Customer Reviews


61 Reviews
5 star:
 (44)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Chilled Electronica To Touch Your Soul
I purchased this album on its original release in 2001 and can safely say that 16 months later it is still fantastic - one of the best albums I've bought in the last 10 years.
Chilled electronic music from Norway is nothing new, Biosphere was creating glacial ambient music as far back as the early 90s. Royksopp differ as their take on chilled electronica is born out...
Published on 10 Feb 2003 by sensoria

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars not as kicking as their live gigs but still good chillout
I bought this album after seeing them support Basement Jaxx at the Brixton Academy. Their set was kicking, with live drumming (on electric drums obviously), and that led to me being very disappointed with the album at first. But forgetting the live stuff and listening to it over and over again I found myself getting sucked into it as a chillout album. Really nice happy...
Published on 5 Feb 2002


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Chilled Electronica To Touch Your Soul, 10 Feb 2003
By 
This review is from: Melody A.M. (Audio CD)
I purchased this album on its original release in 2001 and can safely say that 16 months later it is still fantastic - one of the best albums I've bought in the last 10 years.
Chilled electronic music from Norway is nothing new, Biosphere was creating glacial ambient music as far back as the early 90s. Royksopp differ as their take on chilled electronica is born out of much warmer and organic vibes; you can almost smell the autumnal pine of a Norwegian forest in these tracks!
This is electronic music that both touches the soul and warms the heart. At times so beautiful you want to weep and at others a little funky that you smile with excited pleasure.
Unusual for an album coming from the chill-out genre, most of the tracks here avoid 10 minute self indulgence and noodly muso tinkering! Excellenty produced and mixed to perfection, Melody AM is now the benchmark for all chilled electronica albums to be measured by!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Who needs prozac!, 20 Jan 2004
This review is from: Melody A.M. (Audio CD)
If it wasn't for this album. my hair would have gone grey or fallen out simple as that! This time last year i was stressed out big time working hard on the final year of my degree. Suffering nervous exhaustion, i started to find that gettin hammered wasn't helping the stress go away anymore. I bought Melody AM and all my stresses were lifted gently out of my body and thrown aggressively out of the window of my grotty student house. It's wonderful, full of electronic melodies that make your mind deflate and just let it wonder over hills and oceans. In Space, is a perfect example of feeling like you are drifting on a boat, further out to sea and not caring one little bit.
It's not really a chillout album, but somehow it amazingly manages to make you feel happy and relaxed. Wouldn't be sane now if i hadn't bought it. So if you feel depressed or stressed or both, don't bother with doctors. Just prescribe yourself Melody AM by Royksopp and within the hour you will be feelin on top again, guaranteed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great stuff, 20 Feb 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Melody A.M. (Audio CD)
Scandenavia has been traditionally good for three things - safe cars, quality vodka and classy porn. Not music. Except the Wannadies and the Cardigans (kind of destroyed my own point there...) Anyway, then, within the space of a year, two stunning bands come thundering out of the frozen hinterland like proverbial Viking ships on a mission of plunder. There's the wonderful Kings of Convieniance and now - Röyksopp.
Melody A.M. sounds like 7am on New Years Day. That may well be when I heard it first and therefore is a bit of a personal allagory to be using but I think it gives the correct impression. Melody A.M. sounds, well... it's not quite ambient, its not quite house. Think Air with a big furry jacket. Think Burt Bacharach on a big happy come down with a steaming mug of hot chocolate.
You may well recognise the superb second track 'Eple' from an ad on the telly at the moment (the name escapes me, anti-perspirant may welll be involved I'm nearly sure...). 'Poor Leno' is another standout, all house beats and soaring vocodery vocals.
Röyksopp are one to watch. Melody A.M. is one to get. Essential stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


30 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful first album, 23 Dec 2001
By 
Colin Neal (Reading, Berkshire. England United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Melody A.M. (Audio CD)
This has to be my favourite album of the year and I've only just discovered it. There isn't a bad track on the album. It's along the lines of Air, Daft Punk, Lemon Jelly, and a little bit of Bjorkness thrown in for good measure. It's best described as chill-out dance, with a couple of tracks benefiting from some romantic vocals. There's even a Jarre sample in there; the production values are top notch.
I don't normally agree when magazines vote an album as their album of the month, but in this case Royksopp deserve those accolades. Most of the pieces are around 4 minutes long except "Royksopp's night out" which is as grand as a Propellerheads James Bond style track and twice as funky. If you're into the Wall of Sound or Warp record labels, this album is unquestionably for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars MELODY AM,PM OR ANYTIME!!, 1 Nov 2001
This review is from: Melody A.M. [VINYL] (Vinyl)
Initially I bought this album on the basis of 'EPLE' and a plug from the '$OLID STEEL' radio show.But i got more.. so much more...The playful melodies & melancholic chords on trax like 'SPARKS' and the beautiful 'REMIND ME' soar the spirits & can soothe an aching heart/soul.Listenable anytime to me. Not only AM! A MUST BUY!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


43 of 47 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Even better than sliced bread?, 25 Feb 2002
By 
sensoria@tiscali.co.uk (The Peoples Republic of Modesville) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Melody A.M. (Audio CD)
Forget The Orb in their early 90's heyday or Air when they were taking safari's to the moon...Royksopp have, in "Melody A.M." produced the finest chill-out album ever.
I first encountered Royksopp when they remixed fellow Norwegians Kings Of Convenience (check out their "Versus" remix album for the fanatstic Royksopp remix) and fell in love with their mellow beats and melodic vibes. Thankfully, "Melody A.M." carries on in similar vein (even with vocals on 2 tracks from one half of Kings Of Convenience).
Unlike many chill-out albums, most tracks here are kept to sub 5 minutes in length...no mind numbing meanderings or over-indulgencies here! As a result your attention is kept throughout and there are enough hooks and changes of direction to ensure you don't doze off altogether!
In fact, tracks such as "Poor Leno" or "Royksopp's Night Out" threaten to actually pick up the tempo and get a little funky.
Overall though, this is a lush and chilled tour-de-force that will stand the test of time. Buy now!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gorgeous, absolutely gorgeous...., 13 April 2007
By 
Neil Wilt "Another silly American" (G.W.Bush-free-zone, USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Melody A.M. (Audio CD)
....don't know that I've ever used that word to describe an album before, however, this one certainly fills the shoes of the compliment!!

A little late to the plate on this one, it appears. Just found this at a used CD joint and took a chance. Had heard a couple tracks on Area33 (Sirius) and took a chance on it. Can't believe what a good choice that was. The album is absolutely packed with some of the most fluid, well organized Electronica/Chill music you could wish for. Never harsh, always enjoyable. Not a track to skip on the entire album. If you dig electronic music of any genre, you can appreciate and fall in love with the Roylsopp camp.

Was lucky enough to score the double CD set which includes four re-mixes and three videos. Bonus discs are typically disposable, at least in my experience. This one includes four very well put together remixes that would stand on their own. The inclusion of the videos is just icing on the cake.

Buy the album, you won't be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


105 of 118 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Quality electronic music, 30 July 2002
This review is from: Melody A.M. (Audio CD)
So, you've probably heard 'So Easy' off the T-Mobile advert, 'Eple' on Johnny Vaughan's World Cup, and singles 'Poor Leno' and 'Remind Me' have probably teased your ears at some point. But heres my opinion of the tracks:
1. So Easy
Sampling an old Gals and Pals record, this quirky downbeat house song will keep you comin back for more with the great bassline, keyboard patterns and jazzy saxaphones.
2. Eple
Bleepy downbeat melodic ambient tune with a light hip hop beat. Great stuff.
3. Sparks
Moody downbeat vocal track dark and uplifting at the same time. Very bas heavy.
4. In Space
Classical semi-upbeat chillout with trumpets!!! Great listening tune, pleasing to the ears.
5. Poor Leno
Dance single from the lads, with a top vocal thats hard to sing (try that note), and commercial style bassline and synth line. Layers are amazing though...just give it a listen, top-notch material.
6. A Higher Place
One of the chillout tunes, slowly builds up atmospherics and effects with good use of vocal samples leading to a spine-tingling climax.
7. Royksopp's Night Out
The funkier tune on the album, orchestral breakbeat/trip-hop is the vein, and man, theyre takin it to another level. Epic orchestrations and fuzzy melodies make this perhasp the best on the album.
8. Remind Me
The new single, gated beat/synth meld with the vocals perfectly creating a pleasant if a little short track that is ggreat to mellow to.
9. She's So
Saxophones and 80's style synths turn this into a sunset beach style theme tune, with a great piano interlude in the middle and ending with a muffled sax and layers.
10. 40 Years Back/Come
40 Years Back is the firrst 2 minutes of this song, an old school style bass and synth lead this again, with atmospherics tickling your nerves, which fades and then Come takes over, a guitar track for nearly 3 minutes, which will imprint on your brain for ever. Just an echo ridden guitar and silence. Great end to an awesome album... Go buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Remember the music to the T-Mobile Ad?, 15 July 2002
This review is from: Melody A.M. (Audio CD)
Well I had been searching for this music and found it. "So Easy" is the track used for the T-Mobile ad, and has been featured in many tv programmes before and since. A very catchy tune, and album, which appears quite random at first play, but played more gets better and better. There is a wide range of styles of music on this album, somthing for everyone. Well worth a listen or more, and I can't wait to see what Royksopp will produce in the future.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pleasantly surprised, 12 Feb 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Melody A.M. (Audio CD)
'Sparks' and 'So Easy' inspired me to buy this album. I admit it was bought with some trepidation as I've had an unlucky run of CDs recently that have been bought on the strength of one or two tracks being great but the rest of the album turning out to be disappointing.
This is great - all the tracks are refreshingly different and all are exceptionally good. There are few albums of this genre although Air's Moon Safari and Groove Armada's Vertigo spring to mind. However, I venture to say that Royksopp are far superior, perhaps because they haven't been played on every commercial and holiday programme since their release.
I'm surprised though that Royksopp aren't very well known considering this album is such a belter, however for reasons outlined above, perhaps this is a good thing?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Melody AM
Melody AM by Röyksopp
Buy MP3 Album£5.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews