Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A superstar pianist emerges, but there are still signs of immaturity
Lang Lang arrived on the Classical music scene with a bang, sending audiences into raves with his flair and concert mannerisms. He's very popular, but the critics haven't been as enthusiastic. Yet the facts speak for themselves; he's been engaged by the American "Big Five", Berlin, and Vienna. You surely can't fool professional musicians all the time, so isn't there...
Published on 7 April 2012 by Andrew R. Barnard

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Lang Lang
Not his finest performance - it's all rather rushed and doesn't flow with the romance and emotion it deserves.
I'm disappointed
Published 7 months ago by cebegee


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A superstar pianist emerges, but there are still signs of immaturity, 7 April 2012
By 
Andrew R. Barnard (Leola, Pa United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Lang Lang arrived on the Classical music scene with a bang, sending audiences into raves with his flair and concert mannerisms. He's very popular, but the critics haven't been as enthusiastic. Yet the facts speak for themselves; he's been engaged by the American "Big Five", Berlin, and Vienna. You surely can't fool professional musicians all the time, so isn't there some substance to his playing?

The Tchaikovsky 1st isn't underplayed, so it's imperative the Lang Lang says something new of his own. Thankfully, he has strong orchestral support with Barenboim and Chicago, so everything looks promising. Lang Lang has a strong technique and he seems like a show-off on stage, but what is instantly striking about his interpretation is how sensitive he is. This is first apparent when he enters with those glorious, whamming D-flat chords. He plays them almost gently, not with reckless abandon. It works, but why couldn't he take advantage of the heroic potential? Moving through the rest of the work, it seems that Lang Lang is going for a reflective approach. Barenboim shares his vision, and while Chicago sounds mighty, the music lacks drive. Lang Lang wallows in the beauty of the piece, often trying to dazzle listeners through surprises in phrasing and dynamics. For example, in the finale, he gives strong accents to some of the chords in the opening theme while fluctuating freely. It's a relief to find a pianist who actually tries to say something, but the whole effort sounds fussed over.

The Mendelssohn 1st isn't as familiar as the Tchaikovsky but it's popular nonetheless. Once again, both Lang Lang and Barenboim go for a meditative approach. Our Chinese superstar wants us to know that he's able to produce beautiful lyricism. He certainly can, but it doesn't sound genuine. The music doesn't have momentum and sometimes it nearly drags. This is the kind of interpretation that offers wonderful details and glorious playing, but its overall effect is vague. I would love to hear more of Mendelssohn's youthfulness, more sunniness. And while Lang Lang's playing is beautiful, it doesn't sound natural. But all the same, it's clear that Lang Lang does have personality. The music never lapses into blandness.

It's apparent that Lang Lang has talent. He tries to showcase sensitivity in this disc and succeeds, but it ends up sounding forced. I enjoyed every moment I spent listening to this disc, but Lang Lang has room to grow.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful playing, 30 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Land Lang has his own unique way of interpreting this music and his has achieved excellent results. I love this CD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A magnificent performance - the best available today, 29 Dec 2008
Lang Lang is probably the best interpreter of this signature piano concerto alive today. Anyone who has heard Lang Lang perform this piece live (as I did) will know that his rendition will rouse an audience with a passion and power that is second to none. Fortunately, the CD also captures this in a wonderful recording conducted by Daniel Barenboim in which the fortes are magnificent, the pianos are tender and the phrasing is utterly precise and smooth at the same time. For me, this recording redefined the way I expect to hear Tchaikowsky's First Piano Concerto, and is the standard against which I compare all other interpretations.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Lang Lang, 21 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Not his finest performance - it's all rather rushed and doesn't flow with the romance and emotion it deserves.
I'm disappointed
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars LOVELY RECORDING!, 27 Nov 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Lang Lang's recordings are such a joy to listen to - after many years of listening to other musicians, his music has a vitality that reaches you in a unique way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 10 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars No, no. Definitely not this way, 22 July 2011
By 
Oyarsa (Madrid, ES) - See all my reviews
This is the first performance from Lang Lang that I hear and I'm sorry to say that it will be the last.

The Tchaikovsky concerto sounds to me as if the performer had some problem with the piano. For the lively passages he seems to be pounding the keys instead of playing them (if you know what I mean) and for the solo parts at some point he displays slowness near boredom instead of subtle playing.

I will listen to his Mendelssohn some other day... when my ears have recovered from this experience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars WOW !, 1 May 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Tchaikovsky / Mendelssohn: First Piano Concertos

.I have many piano concerti etc. but this one is by far my favourite.It`s the only one where the piano can be heard as it should be, not drowned out. This is my third Lang Lang album and certainly not my last.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Present, 9 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I bought it as a present for my father. It arrived very quickly and was well packed to protect it.
He was very pleased with the contents of the CD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lanlg Lang & Tchaikovsky piano connncerto No.1, 5 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a very enjoyable performance and recording. I consider it to be superior to many of the other recordings currently available.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Genius, 4 Feb 2013
By 
T. D. Austin - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Classic Lang Lang if you like classcal Piano you will love this.And he is surely at his best on this Album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews