Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Zoot suits you
"Living in a Magazine", their debut from two years ago was a hit-and-miss affair: too much Hall & Oates and not enough Yazoo. With teir second offering, Zoot Woman have managed to strike the perfect balance between cheesy retro-electronica and sheer melodic brilliance (in a perfect pop world, "Grey Day" would be a massively huge hit. Well, maybe it will !). Actually all...
Published on 26 Sep 2003 by Eric Perbet

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Autumnal electro..Noughties style
Stuart Price and his bandmates return here with another polished and well packaged electro-rock album.Guitars infringe only slightly on the sound of nu-eighties beats and mournful downbeat lyrics.Nothing quite as brilliant as "Living in a Magazine" this is an older,wiser companion to that frisky,nostaligic debut.Still this is the best electonic based album out of England...
Published on 9 Oct 2003


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Autumnal electro..Noughties style, 9 Oct 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Zoot Woman (Audio CD)
Stuart Price and his bandmates return here with another polished and well packaged electro-rock album.Guitars infringe only slightly on the sound of nu-eighties beats and mournful downbeat lyrics.Nothing quite as brilliant as "Living in a Magazine" this is an older,wiser companion to that frisky,nostaligic debut.Still this is the best electonic based album out of England this year and well worth the cash,the first four tracks alone are amazing!.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Zoot suits you, 26 Sep 2003
By 
Eric Perbet (Paris, France) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Zoot Woman (Audio CD)
"Living in a Magazine", their debut from two years ago was a hit-and-miss affair: too much Hall & Oates and not enough Yazoo. With teir second offering, Zoot Woman have managed to strike the perfect balance between cheesy retro-electronica and sheer melodic brilliance (in a perfect pop world, "Grey Day" would be a massively huge hit. Well, maybe it will !). Actually all the tracks are winners: "Taken it All", "Gem", "Hope in the Mirror" (hints of The Cure's "Let's Go to Bed" clearly show in the latter) are great dance/pop tracks similar to those that graced the british Charts in the early 80's. "Calmer" is a spacey sort of instrumental and "Maybe Say" has a melancholy touch to it.
This CD is definitely one of the minor masterpieces of the year.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pure pop bliss that's brilliant to clean the house to, 8 Jan 2004
This review is from: Zoot Woman (Audio CD)
I don't know what the other reviewers are going on about the 1st 4 songs - yes they are amazing, but so is the rest of the album. I defy anyone with legs not to start dancing to Woman Wonder. Faux retro, faux French, real genius. Zoot Woman we love you!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Zoot Woman II: older and wiser, 8 Oct 2003
By 
Matt Sephton (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Zoot Woman (Audio CD)
I've loved their first album, Living In A Magazine for a couple of years now, and picked this one up as soon as I saw it. I'd not even heard the single Grey Day.
I was not disappointed, as this is an older and wiser Zoot Woman which is no bad thing. The music is not necessarily any better or worse than their previous offering - it's just different. More mature and slightly darker, which is perfect for the coming winter.
Still based around a distinctive 80s synth sound, the melodies and lyrics here are less Hall & Oates and a little more modern electro/pop. I expect this was to avoid the criticisms the first album received about it being "too 80s". It took a while for people to get the first alum, but for me this is far more immediate.
On last listen I can only count three slightly below-par tracks on the album (3,6,8) which goes to show the overall quality of the album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars this band are brilliant, 1 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Zoot Woman (Audio CD)
its like stepping out of the horrid sounds of today and into the great stuff of the early underground electronics of the 80s
another great album
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb synth pop, 2 Nov 2003
By 
Jay M "jay_mc" (Dublin, Ireland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Zoot Woman (Audio CD)
Zoot Woman really get into first gear with this album. I can't understand previous reviews stating that this is a below-par follow up to 'Living in a Magazine'. For me, this album is much better than their previous one.
My reasons are, the first four songs on this album are breathtaking. They are high quality synth pop tracks, but what is more significant is that it shows a level of consistency not shown on 'Living...'. To have four songs of such class following each other is quite an achievement in the modern music world.
'Hope in the Mirror' is pure genius, and the bass line is just so catchy!
In fact there are no really poor songs on this album, apart from track six, 'Woman Wonder', which is dire.
Whereas 'Living...' was more laid-back, Hall and Oates-esque, this album has more depth to it. Johnny Blake's voice sounds better with the more bass-heavy, percussion-busy songs on this album. There are more guitars on this album too. The instrumental 'Calmer' is one of the best tracks I've heard this year.
Zoot Woman are the best group out there representing the style of 80's music, but what is more, they bring their own touch of the 21st Century to the mix too, rather than just harking totally back to the 80's.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Stuff, 31 Dec 2003
By 
This review is from: Zoot Woman (Audio CD)
I heard 'Grey Day' for the first time on an online radio and was immediately hooked. Having bought this album I was not disappointed. I am not usually a fan of eighties synth style music, but the combination of upbeat tracks and some more soulful tunes reminded me of French albums like Phoenix's 'United', and Etienne de Crecy's 'Tempovision', both of which I would strongly advise if you haven't already checked them out. If you are interested in the Wall of Sound label then have a look at Roykspopp and Black Twang.
Some of the tracks on this are weaker than others, and the first four or five on the album are the strongest (hence four rather than 5 stars), but it does work well overall. If you like it, then have a look at their first album, 'Living in a Magazine' particularly the title track and the first one, both of which have very cool videos (check out french tv) and really define this band for me. It's not always good to compare albums, and the differences between the styles of music may reflect maturity. I think the tracks on this album do have a more distinct and strong style than its predecessor. Nevertheless I prefer that album, hence the comparsion! "I've got a feeling, it's automatic!"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Zoot woman ll become a legend, eventually..., 8 Feb 2006
By A Customer
This review is from: Zoot Woman (Audio CD)
This album rocks. Listen to this loud alone late at night with some good sound system, damn I have to dance by myself and join them with electric guitar... Too bad though they are not as impressive during their concerts. Doesnt matter its electro and fits perfectly my parties. And last thing, the girls are so sexy when dancing on this ;)
DJ for oldies
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Zoot Woman
Zoot Woman by Zoot Woman
Buy MP3 Album£6.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews