Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars20
4.2 out of 5 stars
Format: MP3 Download|Change
Price:£5.49
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 11 January 2016
what you see is what you get.. good choice!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 May 2016
They have done better albums to be honest
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 April 2001
Apsolutely brilliant, unforgettable, still the same, still Mogwai, but different, new, quiet and loud, crazy. In a word, perfect.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 May 2001
Mogwai add to their previous demonstration of powerful and intelligently crafted music with the release of "Rock Action". The follow up to CODY and YOUNG TEAM, is an example of an evolved and more polished Mogwai, with experimental tracks such as "sinewave", "robot chant" and "2 rights make 1 wrong" which contain electronically driven elements, and a more vocal side demonstrated in "Dial: revenge"(which features Gruff Rhys), "OI sleep" and "secret pint".
The urban-distortion and soft/loud structure (used only in the track "You don't know jesus") from the previous albums has been replaced with a more restrained style. This is evident in the song "take me somewhere nice" which provokes thought, drawing emotion through the highly orchestraited, harmonization.This song could stand alone as a main reason to buy this CD.
However,although this CD shows the possible peak of mogwai's musical creativity, the CD is perhaps too brief an example at only 8 tracks and 38 minutes long.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 November 2001
As a brand new fan of Mogwai I would like to destroy the rumour that Rock Action is only for existing fans who have other Mogwai albums. And why not kill two birds with the one stone and say that 38 minutes is perfect!
I bought this CD a day after buying their EP+6, that's how impressive Mogwai are! When I got home and played it I was immersed, all the time trying to pin down why this is such an great album to listen to... the feeling and style of the album changes from Trent Reznor downard sprial to Sigur Ros aural landscapes, Mike Oldfield heights to... dare I say it ...Nick Drake depths. They manage this and more without the feeling you've heard it already, creating music that is truly original and very enjoyable.
As for the 38 minutes... didn't the Beatles make it big with albums shorter than this?! And need I mention that there is not a single 'clunker' to be found?!
I took a chance buying Mogwai without hearing them first, I have been burned before, but after listening to the songs for a solid 4 days I wouldn't have a world without this music!
Enjoy!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 February 2015
Great
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 May 2001
i agree with the guy who wrote that cody was too long, although i must say they could have extended this to, say, 50 minutes. robot chant could have made a whole track of blistering feedback, and o i sleep should've been a full length song or not there at all. other than that i have no complaints, sine wave is hardly an attention grabber at the beginning but it grows on you. dial:revenge is the best mogwai song ever. i expected it to sound like super furries, but it doesn't because it retains the mogwai sound and keeps the vocals in the background. the long songs are not too long, and good enough to keep you interested. what an album.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 June 2002
this album is sometimes pointed out as too short, but it really doesn't matter as the quality of this album is enough reason to love this album. the noise sampling in the first track; sine wave is quite hypnotic, and produces an angry feel but leaves you in a dreamy state. hearing the first track will tell you immediately that you have a good album in your hands. by the time i'd heard 2 rights make 1 wrong i was obsessed, the song takes you from a sweet guitar riff, into a drum beat that mirrors the guitar in a way that seems perfect, by the end of the song you are listening to banjos, strings, horns, and choral meodies, the song is amazing, i bought the album after hearing it, and this song was reason enough honestly. the album is finished with secret pint, again, amazing, a great song that wallows in mogwai's typically indy sound.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 May 2001
More like their last EP than the albums - and better for it. Mellow with more textures but still has the energy bubbling underneath.
However, although Rock Action is a great album, it doesn't quite reach the heights and intensity of Canada's Godspeed You Black Emperor
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 May 2001
If quiet is the new loud, kill me now. This new "EP" by Mogwai, the so called "Rock Action" was meant to propel their underground genius into the mainstream. "Rock Action" is a collection of boring recordings that are quite simply, nothing compared to the post-rock masterpieces of the previous albums. The album is far too short compared to previous releases (hence, my EP title) and thank the lord almighty for I have been saved. For those looking for Mogwai to repeat their "success" of Come On Die Young and are looking for more tunes like "Christmas Steps", "Ex Cowboy", "Kappa" and even the sublime "Mogwai fear Satan" from their first UK Album "Young Team", they will be disappointed. There is just quiet textures, no melody and Stuart Braithwaite trying to sing. Oh dear oh dear oh dear. The single "Take Me Somewhere Nice" is by far the best track and only because of the guitar riff in the back ground. On "Dial:Revenge", Gruff Rhys of SFA sounds as if he is dying to get out the studio and Robot Chant is one of those songs that bands just put on an album to make it 40 minutes long. Is this post "Post Rock"? A Message to Stuart Braithwaite, leave the textures to "Godspeed you Black Emperor!!!", leave the singing to David Gray and most certainly, plug those amplifiers back in. Go back to what you know lads - go back to what you know.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)