Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop Clothing clo_fly_aw15_NA_shoes Shop All Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop Fire HD 6 Shop Kindle Paperwhite Shop now Shop Now Shop now

Customer Reviews

60
4.8 out of 5 stars
Doctor Who
Format: MP3 DownloadChange
Price:£7.99
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
VINE VOICEon 30 December 2006
After waiting for 2 years the BBC have finally released the fantastic soundtrack to what is essentially their flagship television show.

Murray Gold, the British equivalent to America's Bear McCreary (check out the Battlestar Galactica CD's to see what I mean) weaves a collection beautiful scores which span seasons 1 and 2.

It's not until you listen to this soundtrack that you realise just how much of the series is affected by this music.

The CD consists of 31 tracks, starting with that unforgettable opening theme and launches straight into Westminster Bridge which is the first track from the episode Rose.

From there we launch into a collection of tracks from across the first two seasons and both Christmas specials. The only downside here is that they are not in episode order but for those with a keen ear you can work out what goes where.

Several tracks stand out from the rest; the touching Father's Day, the haunting Doctor's theme (one of my favourites), the militaristic UNIT, the dramatic scores for both the Cybermen and the Daleks and the bittersweet Doomsday are all excellent.

There are several great examples of leitmotif for certain characters which occur in other tracks and add an audio cue for the audience as to what's about to happen.

There are two songs by Neil Hannon, Song For Ten (from the Christmas Invasion as David Tennant goes through his clothes in the Tardis wardrobe) and Love Don't Roam (from the reception in The Runaway Bride) which are both good tracks as there are used as cues in other pieces of music.

All in all this CD gives you 75 minutes of great music and it's a must for any sci-fi collection. If you enjoyed this then check out any of the current Battlestar Galactica, Firefly, Serenity and Alien Nation soundtracks for more good sci-fi music of similar quality.

Enjoy!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
on 30 April 2007
Wow is the one word that sums up this sound track. I have never been a big fan of sounds tracks as so many have been poor in the past - so i was a little apprehensive about this one. However, i need not have been as this is to put it simply a brilliant sound track all round.

As past reviewers have said if you close your eyes on some tracks you can visualise the scenes in your head "The Daleks" and The Cybermen" being two tracks that do just that.

Then you get the haunting sounds of "Fathers Day", "Madam De Pompadour", "The Impossible Planet" and the incredible "Doomsday" used at the end of series 2.

However, the best track of all has to be the full version of the Doctor Who Theme it's brilliant really is worth the listen on it's own.

Murray Gold has done wonders in the world of Doctor Who with this outstanding album. If your a fan of Doctor Who or sound tracks then i urge you to buy this album as you'll not be disappointed.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
An excellent cd to accompany an excellent series! I had no idea that a cd of the music to series 1 and 2 had been released, it was only by luck I stumbled across this, but when I saw it for [...]. I thought it might be worth a look at.Even without paying extra for 24hr delivery it arrived on my doorstep the next morning so well done Amazon for that. The cd itself comes in a jewel case with a card outers sleeve also, inside is a booklet that gives you a little insight into each of the tracks and also contains some nice photos. The musical score itself is superb with some very moving and outstanding pieces, favourites of mine have to be Madame De Pompadour and Doomsday both of which tug at the heart strings. Hopefully another cd will follow as the music from series 3 is proving to be just as good.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
Since the first episode of the new series to the latest I've enjoyed the Murray Gold scores. Since getting an orchestra for the second series the music became even more powerful.

Who fans were desperate for this album since Song For Ten was first heard at the end of 2005 - it's been a long wait, and although Tim Phillips doesn't sing on this version, Neil Hannon (from the Divine Comedy) does a superb job.

Rose's Theme is very emotive, as are many of the tracks. I look forward to listening to further Murray Gold music during future series, and hopefully further albums! ;-)

Whether you're a DW fan or not, you have to appreciate that this is a set of very good quality compositions.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
on 3 January 2007
I had this CD for christmas and had been waiting for it for ages and put it promptly in my CD player and it's been there ever since.

Granted not every track is on the Cd and Neil Hannons's Song for ten doesn't sound the same as in the actual episode but apart form that the songs on it are truly breathtaking and have even moved me to tears at times.

You're getting value for money what with 31 tracks and there are none on it that I don't listen to.And my little brothers love to listen to it while they go to sleep recognising the tracks from the show.

Some of the best are The Face of Boe which is haunting and has a touch of celtic music in it,Doomsday for the raw emotional notes,Song for ten and Love don't roam for the very sad lyrics hidden in energetic music and Neil Hannon's lovely voice and Tooth and Claw is a very energetic action song like no other.

Also Madame de Pompadour ,The Lpone Dalek and Rose both emotional pieces but there are also some fun ones like Westminster Bridge featured in the episode "Rose" and Cassandra's Waltz and of course there is the Dalek theme and the Cybermen theme from the episodes.

Well worth buying you will not be disappointed ,can't wait until they release a volume two!!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
Utterly brilliant. This CD gives you the chance to listen to the music without the show and it is even more haunting and memorable. Murray Gold is a great composer, may he always write the music for Doctor Who. The emotional 'Doomsday" track is wonderful however and clear favourite but I think a true masterpiece comes in the form of 'The Impossible Planet'...spine chilling. Highly recommended for all DOctor Who fans and lovers of music in general
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
on 13 December 2006
Soundtrack CDs can so often be a let-down. Not so here - pretty much all of the music here is genuinely fantastic. It could be enjoyed in its own right, but if you've followed the two series of Doctor Who closely there's an added dimension as each track recalls favourite moments - some happy, some sad, some just downright exciting.

Plus, the two songs performed by the wonderful Neil Hannon (of The Divine Comedy) are a welcome addition, both being great, lively tracks which benefit from his versatile voice.

Highly recommended!
22 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
on 23 December 2006
How could you not enjoy the music from the new series? While I cannot describe music as well as the experts, I will admit that I have been a Who musicphile (is this a word?) since I started watching the series back in the 70s (INFERNO technically doesn't have an original soundtrack, but you try to watch it and not come away affected). So many incredible talents have created music for Who since the show began in 1963, including Delia Derbyshire, Mark Ayers, Malcolm Clarke, Peter Howell, Brian Hodgson, to name just a few. Due to my musical fascination, I bought this from Amazon UK instead of waiting the extra two months for the US release.

Mr. Gold's music is certainly effective for generating pathos - it is NOT just background for the Doctor's new exciting adventures. I hear a lot of emotional depth in the many notes of each instrument, particularly in DOOMSDAY and THE DOCTOR'S THEME. WESTMINSTER BRIDGE is the exciting scoring from ROSE that helps to create the tone for both the character of Rose and the ninth Doctor(Mr. Eccleston). Can anyone else hear the hint of angels overhead...well, yes, I admit that the human background singers do help to generate that effect. I do appreciate that the music is in no particular order of appearance - it resembles the iPod shuffle.

After listening to this, go back to Delia Derbyshire's "The Delian Mode", or bits of the "Curse of Fenric" soundtrack, or the Banqueting Music from "Warrior's Gate". Listen to the background music of Big Finish's "Spare Parts" or "Sword of Orion". Then try to tell yourself that this isn't every bit as good or better.

My only complaint - there is just not enough. (Well, and because it probably wasn't composed by Mr. Gold, the techno music of Big Brother in BAD WOLF - pshaw!)
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on 11 March 2012
When Doctor Who returned to our screens in 2005, it came with new effects, new characters and new music. This albums has an absolutely superb variation of styles and moods.
NOTE: In Murray Gold's later albums, the tracks are listed in order of the episodes they appear in, but here this is not the case. In a way, this works better and prevents similar scores being placed one after the other.
It's a shame that Series 1 & 2 are on the same CD because it allows less room for tracks from different series and I reckon there is enough material to make a seperate album for each series, but this is a minor thing. I'm not going to list all the tracks, but here are some of my favourites (choosing favourites out of this CD was difficult!):

2. Westminister Bridge - A great theme that appeared in "Rose" in a slightly different version, but still a fantastic piece.

4. Cassandra's Waltz - A fun score, this. With each repeat more instruments play the tune until the end where it is actually quite loud.

5. Slitheen - The scene in "Aliens of London" where the Slitheen ship crashes into Big Ben was superb and this is a great score to match it.

12. Clockwork TARDIS - A great little score that slowly builds up layers of instruments.

14. Rose's Theme - A very familiar theme, having appeared in various scenes with Rose. First played in "The End of the World" and last played in "The End of Time - Part 2".

15. Song for Ten - A great song performed by Neil Hannon that appeared in different forms throughout Series Two with lyrics that relate to the Tenth Doctor.

21. The Lone Dalek - I think this is the longest track in the album but also one of the best. It first appeared in "Dalek" (surprisingly enough) but can also be heard in "The Satan Pit".

22. Tooth and Claw - A stormer of a theme, here. This theme also appeared in "The Satan Pit".

24. Monster Bossa - A short, quirky theme from "Boom Town" and one of my favourites.

26. The Cybermen - Another one of the familiar themes in New Who.

27. Doomsday - A great piece mainly featuring just a piano, a bass guitar and singing but still a great reminder to the climactic end of "Doomsday".

30. Love Don't Roam - The second song by Neil Hannon and my preferred of the two.

31. Doctor Who Theme - Album Version - The reason I didn't mention the TV version of this theme is that this version lasts longer and has more material in it. Here, the original theme is quite noticable in some places. This new theme is absolutely fantastic.

I would recommend this album to any fan of music and Doctor Who. A brilliant selection of music and fantastic value for money. All right, I've stopped...
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
on 5 December 2006
I have been an avid viewer of Doctor Who since it returned to our screens in 2005 and have been particularly fond of Murray Gold's music, which covers a whole range of emotions. Now to have it on CD is a lovely Christmas gift.

There are some very lively pieces like "Westminster Bridge", some thoughtful moments like "Clockwork TARDIS" and some real tearjerkers, particularly "Doomsday". It is all extremely rich and would be suitable for a major motion picture. However, this album is not as good as it could be. While Neil Hannon's jazzy "Love Don't Roam" is wonderful, his version of "Song For Ten", the song featured in the 2005 Christmas special "The Christmas Invasion" just doesn't suit Hannon's smooth voice. Personally, I would have preferred to hear a fuller version of Tim Phillips' version and the Phil Spector-like sound that accompanies him (fortunately, this can be found on the official Doctor Who website).

As well as this, the album version of the "Doctor Who" theme is a rather thrown together amalgamation of elements present in the 2005 and 2006 versions. The traditional sci-fi effects coupled with the huge orchestra in the middle eight don't seem to mix or compliment each other very well, and this is the one song which could have done with some extra touching-up and unification. Also, some fans will be disappointed that certain scores from episodes like "The Girl in the Fireplace" and "Army of Ghosts" are not present either.

Still, to get over 31 tracks for such a good price was well worth the wait, and both casual and longtime fans of the show won't be disappointed with the effort that has gone into making this CD. Highly recommended.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
     
 
Customers who viewed this item also viewed


 
     

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.