Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
46
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: MP3 Download|Change
Price:£5.49
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 23 September 2001
2001 saw Paul Weller embark on an accoustic tour of Europe, USA and eventually the UK. Contained on this album are the definitive live versions from this tour collected. What makes this album unique is that Weller returns to his past, something he has never liked to do before. What the listener gets is unique versions of classics like Town Called Malice and English Rose from his Jam back catalogue and Headstart for Happiness and Down in the Seine from his Style Council past. This is Weller presenting his songs unplugged and in the raw, he has added new sparkle to old classics, breathed new life into some great songs. Live albums never sounded so good!
0Comment| 48 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 October 2001
This album is a faithful record of Weller's recent accoustic tours. It finds the man in good humour and equally good voice as he dips into his extensive back catalogue. At last he has started to embrace the calls for Jam and Style Council numbers, realising that far from being a millstone around his neck, they should be celebrated. And celebrated they are; English Rose, Down in the Seine, Headstart for Happiness, That's Entertainment and Town Called Malice sound fresh and sit well alongside the solo material. Talking of which, this is fully explored from the sublime Above the Clouds from his eponomous solo debut through to the equally sublime Love-Less from last year's Heliocentric. Along the way clasics singles such as You Do Something to Me and Wild Wood are surrounded by popular B-sides and stripped down versions of album tracks. I've always wanted Weller to do this kind of tour, and this album will serve as a lasting tribute to the fact that it was a brave but ultimately rewarding idea. Now that's entertainment.
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 December 2005
I've owned Days of Speed for three years and never tire of it - it's easily the most played CD in my collection. Most of the songs sound better live - and from Weller's mature chords - than they do on the studio albums. There are many stand outs but Science and English Rose in particular are real gems. I read Amazon's review and what a pile of old bollocks from the maudlin git who wrote it. If you only ever get one Weller album, make it this one. But once you've bought it, I doubt you'll be able to stop at just one and you'll soon be back for the entire discography. Disclaimer: I'm a sad old Weller freak and own just about anything the man has ever produced.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 October 2001
This album reviews the best of Wellers releases in a live set. It is a very good recording considering its live, but you cant expect any less from Weller. It is for certian, for Weller maniacs only. If you like "Wild Wood Live" you will like "Days Of Speed. It kicks off with "Out of the Sinking" an excellent place to start. Weller mixes up his tracks fromm past and previous albums. "A town called Malice" is a superurb up to date version of Weller singing live with his husky voice and guitar skills. Theres no heavy drum and bass, just Weller and his trusty guitar . It has more of his solo tracks on rather than past Style Council and Jam. Would've been nice if he had done a double album with a GIANT mixture of upto date remixes of present and past songs. My favorite has to be "clues" and "My English Rose". All of the tracks are brilliant. But if your not a Weller fan I suggest you buy some original Weller solo cd's first. Wild Wood is a good place to start or Paul Weller.
Overall a brilliant album. I just hope its not his last.
xxxRachel Houghton, Cumbria xxx
0Comment| 19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 February 2004
I agree with the reviewer who thought that some of the other reviewers must have been listening to a different album to Wings of Speed. It must also rank as one of my favourite albums. The bad sound quality mentioned by some reviewers as far as im concerned doesn't exist. Wellers guitar and singing is crystal clear throughout and the only time you hear the crowd is occasionally during the chorus or at the end of each song, which is a vast improvement on most other live albums I've ever heard. As for the songs sounding samey I would again disagree, of course the songs have the same sound on this album because they are all played on an acoustic guitar without accompaniment, but to say songs like 'Thats Entertainment' and 'English Rose' sound the same is to push the point too far. Indeed Paul Wellers singing and playing are on top form on the album. Overall the album is excellent and a must for any Paul Weller fan.
11 comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 November 2001
This album, is a sheer, outstanding, Weller Classic. One way or another, anyone who cant hear that, has, in MY OPINION (of course I'm allowed to be as subjective as the main reviewer here) no ear for music at all.
THIS ALBUM IS A MUST HAVE ADDITION, to the entire Weller armoury of musical warfare..., and anyone who misses out because of the shallow, and somewhat deaf opinions above, is gonna regret not hearing the acoustic versions of all their favourites. Each track has been selectively and carefully put down onto a tiny disk of plastic for your aureal pleasure..... this one is great - GO BUY IT NOW!!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
`Days of Speed' is probably one of my favourite Weller albums. You get an amazing selection of his tracks performed live and acoustic and this format really does them full justice. This album has a stripped back, almost intimate feel about it and from the opening few bars of `Brand New Start' you know you are in for a real treat. The renditions of `English Rose', `Science' and `Wildwood' are outstanding, but to be honest this whole album is great and every track blends seamlessly into the next and you feel yourself relax into the music until it envelops you. The audience reaction and approval is fully evident and adds to the overall atmosphere of the CD. To be honest I never really `got' what the fuss about Weller was all about and then I heard this album and everything clicked into place. This is a brilliant live album and is well worth giving a try if you're a fan of his previous work or not.

Feel free to check out my blog which can be found on my profile page.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 February 2002
Right I've been a Weller fan ever since I picked up Wild Wood all them years ago and have bought most of his stuff from the Jam and The Style Council and his other solo releases. Saw him on Jools Holland show do his set and was amazed as well to how beautiful the songs were crafted together and when stripped down to accoustic were even more magical. I guess I just wanted Days of Speed to be like that but its not, the songs themselves I was not disapointed with, its the sound, I've seen him live and have been blown away but this just doesn't work for some reason, too much of the crowds input in it which when your there thats fine cause its all part of it but here it seems to override out the songs and you miss their magic. I don't blame Paul, I blame the producer really, just could of been recorded better. I guess I have these high standards cause of his back catalogue which always delivered. Not the greatest live album by a long way which I'm sorry to say.
Phil Dalton
11 comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 August 2006
Mr Weller's songwriting credentials are not up for question in most quarters. What has troubled many of late has been the trudging, stodgy, wholegrain guitar music that has been churned out in both the studio and on the stage in the last 10 or so years.

"Days of Speed" showcases a run of fine songs delivered with soul, simplicity and just an acoustic guitar for backing.

Songs like "Everything Has A Price..." and "The Loved" shine up as great songs in this context.

Well worth a listen.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 November 2001
Days Of Speed is a great achievement. It is not only a collection of some of Paul Weller's best songs, (though I'm sure fans can think of some that are missing) it has captured the spirit of his live performances. As the old cliche goes Paul is like fine wine which has got better through the years, though this is not to say his classics (Town called Malice, Happiness) do not match up to his latest hits. The album is a true reflection of a great songwriter, singer and performer.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)