Ray Kaval'...
Published 4 months ago by rbmusicman

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Director Duplicity
Hmmm, it seems that Tony Gilroy has been watching Soderbergh's Ocean 11 quite frequently. However, this disjointed effort lacks the finesse and (obviously) the originality , in it's hopeful product. A convoluted plot that tries desperately to be clever with an up-beat jazzy score, yes, ala the Ocean' films, which gives the illusion of a sharp witty storyline, but misses...
Published on 24 Aug. 2009 by Samarees Sword


‹ Previous | 1 2 36 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3.0 out of 5 stars Could Have Been So Good, 14 Jun. 2014
This review is from: Duplicity [DVD] (DVD)
It has a great cast and looks fabulous but if you can fathom what is going on here then you are a better person than I am.

Its all a bit convoluted and contrived but the dialogue and interplay between Roberts and Owen is rather great.

But shame about the twisty plot.

It could have been so much better but is still admirable for its effortless style.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Duplicity [DVD], 28 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Duplicity [DVD] (DVD)
Duplicity [DVD] This has already been sold to Magpie! It is a good film with a plot and several twists but not exactly rocket science, and who uses DVD in this day and age.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Quick delivery, good quality dvd, 3 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Duplicity [DVD] (DVD)
The dvd quality is good but the film is a bit disappointing. The ending couldn't have been different but the climax is pretty good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good quality, fast delivery, 29 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Duplicity [DVD] (DVD)
Here are some tips for writing great reviews:
Do explain why you liked or disliked this product.
Do compare to similar products and share how long you've used this product.
Do identify specific attributes (e.g. comfort and fit of a shirt or the battery life of a camera) and whether they met your expectations.
Don't describe your seller or delivery experience (you can do that at amazon.co.uk/feedback).
Don't include promotional content of any kind or reviews written in exchange for compensation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good, 21 Dec. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Duplicity [DVD] (DVD)
Good chick flick for a rainy Sunday afternoon, funny in places but have seen better ones with Julia Roberts in, but worth watching iof you like Clive Owen
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Duplicity, 21 Oct. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Duplicity [DVD] (DVD)
in a word >> Dreadful.
Bought thia because of " Star Cast "
Clive Owen and Julia Roberts
Don't bother! Poor acting even from Clive Owen! Worse script
Save your money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Think it's the worse film I've seen, 29 Aug. 2011
By 
This review is from: Duplicity [DVD] (DVD)
I kept watching just to see where it was all leading, but it was a total waste of time. I really enjoyed 'The Bourne Trilogy' but this is at the other end of the spectrum, completely. I feel a bit better knowing others have felt the same, when I read the reviews on here, as I can usually understand plots etc! I'm wondering if this was an experiment of some kind to see how many people would just not admit they couldn't understand most of it. The synopsis given above cannot relate to this film.
I hired it from the library, but really I should've been paid to watch...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing, 23 Nov. 2010
By 
This review is from: Duplicity [DVD] (DVD)
This film is confusing from the start of the film to the end, a film which is going to be confusing needs to start revealing things to make it easier to follow. When it doesn't it just gets boring.

The storyline has potential but l just couldn't get into this film.

Back and forth in time really doesn't help, you just feel like giving up .. like l did.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Duplicity, 2 Sept. 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Duplicity [DVD] (DVD)
This film is an absolute waste of money, poorly acted,with a disjointed and largely incomprehensible story. Julia Roberts can do so much better whilst Clive Owen is largely overrated. We gave up halfway through and sugest that the money could be spent far better elsewhere. I will be much more careful in selecting my next purchase.Duplicity [DVD] [2009]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 15 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Incomprehensible and mediocre, 11 Feb. 2010
By 
A. Withers (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Duplicity [DVD] (DVD)
Once again we have the usual modern faults - overemphasised background noise/sound effects and actors mumbling their lines so you cant hear what they say. If you turn the volume up to hear the dialogue the next offering of background noise and sound effects blasts you off your seat. again, it appears (a personal opinion only) that the dialogue sound track has been Dolby encoded which means that the sibilants in speech are muffled, making the dialogue difficult to hear.
If anyone can follow the story in this film they have my utter admiration - we are bombarded with constant flashbacks - 3 months ago, 2 weeks ago, one week ago etc. etc. This numerous flashback technique seems to be the latest Hollywood directorial fad; it should be discouraged. Finally, like all modern films, all the photography is very low key - all the scenes appear so dark.
As far as I can remember, on this disc we are spared the usual "You wouldnt steal a handbag" etc sequence - the one you cant fast forward, but I wouldnt swear to it. There also does not appear to be a Maltesers commercial break which is starting to occur in modern DVDs.(Young Victoria for example).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 36 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Duplicity [DVD]
Duplicity [DVD] by Tony Gilroy (DVD - 2010)
£2.72
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews