Customer Reviews


107 Reviews
5 star:
 (54)
4 star:
 (31)
3 star:
 (11)
2 star:
 (8)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 4 Classic albums out of 5 for the Mancs - not bad eh?
Well well well. It's now been 10 years into the fray for Oasis, or 7 if you count the time since their emergence on the scene. In that time, drugs have been taken, given up, crowds have been wowed consistantly and fans have both loved and hated them in equal measure for very different reasons.
But how BORING would the nineties (and, yes, the noughties) have been...
Published on 13 July 2002

versus
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Oasis' Worst Album - But Still Good
Heathen Chemistry is probably Oasis' worst album. But that doesn't mean it's bad.

Many tracks are very average by Oasis standard, such as All In The Mind, Force of Nature, Better Man and Hung In A Bad Place. However, saying that, personally it contains some of Oasis best tracks.

The Hindu Times is a fantastic rocker that would perfectly fit on to...
Published on 27 Sep 2008 by MDD


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 4 Classic albums out of 5 for the Mancs - not bad eh?, 13 July 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Heathen Chemistry (Audio CD)
Well well well. It's now been 10 years into the fray for Oasis, or 7 if you count the time since their emergence on the scene. In that time, drugs have been taken, given up, crowds have been wowed consistantly and fans have both loved and hated them in equal measure for very different reasons.
But how BORING would the nineties (and, yes, the noughties) have been without this fantastic band? From the opening bars of 'The Hindu Times', through the sing-a-longs of 'Stop Crying Your Heart Out' and 'Little By Little', to the spine-tingling final chords of 'Better Man', this album reminds us all of how precious Oasis have become.
A 'return to form', people said. Well, in my opinion they only really lost it with 'Standing On The Shoulder Of Giants', a scratch and sniff album which, quite frankly, smelled as bad as Liam's mac after Knebworth (I'll bet). And yes, I do include 'Be Here Now' as a bona fide classic - just listen to it again, skipping 'The Girl In The Dirty Shirt' and tell me you don't like it. Thought as much.
After the rock n roll excess of the nineties then, Oasis' fourth album proper DOES give us a cause to be jubilant in the jubilee year (there's no other reason, after all). Filled to the brim with classic Oasis tunes, it's the sign of a great album that when me and my mates had a conversation about it after seeing them at Finsbury Park twice last week, we couldn't agree on the best track. In fact, the four of us nominated FOUR different songs. And, a week later, mine's changed already from 'Stop Crying Your Heart Out' to 'Better Man'. Argh...decisions, eh?
So, from the slamming of the door at the end of 'Be Here Now' which ironically marked the end of Oasis Mark I, we have finally got off the ground with Oasis Mark II after the arrival of this album. I'll lay my money on the next Oasis album being their best - all these great rock groups like The Beatles, The Stones etc have at least two golden periods and it looks like Oasis are hitting their second one now. I for one can't wait.
Bring it on!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars This Chemistry is Rockin', 2 July 2002
By 
Habib Hussain (London, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Heathen Chemistry (Audio CD)
And so the Gallagher brothers return. Well they always said they would.
The end product of 2 year's graft is Heathen Chemistry, their 5th studio offering. And its not that bad.
The Hindu Times evokes memories of teenage abandon, a feeling of invincibility against everyone and everything.
Liam's 3 tracks show a huge improvement... Songbird is outstanding, though a bit too short for my liking. Born on a Different Cloud plays along well but a bit more work on the lyrical content could have made this a great song. Better Man evokes memeories of Stone Roses at Spike Island.
Hung in a Bad Place sounds as if it will go down a storm at gigs. The highlight of Noel's tracks would be stop crying your heart out, a heart wrenching song as you can get.
My only criticism is the album is a but short and could have benefited from some extra tracks ( the b-sides Noel writes usually outstrip any album track ).
All in all, a good album, look forward to the next one. Don't make us wait 2 years purleeeaseeeeeeee !!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A return to form, 8 July 2002
This review is from: Heathen Chemistry (Audio CD)
Lets get one thing straight first: Oasis is not a band who set out to push the boundaries of rock 'n' roll.
This album has an ambition that all albums should have, to make great music. And it does so in style, in flair and in honesty.
The first 3 tracks are true rock 'n' roll, and the lyrics mirror this; nothing too personal, and a hell of a lot of great riffs. 'Stop crying your heart out' is arguabley a bit too standard, as Liam comes out with the dreaded line 'hold on', however the track still mantains a simple melody and a genuine, honest, feeling in the lyrics after.
The three songs by liam, are amazingly full of emotion and dare i say it vunerability, something which oppposes his arrogant, 'I dont give one' persona.
The Album as a whole shows that Oasis are here to make tunes, and no one is better at it, so get off their back, and just enjoy some good old rock 'n' roll.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Top 10. A truly excellent album., 19 July 2005
By 
David Mercer (Sheffield, South Yorkshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Heathen Chemistry (Audio CD)
I have listened to many artists. I usually criticise them. But Heathen Chemistry I thought was an excellent album. Oasis have created a superb album that is one of my favourites. With songs like " The Hindu Times", "Stop Crying Your Heart Out" and "Little by Little" this album is truly excellent and I would recommend it to any music fan. Even if your not a fan of Oasis I'd still recommend it. It's that good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Back On Top!, 29 Jun 2002
This review is from: Heathen Chemistry (Audio CD)
"Heathen Chemistry" really is a fun and snappy Oasis album, a big and brash 'up yours' CD pointed firmly at all the dull doubters and cynics who think it's still hip to point out that they sound like The Beatles.
That's exactly the point! I feel Oasis tried far too hard to sound earnest and developed on their last two studio LPs...
There's tons of tinkly toy pianos, mod organs, recycled Quo solos and riffs, sneering vocals--the whole swaggering Oasis package. It's a real crowdpleaser of an LP, especially on "Hung In A Bad Place", "Little By Little", the sweet "She Is Love" and the Squire-aping "Better Man". The two singles to date are modern classics too, AND Liam's own tunes sound fine to boot.
Not totally flawless, but definitely unbeatable Oasis.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The return of the mighty Gallaghers!, 28 Jun 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Heathen Chemistry (Audio CD)
Well after over two years of waiting and a lot of hype Noel and Liam return with their 5th album.All the hype this time around is well justified with Oasis producing a stunning album that could suit every taste from the rocking Hindu Times to the more ambient Stop Crying Your Heart Out to the upbeat Songbird (which shows Liam does have some songwriting talents even though it seemed he had none after the dire Little James from Standing On The Shoulder Of Giants).If you have any doubts about Oasis's quality then this will be the album to restore your faith as it goes back to the quality seen in the early Oasis releases of Definitely Maybe and (Whats The Story) Morning Glory? a high quality album that is a must for any record collection.Buy it!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Oasis' Worst Album - But Still Good, 27 Sep 2008
This review is from: Heathen Chemistry (Audio CD)
Heathen Chemistry is probably Oasis' worst album. But that doesn't mean it's bad.

Many tracks are very average by Oasis standard, such as All In The Mind, Force of Nature, Better Man and Hung In A Bad Place. However, saying that, personally it contains some of Oasis best tracks.

The Hindu Times is a fantastic rocker that would perfectly fit on to Definitely Maybe. Great guitar rifts and a great chorus, it is real ballsy stuff. Other highlights include Liam Gallagher's Songbird, which surprised many by being an incredibly sweet soft nice little tune - something many would not associate with rock's and hardest frontman. He also contributes with the heavily influenced Lennon song Born on A Differen Cloud - a song that shows a far cry from the average Little James he wrote a couple of years back. Little By Little is a radio friendly number with a superb shout it out chorus, but is probably so good because of Noel Gallagher's absolutely fantastic vocals.

However, the highlight of the album is Stop Crying Your Heart Out. Incredibly emotional song, it harks back to the days of Don't Look Back In Anger. It's one of those songs that is bound to bring a tear to your eye.

The rest are really just average. It's also the first album to contain Gem Archer and Andy Bell, and their songs on this (Gem's rocky Hung In A Bad Place and Andy's short instrumental A Quick Peep) are rather average, compared with their later work on future albums which are very very good. Fast forward to 2008, and it has emerged that Oasis have reinvented themselves and have stopped trying to recreate past glories, which is what this album tries to do.

But don't let that put you off. It's an average Oasis album, but compared with today's crap, it walks all over that stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Still some classics on this album, 4 Oct 2009
This review is from: Heathen Chemistry (Audio CD)
I came to this album with no preconceptions and really liked it. I definitely don't think this is a one- or two-star album. It isn't perfect but there are some absolute classics - personally I think Stop Crying Your Heart Out, Born On A Different Cloud, Hindu Times and Songbird are pretty much as good as anything they've done. It's just a shame that there are a few duffers on it that stop the whole album being a classic. By shopping around, you can get this for under a fiver and I'd say it's definitely worth it. I still think it is essential listening if you are an Oasis fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars back to their best, 4 July 2004
By 
M. black "barriebb3" (scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Heathen Chemistry (Audio CD)
let's get one point out the way first.oasis will never make an album as good as definatley maybe again and never sell as many copies as morning glory again.we know this and i;m sure they do as well.after the overblown be here now and the rubbish sotsog
oasis needed to win back fans with a good album.thank the lord then for heathen chemistry.the previous mentioned albums had a scattering of good tracks, be here now's d'know what i mean and
sotsog's go let it out still sound fantastic.what oasis needed to do was release an album that was consistent and had no filler.
they nearly get it right and they probably would have got five stars for this but lose out because of the rubbish hindu times (am i the only oasis fan who can't stand this tuneless racket?)
and the rubbish instrumental a quick peep.the b-side to stop crying your heart out, thankyou for the good times,written by andy bell would have been a great album closer.so here we have another oasis album that's not perfect but is at least as good as morning glory.just hurry up lad's and release something new quick!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Musical chemistry from heaven, 10 Aug 2006
By 
C. Smith (Devon, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Heathen Chemistry (Audio CD)
People said that Oasis were finally back on form with the album 'don't believe the truth'. When I heard this statement I was outraged. They had overlooked such a masterpiece as this album. I am not a huge oasis fan and a lot of their stuff doesn't appeal to me and I not mad on listening to it. After three or four songs released from this I knew I had to have it. The song listing and my ratings are as follows:

1) The Hindu Times - (commercial release) 4/5

2) Force of Nature - 5/5 - makes me want to shout it at the top of my voice when I hear it. Very anthemic sounding to me.

3) Hung in a bad place - 4/5 - not as good as the first two but still amazing

4) Stop crying your heart out (commercial release) - 5/5 - fantastic slow song, one of my influences for buying the album.

5) Songbird (commercial release) - 2/5 - good song but when I saw it on TOTP it put me off of the album.

6) Little by little (commercial release) - 4/5

7) A quick peep - 2/5 - good but whats the point? Gets quite annoying listening to album several times

8) Probably all in the mind - 3/5 -the start of the slower happy songs on the album, I am not mad on these but they are very good when you are in the right mood

9) She is love - 3/5 - quite irritating when you get 'lifted' by listening to the beginning of the album and then there is an acoustic track on there, good though

10) Born on a different cloud - 4/5 - quite weird at the beginning but gets very good, my favourite on the second half of the album

11) Better man - 4/5 - here come the accents, this song is great with a huge dabbling of manc accent in there. Fast forwrd for around 30 minutes when it finishes to get to a song like track seven but much better.

All in all this is a very good album and I would highly recommend it, it sits proudly on my shelf as one of my favourite albums.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Heathen Chemistry
Buy MP3 Album£7.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews