Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen in Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars30
4.8 out of 5 stars
Format: MP3 Download|Change
Price:£7.49
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 27 August 2002
This album is a stunner. Other people have compared his style to McCullogh, Sinatra. I'd throw Leonard Cohen, Johnny Cash and Chris Isaac in there too. Such a variety is no bad thing as the end result is truly original, and the quality of songs brilliant. The single 'Baby you're my light' is an old fashioned and timeless classic, and the obvious hit on the album. 'Long Black Train' and 'Love of my life' are just two of the standout tracks, but every track is good and it's not often you can say that about an album. I've played this CD to several friends and all of them have bought it. It's a real grower and I cant wait for the next album.
0Comment|32 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 September 2006
There is nothing bad to be said about this album.

It contains beautiful songs, beautifully played and sung, that happen to be beautifully written.

It's as if Roy Orbison, Johnny Cash and Paul Heaton met over a beer and made a beautiful album.

As near a perfect album as we can get in this day and age.
0Comment|20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 October 2001
This is a fantastic full album debut from Hawley, following on from his mini-album released last year. When you here his voice from the opening bars of "Something is..." you wonder why he let someone else take the lead vocals in his previous carnation as guitarist in brit-poppers The Longpigs. His voice is part Frank Sinatra, part Ian McCullogh with a bit of Scott Walker thrown in occasionally for good measure. With succintly written lyric and some brilliant tunes as well as the voice which would carry a much lesser album. At times serious, but at times more tongue in cheek, especially on the final track, the wonderfully named "The Light at the End of the Tunnel (was a train coming the other way)".
0Comment|39 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 August 2007
Late Night Final, which came out in 2001, was the first album from Sheffield singer-songwriter Richard Hawley (discounting his mini-album released in the same year). Before taking to the stage on his own, he played guitar in various Brit-bands such as Longpigs, Pulp, and featured on tracks for All Saints and Finley Quaye, all the while keeping his baritone crooner voice and music-hall songs in the wings. The Guardian described him as 'as lachrymose as Roy Orbison, as romantic as Frank Sinatra, but as unsentimental as Jarvis Cocker'.

Lyrically, he likes to sneak a bit of sardonic wit into melancholy: 'You want to know how we got to where we are now? The nights are cold'. On stage (he is touring the UK in September 2007) he's like old caberet singers with his gag-song-gag routine. At the Scala club in London a few years ago, he summed it his music: 'Some people have described this kind of music - gentle music - as bedwetter music,' he observed. 'Well, I'll come and piss on your mattress any fookin' time.' (4.5 stars)
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 February 2002
I really hope Hawley gets what he deserves in a cynical and often sterile industry, because this album really does suggest he is an original talent who will produce great things in the future.
A deep, haunting voice with a lovely lush arrangement, Late Night Final is an excellent start and I really believe that big things will follow.
0Comment|15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 100 REVIEWERon 31 August 2015
Richard Hawley is one of the most treasurable of British singers. That he happens also to be a superb songwriter, creator of musical atmospheres second to none, and a true original is only further cause for mass hurrahs.
Combining the varied musical sensibilities of Roy Orbison, Duane Eddy, and even (as has been noted by others) Jim Reeves among others, Hawley mines a romantic, meditative seam that few others have troubled with. What sets him apart is that there's nothing remotely wishy-washy in his music - he's like the English equivalent of certain Americana artists, but without the overly enigmatic, mannered qualities so often found in such music (for example, the Handsome Family).
The music of Richard Hawley reeks of quality.
Late Night Final was his first full album, but it doesn't sound like a debut at all. Tracks like the lovely Lonely Night, the echo-laden Precious Sight, or the deliciously forlorn Long Black Train, are confident, both as songs and vocal performances.
To come were the glories of Lowedges, Cole's Corner, and the rest. I don't think he's ever made a poor album (though the much-praised Truelove's Gutter sounds a little like 'Hawley does Hawley' to my ears) and I can't wait to buy the new one, any day now...

Beautiful.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 April 2013
Richard Hawley is a quality singer and songwriter, all his stuff has something to offer, simply good music for grown ups.
check him out, great musician from sheffield, saw him live in liverpool, funny bloke too.
bottom line is, just listen to his stuff and you will get it.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 June 2016
Richard Hawley's Music is consistently original a rare quality in this day and age.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 October 2015
Brilliant and speedy service, well packaged and I just love the whole cd.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 February 2016
Good ,but not quite as good as the other `Sheffield ` albums.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£7.99
£5.99

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)