Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unsurpassed Adagio for Strings
Bernstein's very very broadly paced rendition of Barber's Adagio is still unsurpassed for its almost painful emotional intensity and sublime beauty. When Bernstein takes a risk of extremely slow tempo, the music usually falls apart (the prime example; Elgar's Enigma Variation and Mahler's 2n & 8th), but with 'Adagio', it works! The way strings gradually build up the...
Published on 22 Feb 2010 by Scriabinmahler

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Nearly excellent!
I bought this CD after reading many reviews of different performances of Barber's "Adagio". The really slow tempo of this version works well and enhances the sheer beauty of the work. I cannot, however, agree with a previous reviewer who commented on the excellence of the high crescendo - I find it rather harsh and it is obvious the recording engineers have turned the...
Published on 14 May 2012 by G. Dack


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unsurpassed Adagio for Strings, 22 Feb 2010
By 
Scriabinmahler (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Bernstein's very very broadly paced rendition of Barber's Adagio is still unsurpassed for its almost painful emotional intensity and sublime beauty. When Bernstein takes a risk of extremely slow tempo, the music usually falls apart (the prime example; Elgar's Enigma Variation and Mahler's 2n & 8th), but with 'Adagio', it works! The way strings gradually build up the intensity and gather momentum is simply astounding and the long pause which follows the climax is awe-inspiring.

Rhapsody in Blue, with Bernstein at the piano, is also very impressive, with dazzling piano solo and powerfully expressive orchestra. What a superb pianist Bernstein was! He could have made a career as a concert pianist.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Nearly excellent!, 14 May 2012
By 
G. Dack "Dodge" (Yorkshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I bought this CD after reading many reviews of different performances of Barber's "Adagio". The really slow tempo of this version works well and enhances the sheer beauty of the work. I cannot, however, agree with a previous reviewer who commented on the excellence of the high crescendo - I find it rather harsh and it is obvious the recording engineers have turned the gain up at this point, to perhaps emphasise the passage, as sounds can be heard in the background not dissimilar to the cleaners moving in to the concert hall!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Barber-Adagio for strings, 9 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This album contains three of my favourite works- Adagio for strings, Rhapsody in Blue and America from West Side Story. Absolutely tremendous value and great quality.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Herat Rending, 1 Sep 2013
By 
P. Price "kroshmush" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Bought this music for my Father's funeral. It has an "ethereal" quality to it that really seems to capture the mood of the day. I find it incredibly moving
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Astounding, 21 July 2009
By 
Paul Fletcher (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
The maestro at his best. A chance to hear the results of the scintillating conducting of the legendary Leonard Bernstein with his interpretation of American classics. Most startling are the Symphonic Dances from West Side Story - this is how it should sound! A wonderful CD and a must for any serious music collector.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good service, 4 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Good service and very useful to us just as expected it. we will recommend it to any one to purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars heartwarming selection, 27 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Excellent recording of a great mixture of classics. Some lively and some reflective, but a great selection. Would highly recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant!, 10 July 2013
By 
Mr. Pr Merrett "paulos_1" (Madrid) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This album is a mix of absolutely brilliant ssoft classical music tracks and upbeat musical tracks like the one from the west side story. Buy it!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful, 3 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A marvellous recording, and there is a lot of music on this disc apart from the Barber - it's a whole concert all on its own.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fave piece of music, 28 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Ordered this because I love this piece of music - didn't realise there were other tracks on the cd. Delivered quickly. Recommend this to anyone who likes 'light classical ' music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Gershwin: Rhapsody in Blue / Barber: Adagio for Strings / Bernstein: On the Town; Candide
Gershwin: Rhapsody in Blue / Barber: Adagio for Strings / Bernstein: On the Town; Candide by Israel Philharmonic Orchestra and Leonard Bernstein and Los Angeles Philharmonic
Buy MP3 Album£5.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews