Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Shop now Learn more Shop Men's Shop Women's

Customer Reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars30
4.2 out of 5 stars
Format: MP3 Download|Change
Price:£5.49
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 19 January 2007
Yes absoulutely fabulous.Clever lyrics,superb tunes,interesting song structures(well what else would you expect from Gomez) all add up to make a really great album.I cannot think of any track on this CD that doesnt make me smile. On some of their previous albums i think they try a little too hard.Here the music flows with ease.Buy it.You wont be disappointed.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 August 2008
Undoubtedly the poorest Gomez album to date. It really lacks the energy of the earlier stuff. As a long time fan, I was really looking forward to this, but it seems that they got out of the wrong side of the bed the morning they started recording this. It really screams "we want to please as many people as possible, and sell more records in America" through it radio-friendliness. There are a few good tracks on the album, but it is far outweighed by some poor showings in paricularly the very chronic girlshapedlovedrug, which resonates of some commercial one-hit wonder pop band trying to make it!!
If this is the only Gomez album you own, don't fret, the earlier stuff it absolutley rockin'. Buy that and you won't be sorry.
I only hope that for the bands next outing they can turn it around to their former selves. I'm really looking forward to seeing them at the Electric Picnic, but I hope that there is not too much material from this album.
11 comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 May 2007
The reviews so far have very muched summed up my feeling for this fantastic album. Gomez were hailed as the next big thing upon their breakthrough in 1998, and lived up to it with a strikingly unique debut album. After the release of the follow up, Liquid Skin (and the equally brilliant Machismo EP), they went through a sticky patch which eventually culminated in the release in 2004 of Split The Difference, which is largely considered their worst effort to date (only a few tracks save it from being truly dire). An interesting live album followed, along with a Best Of that had all the hallmarks of a record company cash in. They finally released their follow in in How We Operate.

Then came How We Operate, their fifth album proper. The collection is bursting with life, and is indicative of a band rejuvinated after a long period of seemingly being lost. One feels that they were beginning to feel slightly oppressed by their previous record deal, for one reason or another. However, spurred on by an ever loyal fan base (which is constantly expanding across the pond), they've pulled off a career saving album. It's not just the fact that its full of top notch songs (Girlshapedlovedrug, See The World and the title track spring to mind), but its the way they are delivered and captured that make it really special. It evokes a passion that has been sadly missing in their recent efforts, and their self-belief is once again evident.

Whilst it does have its flaws - Hamoa Beach represents a lazy rehash of Doves track There Goes The Fear - nothing can spoil the party. As long as they keep producing albums of this standard and quality, and don't lose the passion they so evidently now have in abundance, they will be around for a long time yet.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 March 2016
Not as good as some of Gomez's other work but I'm biased as followed them from the start & purely for that reason i gave it 4 out of 5 but it's still worthy of being in anyone's collection especially if your a Gomez fan .
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 August 2006
I am an ardent Gomez fan and have been for many a year and I was driven to write this due to the remarkable comments made in the aforementioned review.

This album will be loved by any Gomez fan, and any fan of good music. The production of the album, the first studio production since a label switch, really shows them in a less complicated more pixiesque light. Gomez still have everything - great melodies, great harmonies, great blues, and they still kick ass live. This album is yet another containing numerous tracks that absolutely ROCK on the stage! Look, JUST BUY IT!
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 November 2006
This great album reminds me of why I started listening to Gomez in the first place. It's up there with Bring it on. For anybody new to the band it's a perfect introduction.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 June 2006
Basically, Gomez have recorded the soundtrack to Summer 2006. And it seems like they did it quite effortlessly, whilst sharing a glass of pink champagne with a dolphin.

What a stunning album. Breathless and beautiful in equal measure, with a big dollop of crunch every now and then to make sure you don't drift off.

I say old chap, I think you should get it!
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 June 2006
What a cracking album from a band that I was steadily losing interest in. Highly recommended...I'm so glad to see that the boys are back on form.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 June 2006
It's always difficult listening to new material by one of your favourite bands. The anticipation and expectation often end up exceeding the delivery on first listening, and this was certainly the case with How We Operate. But after a few more takes, I've found some great moments and classic Gomez magic in this album.

I agree with the previous reviewer that the Country & Western influence is fairly obvious in a couple of the tracks, and not being a C&W fan these were the tracks that I least liked (See The World, Hamoa Beach, Chasing Ghosts With Alcohol & Don't Make Me Laugh).

But there's still plenty here to please both the hardcore Gomez fan as well as the occasional listener. The opener, Notice, is a song of real beauty, rolling back the years to recall Tijuana Lady from the debut Bring It On. The title track, featuring Ben's trademark vocal, has the catchy, live-favourite qualities of the classic Get Myself Arrested. The single, Girlshapedlovedrug, sounding a little like early Razorlight (Golden Touch anyone ?), is an obvious single release although Gomez haven't always released the most obvious singles in the past - e.g. Sweet Virginia from the fantastic Split The Difference ! The opening bars of Tear Your Love Apart are very Libertinesque, but then jumps around between styles (with the refrain being overly-poppy for my liking), a very confused production.

Every Gomez album has it's opus (think Rie's Wagon, Buena Vista, In Our Gun) and Charley Patton Songs is this album's offering. A melancholy vocal over a bubbling tune with echos of imperial chinese melodies thrown in for good measure - it's a masterpiece !

Woman! Man! is another of those tracks that promises much, clever lyrics and smart direction but for me it's horribly let down by the 'sha la la' refrain; listen for yourself and see what you think. All Too Much features the most Pixies-like rock'n'roll moments on this album, probably the most obvious hint of Gil Norton's hand on the controls. Cry On Demand, the penultimate track, is a classic Gomez hotchpotch of a track (think Chicken Out) featuring changes of style, tempo, direction and an annoyingly catchy bit of whistling, but it seems to work in the way that only Gomez seem to be able to pull off.

All in all this is not my favourite Gomez album, but it's got enough of their trademark brilliance, even though only in patches, to make it a must have for anyone who's liked any of the previous FIVE Gomez albums. Don't take my word for it, invest a tenner (or less on Amazon !) and see for yourself.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 April 2012
The album is a great listen, so many fab tracks. I love playing this in the car or out running.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)