Customer Reviews


30 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


23 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful Introduction To An Incredible Composer
This terrific introduction to the music of Arvo Pärt is an ideal entry point for those unsure where to begin searching through his vast body of work, providing an excellent overview of the composer's better-known pieces.

The compilation strikes a wonderful balance between Pärt's choral and orchestral compositions. The recordings are beautiful...
Published on 22 Jun 2011 by Chankos

versus
8 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The best Part?
I'm not sure this really is the 'best' of Arvo Part, though I am a fan. Some of the tracks are a little thin on inspiration and interest, but the performance is articulate and enjoyable. If you like Part, buy it. If you've not bought any Arvo Part before, you might like to start somewhere else.
Published on 27 Aug 2009 by Elginson


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

23 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful Introduction To An Incredible Composer, 22 Jun 2011
This terrific introduction to the music of Arvo Pärt is an ideal entry point for those unsure where to begin searching through his vast body of work, providing an excellent overview of the composer's better-known pieces.

The compilation strikes a wonderful balance between Pärt's choral and orchestral compositions. The recordings are beautiful throughout, particularly "Festina Lente" and "Fratres". The performance of "Cantus" is particularly awe-inspiring.

This was the very first Arvo Pärt album I purchased several years ago, but certainly not the last. As such, I have alot to thank this wonderfully-priced primer for. Do not hesitate to buy this compilation if you have even the slightest interest in beautiful, inspirational music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


58 of 65 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Master at his best, 13 Jun 2005
By 
Heino Viik "Heino" (Tallinn, Estonia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This is a great collection of music from the greatest living composer. The music is deep, with ever present religious feel - not dissimilar from Bach's in this respect. Besides being great for focussed listening, it is excellent background music. Fratres for string orchestra and percussion and Cantus in memoriam Benjamin Britten are among my all time favorites. Must have!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars is he part or is he pert?, 23 April 2012
By 
gille liath (US of K) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Does modern classical music have to be either brainless and gushing, or forbidding and intellectual? 'No!' says Arvo Part. If he's the most celebrated living composer, it's because his music is accessible but still has an edge - unmistakeably modern, but harking back to much earlier times.

There's certainly a suggestion of medieval church music, with its strange but simple structures, about some of his choral works; and, for me, these are the best pieces on the disc. Summa is a revelation: emotional but not sentimental, the feeling kept in balance by awareness of a greater reality. It would be a great choice for a funeral - more so, in my opinion, than the rather doom-laden Cantus in Memoriam.

The instrumental pieces are less impressive; fairly standard exercises in their respective genres, if anything they err towards gushing.

It's a little strange on a Best Of to be given two different versions of the same piece; Part seems to be a man who likes to make a little go a long way. But if, in the end, he's something of a bits'n'pieces composer, some of the bits are very good indeed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Forget the categories of the music industry!, 15 Nov 2013
This is a great introduction to one of the less known composers.

Everyone talks of Beethoven, Bach etc. but Arvo Part's music comes from somewhere else and it even has a relation to some of the drone music that is common in progressive and metal music.

But, if you are a purely classical music fan don't let this put you off.

This is sedate, meditative music but is has great soul.

If you think you don't like classical music forget the categories of the industry and just listen to this, in particular, Summa for strings and the Cantus in Memorium Benjamin Brittan which is simple but superb.

Enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Captivating Music & Performances!, 23 Nov 2008
By 
Scriabinmahler (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
These are deeply felt and captivating performances of Pärt's best-known works. My favourite Spiegel im Spiegel is played a bit too fast, but Tasmin Little's playing is wonderfully refined and imaginative, if not so deep as Shaham's accliamed version.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Bravo Arvo, 16 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A beautiul varied collection of ethereal classical music all for the price of a couple of quid. I particularly enjo Spiegel and Fratres which has gorgeous violin.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent selection, 22 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I bought this CD after enjoying Arvo Pärt's 'Lamentate' and wanting to know more of the music of this composer. This CD gives an excellent selection of his compositions and includes the very powerful, intense 'Cantus in Memorium Benjamin Britten'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Best of Arvo Pärt - I like it!, 30 Oct 2010
A very enjoyable mix of Pärt's works. Some of it may be more difficult if you are not used to his style, while other items is more classical.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good Anthology, 29 Mar 2007
By 
maximus (manchester, uk) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
For those who are unfamiliar with the composer, then this disc provides a very good introduction to the composer's better known works, with some very moving passages. The performances are spot on.

If you like what you hear on this disc, then you should give his symphonies a try too. I think no.3 is my favourite.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beatitudes, 28 Jan 2006
By 
Paul D. Buisseret "Cathedral Junkie" (Sussex, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Glorious and spine tingling singing of this beautiful poetry from St. Mark.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Best of Arvo Pärt
The Best of Arvo Pärt by Various artists
Buy MP3 Album£3.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews