Customer Reviews


28 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars New fan
Brilliant brilliant CD! As a new convert to Seasick Steve after seeing him on Jules Holland show can't rate this character high enough - a mixture of rough and ready hobo and blues with his own distinctive sound - different but sheer magic!
Published on 8 Jun 2009 by Mrs. J. M. Hodgkinson

versus
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars recording quality not great
I really liked Dog House music so tried this. Part of Steve's charm is the "authentic" level of recording, but in this cd the sound quality on some tracks goes too far. If you haven't tried SS before suggest you try Dog House Music or I started out with nothin first.
Published on 10 Jun 2009 by Yorkie


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars New fan, 8 Jun 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cheap (Audio CD)
Brilliant brilliant CD! As a new convert to Seasick Steve after seeing him on Jules Holland show can't rate this character high enough - a mixture of rough and ready hobo and blues with his own distinctive sound - different but sheer magic!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


56 of 60 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Seasick Steve - Cheap, 13 Jun 2007
By 
T. Baker (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Cheap (Audio CD)
Raw, honest and stunning. Hobo blues at its best. Buy this, crack a beer (or a few)and I bet you can't stop bits of you moving.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


62 of 69 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Grungey, get-down punk blues, 14 Jun 2007
This review is from: Cheap (Audio CD)
I'm one of the people who saw Seasick Steve before he was on the Jools Holland show (boast, boast). Back when he played with the amazing rhythm section, the Level Devils from Sweden. This is ferocious, tuneful and funky. Like being a t a real juke-joint but with a punky modern feel as well. Get this as well as Dog House music and you won't be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The mans a genius, 2 Nov 2010
By 
Mr. Norman G. Morton "Namron" (Cornwall,UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cheap [Explicit] (MP3 Download)
Going to be getting more of Steves stuff, Ecellent bare roots Blues at Great prices & by a man that Knows what the blues are all about. Hard to believe the sounds he can make that 3 string Guitar make :-)..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


36 of 43 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars There ain't no f*@!king jazz here!, 11 Aug 2007
By 
G. Francis "Hywel Dda" (Wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Cheap (Audio CD)
As I listen to this I'm driving to the Brecon Jazz festival. Here the jazz can range from heavy to funky but one pub there plays rock and blues all weekend in the face of all that jazz. This album make me feel like I'm there already - foot tapping, hip sswinging, real funky rocking blues. Brilliant!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars never mind the 'experts' this guy is solid gold., 15 Dec 2008
By 
V. Wilson - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Cheap (Audio CD)
I have all SSS's albums and I don't suggest even by implication that I am an expert in the blues genre of music. But I do go back to a few generations ago and SSS is the most exciting guy I have heard in a long time. It seems like loads of psued's have jumped onto this guy's bandwagon and they do to pretend to be experts a lot of them make me want to 'whooff'. Talk about pretentious!!!!! Just listen to the man and his music. You will love it or hate it, but I think you will love it. Try him,love him, buy him. You won't get any better!!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars recording quality not great, 10 Jun 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cheap (Audio CD)
I really liked Dog House music so tried this. Part of Steve's charm is the "authentic" level of recording, but in this cd the sound quality on some tracks goes too far. If you haven't tried SS before suggest you try Dog House Music or I started out with nothin first.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars 3 string guitars, 25 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cheap (Audio CD)
think this guy is just brilliant plays his music from the heart and always with a smile on his face good collection of tunes and great sound as always belted out from his home made geetaars
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Story time, 18 Nov 2013
By 
Gary G (Liverpool, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cheap (Audio CD)
I love this album. The whole package just works. The songs, the stories, the sound quality. It all makes for a really good listen that feels so authentically rough around the edges that it... rocks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 30 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cheap (Audio CD)
Seasick Steve at his best. Just love this man's music, This an early recording with his original band and is superb
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xfef7018)

This product

Cheap [Explicit]
Cheap [Explicit] by Seasick Steve
Buy MP3 Album4.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews