Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars19
4.8 out of 5 stars
5 star
15
4 star
4
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: MP3 Download|Change
Price:£6.09

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 23 May 2003
Anthrax's studio albums are a rare thing in the UK. so i was quite pleased when i managed to get a hold of this album. The Sound Of White Noise is the 1st album with John Bush on vocals and sadly, Dan Spitz's last album with the band. The songs on the album still retain the heavyness of early days. allthough some of the speed is gone. The album does have quite a few memorable tracks such as the opening 'Potters Field', 'Hy Pro Glo', and 'This Is Not An Exit'. My favorite tracks here are 'Only' and '1000 Points Of Hate' both being fast and heavy. 'Black Lodge is the slowest track but is still pretty strong. Over all, A good solid album that you cant go wrong with.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 July 2010
New frontman, new musical direction, new band, new album. The great John Bush does very well, but has such a completely different tone and range than Joey Belladonna that the album sounds like the debut album of a new band. This is not altogether terrible. It is good for a band to shake the cobwebs of complacency off every now and again. Just not after you've given the world the great album, 'Persistence of Time'. Don't change when you're on top of your game. Hey-ho.

Saying that, it is still a pretty good album. 'Potter's Field' is strangely similar to 'Time' from the previous album, however different they sound. 'Only' and 'Room for One More' are great, catchy tracks that can be categorised as classics of their new era. 'Packaged Rebellion' and 'Hy Pro Glo' are not bad but they lack a certain spark and melody, as do 'Invisible' and '100 Points of Hate'. Good but no cigar. 'Black Lodge' is an excellent track and quite different from any other Anthrax song. It is a glimpse into their future of more laid back, rocky music. But it is a suitably dark and moody entry to their canon with a great denouement. The final 3 tracks are more of the good but not great crowd.

Half of this album is 100% excellent. The other half is not particularly bad, just not very memorable. A solid enough rebirth, with a great fuzzy (sound-of-white-noisy) guitar sound but this was to be the beginning of their artistically-challenged period. Still worth a few bob of anyone's money.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 November 2003
Despite being counted as one of Thrash�s Big Four of the late 80s / early 90s along with Slayer, Metallica and Megadeth, apart from first couple of releases Anthrax were never really a Thrash band in the traditional sense. That minor irrelevence aside though, they were, and still are one of the best Metal bands in the world. In my humble opinion, this is the finest record of their 9 album long career. Every single one of the 11 tracks are absolutely superb, though special mentions go to Room For One More, Invisible, 1000 Points Of Hate and C11 H17 N2 O2 S Na (Sodium Pentathol, I did A-level chemistry!!!). As John Bush�s first album after joining the band, he had to prove that he was a worthy replacement for Joe Belladona who had recently left. In my opinion, he did more than that, he proved that he is one of the best vocalists in Metal full-stop. His performance throughout the whole album is flawless, as is that of Anthrax�s best known and most potent weapon, Scott Ian�s crunching rhythm guitar. No matter what kind of Metal you like, be it Death, Grindcore, Industrial or even (horror of all horrors) Nu-Metal, you will like this album and you will like Anthrax. Absolutely superb stuff as ever.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 February 2006
This was the first anthrax album I ever bought way back when it was released and still to this day it is one of my favourite metal albums. It STOMPS all over the place.
The songs are excellent with great heavy riffs and John Bush's vocals are superb. Best tracks on here are only, Hy Pro Glo but the rest are excellent.
Can't believe they reunited with Joey Balladonna. Bush is a better frontman and Anthrax were a better band with him
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 June 2016
I have been a fan of Anthrax since I first heard Madhouse, and I am the Law, and always remember being a bit dubious when we heard that there was going to be a new singer for one of the most adventurous metal bands of the time, releasing tracks such as I'm the Man, and Bring the Noise, touring with Public Enemy.
However I was amazed, such an amazing album, that I keep coming back to regularly, and still sounds fresh and current even 20 years later, with a perfect blend of melody, harsh guitars, fast drums, and John Bushs vocals fit very well.
There are some albums that I like to listen to for nostalgias sake, but Sound of White Noise is not one of those, it is a staple in my metal collection, from the first tape version to the MP3 versions I own.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 July 2013
This was John bush's first album with anthrax and when it first came out I thought there nothing without joey,I quickly changed my mind,this album makes you realise how much you actually miss John on vocals
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 November 2012
I am a huge of Anthrax, but their early thrash era until 1990.
With Belladonna or without him, i adore also the debut, this album is very surprising.
The album is not pure thrash, it is more heavy but it is good, especially the last three songs.
It is not good as 'Fistful Of Metal', 'Spreading The Disease', 'Persistence Of Time' and of course 'Among The Living' but really deserve to be in Anthrax catalog.
If you are an Anthrax fan, you should own it. If not, give it a shot.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 November 2001
When i first listened to the album, all i thought was wow, songs like only and room for one more are master pieces, every song is very rythmic and has its own personality some are more in your face , while some are more submissive, each song has more emotion than your average tv weding. the guitars give so much depth to the album in unisen with the vocals and superb druming,a musical miricle is born. A must!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 March 2001
A high quality series of good metal songs, which some very memorable ones such as "Black Lodge" and the "This is not an exit". This album is the best old-style thrash-metal album, comparable to "Ride the Lightning" by Metallica, but longer and more varied. The music is not as brainless and monotone as 'normal' heavy metal, and the singer is much more of a singer than a shouter, he's not like Sepultura or Pantera, more like Therapy & Metallica. Not an extreme album, not offensive, it is interesting and varied thrash/heavy metal.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 July 2005
Im still undecided about this album. Obviously a HUGE change in direction from the thrash of the past, but thats not necessarily a bad thing.
The new vocalist Jon Bush is very good, but very different to former vocalist Joey Belladonna (who i always thought didn't fit with Anthrax's music anyway) and so the music has changed too. Like both Metallica & Megadeth did in the 90's, Anthrax have adopted a more hard rock sound on this album as opposed to thrash. In Anthrax's case its a case of maturing their sound a great deal.
However, despite this new maturity, i don't think the album quite works and it almost sounds like they were trying to do their own version of the grunge craze emerging at the time. Also i think Bush is over used - he may be a good singer but there's too much singing and not enough emphasis on hard riffs or guitar solos.
By no means is this a bad album, 'Potters Field', 'Only' and 'Invisible' all deserve a mention and are all strong songs, but theres also tracks with nothing special about them - 'Packaged Rebellion' & 'This Is Not An Exit' as a couple of examples, while 'Black Lodge' fails as a ballad and just does not work.
As a whole this album isn't bad, but it recieves way more attention than it should and i have been kind with a 4star rating. The next 2 albums ('Stomp442' and 'Volume8: The Threat is Real') are VERY good, but are for some reason overlooked.
PS i recommend for anyone that doesn't like Bush as a vocalist and this direction that Anthrax took, check out 'The Greater of Two Evils' where the classics are performed by Bush with amazing results.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)