Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just awesome.
A month ago I had no idea who this band were, until I stumbled across this album. How hadn't I heard of these? They're simply awesome, and this album is one of the best albums I've ever listened to. Their other album "No Love Lost" is pretty good too, they also have some very good B-sides.

One of the most underrated bands around. Top band.
Published on 7 May 2010 by J. Crowson

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Hmmm.
The first few songs are great, but then you are treated to normal album filler fare, which always tends to be unplayed once you've first heard it. This album is not getting a lot of airplay on my stereo, which probably says it all really.
Published 11 months ago by Red Army Follower


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just awesome., 7 May 2010
By 
J. Crowson - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Great Escape (Audio CD)
A month ago I had no idea who this band were, until I stumbled across this album. How hadn't I heard of these? They're simply awesome, and this album is one of the best albums I've ever listened to. Their other album "No Love Lost" is pretty good too, they also have some very good B-sides.

One of the most underrated bands around. Top band.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars great album, 11 Sep 2011
This review is from: Great Escape (Audio CD)
really catchy tunes.... and a great album. i strongly recommend this band to anyone that likes indie/rock ... im not sure why they haven't made it "big" yet?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars It's been said before but..., 24 May 2010
This review is from: Great Escape (Audio CD)
...how is it that this band isn't more popular?

They are simply brilliant. Soooo much better than all of the other banal, production line pop littering the charts these days.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Top class, 18 Feb 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Great Escape (Audio CD)
I've had this CD for ages and should have wrote a review before now.

The Rifles are Britain's great secret and this CD is absolutely brilliant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Progress from "No Love Lost2, 14 Sep 2009
By 
Mr. Neil Bennett "Neil" (Herts, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Great Escape [VINYL] (Vinyl)
OK "No Love Lost" was a bit like the Jam, but nearly all the songs were great, everything's a bit like something that's gone before, and arguably The Jam is an admirable band by which to have been influenced. At first "The Great Escape" is not so immediately appealing, but on repeated listening (give it 3 or 4 at least), the more complex structures of most of the songs make them more long-lived and in the final analysis it's probably a better album. The Rifles are still good live too (enhanced the last time I saw them in London by a guest appearance from the Modfather himself, Paul Weller, thus presumably acting as an official endorsement of the Band's Surrey credentials and official Jam influencees status).

Neil
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A must buy, 27 May 2009
By 
Allu (Helsinki, Finland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Great Escape (Audio CD)
After listening their first album I thought it would be virtually impossible to produce another of the same quality. I was wrong.

Cracking new tracks without losing their own great style.

This is a must buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great escape, 24 Mar 2009
By 
lashton (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Great Escape (Audio CD)
this cd is a grower,definately not to be dismissed after one play.the rifles make a total mockery of the so called second album syndrome with some of the tracks which given the airplay they deserve would surely become modern cassiscs akin to the jam in their pomp.......

do yourselves a favour buy and enjoy !!!!!!!!!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Not firing blanks, 5 Mar 2009
By 
Paul Richards (Plymouth) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Great Escape (MP3 Download)
The thing I love about the band and the album is the uncanny ability to write reasonably short and simple songs which acquire their own richness through repeated listening. I first saw the band a couple of years back when they were supported by the grossly under-rated Milburn. The band had a likeable and infectious quality about them that was superbly reflected on the first album. This album was worth the wait. I caught my 8 year old daughter playing the Cd through her karaoke machine yesterday and singing out Science in Violence ignorant of the fact I was killing myself outside the room. The opener really gets the blood racing although its message seems to be lost on me - I blast it out my car to the annoyance of the village residents! I doubt they want to hear the songs I like;
well tough. The song The Great Escape finds the band in a non-critical way in "That's Entertainment" territory and yet the band bring something unique to the song. All the tracks lead in the right direction my particular favourites being Winter Calls and Romeo and Julie. Lookout for the additional bonus track after For The Meantime - sounds Oasis like and rocks - this bonus track seems to be becoming a trademeark - listen for it a minute or so after the end of each album. Keep it up lads - and I recommend seeing them live where the songs take on anthemic proportions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic CD a must buy, 5 Dec 2010
This review is from: Great Escape (Audio CD)
A great CD brings back the early mod revival of 79-85. Not only that but both my sons who are 16 and 18 think this is great. Very much in the style of The Jam, Small Faces, Paul Weller and the modern Enemy. Why have only just discovered them!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rifles- hated by the NME loved by the people, 9 Feb 2009
By 
W. G. Hopkins (Dorset England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Great Escape (Audio CD)
The second album from the mod/indie band The Rifles, was delayed whilst the album was reworked. I think it has 95% worked, and it's just as catchy as the first album by the band.As a middle aged old bloke, The Rifles has to date been the only band since The Jam to make me want to get off my maried behind, and tour the nation to see them play wherever possible.
Rifles gigs are always lively, and the sell out Brixton gig last year, shows, despite the NME slagging them off, they have a reputation of cult band well and truly captured. Songs like Toerag have featured live for a while, and form the basis of new recordings, along with The Great Escape, both songs in the vein of That's Entertainment, both listing life's little pleasures, and woes.
Science In Violence and The General burst out of the speakers, and into your face with sheer energy. Both should be singles, Fall To Sorrow was chosen instead, a catchy pop song, but still ignored by radio 1 and 2, and local pop radio, all of which are vital to break a band.
That leaves The Rifles in the position of either staying true to their good songwriting, or become indie clones like Scouting For Girls, One Night Only etc, all cds you just know will appear on all the aforementioned radio stations, purely because they are safe, and appeal to the housewife listeners.
It would be a shame if the band went that route,as they are unique in being a mod/indie band that could last, witness the awful last albums by Ordinary Boys and Hard Fi of choosing the wrong direction. No, they should stay on the course they are taking, as by sheer word of mouth, The Rifles have become the band to see for a good night out, and make records that are from heart, and not from the bland same old same old radio friendly nonsense.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa3948cc0)

This product

Great Escape
Great Escape by The Rifles (Audio CD - 2009)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews