Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars
43
4.1 out of 5 stars
Format: MP3 Download|Change
Price:£6.99
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 27 October 2007
Don't pay any attention to these other reviews. It's a music CD not a political manifesto for a country's financial development!! Half these 'reviewers' who want to appear the intelligentsia of music can't even spell or punctuate! Some intelligence eh?

It's a good music CD to play in the background. Nice rhythms and harmony changes.

Makes my toe tap and my spirit relax.

Thanks Faithless. Good music.
11 comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 November 2006
After patiently waiting for the arrival of this much anticipated fifth studio album for several months I have to report that it was a complete anti-climax! The album appears to have been written to advertise the bands two new arrivals and the whole thing seems to be softened down from what we are used to from the worlds finest live dance act. The heart and soul of the group is Maxi Jazz and he simply doesn't feature enough, instead an array of guest vocalists dominate the album. Having said that, the album does have a decent opening with single Bombs but is followed by hideous track Spiders, Crocodiles & Kryptonite which not only contains farcical child-like lyrics and Robert Smith guesting which I hated, but ends with an annoying baby talking segment which is embarrassing to say the least. Music Matters is better but hardly sticks in the memory, this is followed by instrumental Nate's Tune and I Hope which has more references to children and seems to end just as it is getting going and then Last This Day which sounds like a lullaby and features Dido (Oh please let it end) Things start to look up when To All New Arrivals kicks in but again the lyrics are bizarre, Maxi reeling off facts about poverty and child diseases, its like a television appeal for help. Hope & Glory which is a far more memorable track in a more uplifting mood raises the tempo but once again has baby voices tagged on the end, why? A Kind of Peace features the albums sixth guest vocalist Cat Power and then comes The Man In You which in my opinion is the best track here, its original, funky and has Maxi's best vocals, I like this tune. Closing track Emergency is Ok too but again Maxi is missing. the album ends and I am left feeling empty and disappointed, where are the thumping dance tracks that I jumped to at Marley park in August? If you're new to faithless and want to hear what they are capable of, go out tomorrow and buy Reverence or any of the other albums since but leave this on the shelf. I am a huge fan of the group and I'm looking forward to seeing them again in March, I just hope they don't play too many tracks of this album and leave the baby noises at home!
0Comment| 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 January 2007
I understand as well as anyone that Faithless are no longer the club busting dance band that we knew in the 1990s. The band are maturing as musicans and taking their music into different directions from what they have achieved previously. However, and this is quite a big point, this album does not develop their style from No Roots.

No Roots signalled a move to a more melodic tone with more instrumentals and an increased participation from outside artists to the Faithless story. Different styles of music were experimented with and in my opinion they pulled off a change in direction with No Roots without losing what made Faithless popular. What I feel with To All New Arrivals is that they've lost sight of what they want to achieve: the album congratulates each band member on their own personal experiences too much whether from having a child to their views on politics.

Neither does the album move Faithless on musically. Nate's Tune which is a rare highlight on the album, could have fitted in on Sunday 8PM or No Roots, quite easily. Spiders, Crocodiles and Kryptonite is quite simply one of the weakest songs the band have ever written. Bombs goes back to the point I made above: Maxi Jazz congratulates himself on being right about Iraq but why does he have to emphasis this point? The early Faithless albums had a subtle and understandable point but it was not overtly political. I do not need Maxi Jazz telling me about Iraq; it's there for all of us to see with out own eyes.

However there are some plus points: A Kind of Peace is the strongest track on the album, deversedly so. Cat Power provides a beautiful, complimentary, voice to the music and sets a nice downbeat sound for the end of the album. Hope and Glory is more what I expect from a Faithless album as is Emergency.

To conclude: Faithless have not quite lost their way but they need to return to their roots if they are to continue to influence the genre. This album will be remembered as their weakest and is a poor development to the different and pleasing No Roots. Sunday 8PM is still the seminal work; a height which they have not scaled on this particular album.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 December 2006
I agree with other reviews elsewhere and, after listening to this several times, I actually returned it, and thats never happened before with a Faithless album. I have followed them from the beginning, eagerly awaiting each new release, same thing here, but I was gutted. Without trying to sound too much like the anti-christ, I can cope with several songs about babies...but nearly every track? no, it's too much. The whole album sounds like having a Children in need TV special rammed down your throat. Surely this is not what Faithless are about? ok, maybe it is now. If that's the case then they should have split up as originally planned if this is the best they can do.

The over-reliance on Dido is another factor and her track is absolutely horrendous. Elsewhere only "Music Matters" sounds like the Faithless of old however, as usual, even this ends before it has a chance to really get going. Faithless have lost track of what made them so special, and popular.

Maybe next time? we'll see. With "No Roots" Faithless tested my patience, with "To All New Arrivals" it has snapped and i've lost interest.

Just a thought: They should bring back Jamie and Zoe Johnston and dump the "chill-out" feel to their most recent work, the market is already flooded with these types of albums, usually ending up in the bargain bins. In 3 months time, "To All New Arrivals" will also be there.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 August 2008
I don't know how people couldn't like "Last This Day" & think it wishy-washy. Anyone who has ever had a premature baby or lost a baby, this song speaks directly to you, full of the desperate quiet heartbreak of a parent just wanting their child to live, just last this day. Powerful, powerful stuff. Faithless isn't all about the bangin' choonz, y'know - there are songs of gentle wisdom, stuff that speaks to the heart, among the anthems.
11 comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 December 2006
I didn't think I'd ever rate a Faithless album this low, but I just have to. After looking forward to this new long-awaited release from one of my favourite bands ever I was scorchingly disappointed to say the least.

Opening track "Bombs" is great, I like both lyrics and music - especially when Maxi's rap kicks in. The second track is definitely five minutes too long... "Music matters" sounds like any other poppish track out there. Instrumental "Nate's tune" is ok but a bit tedious. "I hope" is a good track and well arranged as well, the background voices are a tad annoying though. "Last this day" featuring Dido is another good song, I just wonder couldn't Dido sing anything uplifting for once? "To all new arrivals" is probably one of the cheesiest songs I've ever heard and there's really nothing about this track to set it apart from all the pop mediocrity around these days.

"Hope and glory" is a return to form, with Maxi happily rapping as ever before and a catchy refrain to lift you up after pathetic no.7. Just a pity for the baby voices (is this recurrent baby-voice thing a joke?!) closing the track, quite unnecessary. This track is followed by peaceful and chilled-out "A kind of Peace" - great lyrics, a good vocalist but then again where's Faithless' imprint? "The Man in You" is up-tempo, original and quirky enough to catch you. Instrumental "Emergency" is definetely a good track with a lot of 70's feel to it and a good dance segment in the middle. Maybe an unusual track for Faithless, but new ideas and influences have never stopped this band from doing great music.

I'm sure many of the tracks on this album would work live - if you're a fan you know how incredibly good Faithless are live - but the studio versions leave me quite cold.

Gone are the incredible bass-lines and dance beats, gone are the seductive, dark, sophisticated arrangements which have made Faithless the unique entity they were.

All in all, unfortunately, a rather uninspired and insipid album.

Will God ever be a DJ again?
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 January 2007
I've read the amazon.co.uk review on the album, and even though some parts are fair, I am annoied that it has been summarised that it is not club like, like their previous albums, so their for it's not as good. It doesn't have to be.

Faithless have taken a new direction with this album, it's much more emotional, and as I've just mentioned, it will dissapoint some people.

I know there are people out there who love Insomnia, We Come 1, God Is A DJ and so forth, and I think they are marvelous club tracks, but this album has such a clever feel to it.

When I listened to No Roots, it was an album with a mission. Except for the fact of all the tracks being written in C, the album could be listened to from start to finish so easily.

This is what To All New Arrivals does, but better. Listening to tracks 1-6 through without stopping is so easy, regardless that Spiders, Crocodiles & Kryptonite is very different.

How many albums do you listen to that are good, but you end up skipping a track or two? This is one of the issues that makes this album extremely clever. It's not a collection of songs, it's essentially one big song with it's different themes and variations.

Faithless have also been very ethical, impressing on the issues of war, peace and the good and bad facts we enjoy and suffer from in this world, so it's not surprising that this album has a very celebratory yet dark tone.

It celebrates life, yet looks apon what else is going on in the world that is so easy just to close your eyes to, and then to take this raw bag of emotions and deliver it in an album so well is a fantastic acheivement.

If you like Faithless and are a fan, you can't be without this album.

If you simply like the club and anthem tracks, maybe you should avoid this album as you won't fully appreciate it's value.

It's clever, emotional, inspiring and makes a hard-hitting Faithless statement. That's the point - and I believe the reason they started this album project, but it's a shame that they will never touch everyone with the message. To some it's just the music that matters (no pun intended), not the message, but I do appreciate that if 'club' tracks are your thing, this doesn't deliver like the previous albums.

If you're willing to sit back and appreciate it's reason, you will be amazed.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 April 2007
after years of following Faithless and buying every album, they have grown up as I have grown up...

And now that they are having kids and incorperating the feelings, hope, love and everything else alongside that you start thinking about after the enormous transition of turning from a 'live for the moment' single, into the miracle of becoming a parent, into their lyrics is, for me at least, a refreshing difference to most of the other lyrics out there.

It makes good listening too!

:)

maybe I'm biased, but this is definately a 5 star cd.

Anyone that says the lyrics are 'vacuos' (sorry, cant spell) hasn't quite got it...
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 November 2006
Faithless have always made fantastic dance music, but never have they made something so poignant. The haunting phone call which starts the album leaves you wondering what you're in for and the answer is simple - A dance album of such emotional depth that you are left drained without throwing a single shape. As ever there are subtle melodies and vocal harmonies to put most choirs in their place, but what really hits are the lyrics in this album. Rollo Armstrong has always had a natural poetry to his voice but he puts it to great effect here emphasising constantly that this is not just music.

The credit however cannot go solely to Maxi Jazz and Sister Bliss as tracks like `Last This Day' and `A Kind of Peace' are made perfect by the guest vocals of Dido and Cat Power respectively. This is not a happy album, but it is a brilliant one.

Buy it and find out for yourself.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 January 2007
As a huge faithless fan, i was suprised when i heard this album- its completley different to thier other stuff:

Unlike thier older albums, it dosent boast huge dance tunes like Insomnia, and Salva Mea- but its still a fantastic album, and heres why:

This is a very 'Grown Up' album from Faithless- they have come so far since 1996 when 'Reverence' was first released- at the time they were unusual, ground breaking, and people didnt necessarily know who they were. They defined the 'trip hop' genre, and Maxi Jazz' amazing vocals really defined trance, dance and everything inbetween...

11 years, and a platinum selling greatest hits album later, and here is Faithless' fifth studio album. Dedicated to the children which Sister Bliss and Rollo (speratley) brought into the world- 'To all new arrivals' boasts fantastically laid back beats, with a sophisticated over tone. The lyrics are typical of Faithless- deep and meaningfull- except on almost every song are about becoming a parent- something which does the band a huge amount of credit...

The album kicks off with 'Bombs' featuring vocalls from Harry Collier- a fantastic laid-back-trance style song, which i would LOVE to see a 'Monster Mix' of.

The second single to be released from the album will be 'Music Matters'- a slightly slower song, featuring vocalls from Cassandra Fox (who features on 'Rui Du Silva': "Touch Me" )which will undoubtedley be a huge sucess.

'Nates Tune' is one of the catchiest songs on the album, and in many ways resembles 'Sweep' from 'Outrospective' as it is a continious loop of fantastic keyboarding by Sister Bliss.

'To all New Arrivals' has some 'informative' vocals regarding the state of the poorer countries of the world, but is without doubt one of the best songs on the album.

And my final favourite, is 'The Man In You' which every father would understand and may even bring a tear to the eye!

This is a very sophisticated sounding peice of Dance music, and is also

a very different look at Faithless, they have grown up, but are still the original band, to define dance music- and to define a generation!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.