Customer Reviews


77 Reviews
5 star:
 (43)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (11)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another great album...
I bought this album after only hearing Blue Orchid and The Nurse, and also because i am a huge White Stripes fan.
The whole album is not dissapointing in the least. There has been doubt previous to the release after Jack White stated that he didn't much use his guitar on the album, but none of these people had heard the album.
Many were put off by Blue Orchid,...
Published on 9 Jun 2005 by chanthacic

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Satan's works
I didn't like this anywhere near as much as 'Elephant', which I played to death in 2005. More disjointed and with fewer standout tracks; those that do make the grade are 'As Ugly as I Seem' and 'Passive Manipulation', whilst 'Nurse' and 'Blue Orchid' aren't too bad. Overall better than its appalling follow-up 'Icky Thump', where I suspect Jack and Meg are simply taking...
Published on 9 May 2009 by Captain Pugwash


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another great album..., 9 Jun 2005
This review is from: Get Behind Me Satan (Audio CD)
I bought this album after only hearing Blue Orchid and The Nurse, and also because i am a huge White Stripes fan.
The whole album is not dissapointing in the least. There has been doubt previous to the release after Jack White stated that he didn't much use his guitar on the album, but none of these people had heard the album.
Many were put off by Blue Orchid, saying it wasn't "Seven Nation Army", but why would we want to hear an exact replica? Jack wasn't making Seven Nation Army Part 2, it was a new track with a fresh sound.
The White Stripes albums are always slight different; their first, self titled album was ecclectic and noisey, brilliant of course and very very raw. Next up came De Stijl, which sounded quieter than their debut but still as energetic. The lyrics were more mature and the album sounded polished and well made.
Their third album, White Blood Cells was the most "studio-sounding", it featured excellent lyrics and a more folky background.
The big one was Elephant, made in about three weeks this album was a sweet mix of bluesy guitar and quiet, moving songs and of course Seven Nation army.
Their new album, Get Behind Me Satan is probably the most experimental, with the introduction of the Marimba as a prominent instrument (a sort of giant Xylaphone)and more piano than guitar; the album is almost shocking by the way it has been stripped down. The first song Blue Orchid is fantastic and feels very Stripesy, next up is The Nurse, our introduciton to Jack on the Marimba, this song is also very good, the lyrics and rhythm are excellent.
Next is My Doorbell, sounding very fifties and with a catchy tune this is probably their most releasable track after the single out now.
Forever for her (is over for me) is a song on the piano, very nice.
Little ghost, a folky song with some great harmonies.
The Denial twist, fantastic, ecclectic and brilliant!
White moon is chilled out and calm.
Instinct blues is another of the quiet ones, with a bit of guitar, also good.
Passive Manipualtion, short and sweet, sung by Meg, but her voice sounds weaker than cold cold night on Elephant.
Take take take is guitar and rock all the way, fabulous.
As ugly as i seem is sweet and quite quiet.
Red Rain is bizarre and brilliant!
I'm lonely, a good closing track very nice.
This album is definately worth buying given time will become a favourite. BUY IT!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Comforting, 6 Jun 2005
By 
Elliot Davies "ahttt" (Liverpool, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Get Behind Me Satan (Audio CD)
It's really comforting that a band this adventurous can climb such dizzying heights. Record an album in two weeks featuring more Marimba than guitar and STILL headline Glastonbury? Music, it seems, is in a very good state.
The best thing about the White Stripes is the way you can analyse them to death. The artworks full of symbolism and religious imagery, engrossing! And JAck wrote a very thought provoking....thing...yeah, the artwork alone is worth the price, but people ain't like that! They want the music too!
Luckily it delivers, OH IT DELIVERS!
I WOULD say that "The Nurse" is the best track. Built around a Marimba with seemingly sporadic bursts of noise and lyrics about betrayal of trust, how those who you trust with your life could well be the ones to kill you. The White Stripes at their most experimental, adventurous, and best.
There are two other themes that seem to prevail. "Little Ghost" and "Take. Take. Take" seem to be about falling in love with a ghost that only you can see. What a lovely thought.
Meanwhile, tracks such as "I'm Lonely (But I Ain't That Lonely Yet)" toy with the idea of incest....intriguing, seeing as we're still not too sure if "they guys" are brother and sister, hmmm.
See, it's intrigue that makes them. They are...some of the mystics of music. As such it's quite hard to hate them. How could one possibly hate a band this interesting?
Ah, yeah, the music. It isn't to everyone's taste. Some will be expecting (DEMANDING) more Elephant, more riotous rock outs. They WILL be dissappointed, they will spit upon this album and sit in a corner, foetal position, gently rocking, caressing their dog eared copy of White Blood Cells. But for the more adventurous listener, who appreciates the place of the marimba in music, this is a treat, well reccommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rediscovered Rock, 19 Jun 2007
This review is from: Get Behind Me Satan (Audio CD)
I recently started listening to this album again after a break of two years and am so glad I did.The tracks still sound as fresh and invigorating as when it was released in 2005,a pivotal year for music.

Every one on this album rocks.My favourites include: Blue Orchid, Take Take Take, and My Doorbell.Blues at its best in the 21st Century and a raw,riveting listen.The White Stripes have one of the strongest visual images in rock at the moment,not contrived like some modern bands.

And it won't date,believe me. Buy this album if you can and if you like intelligent powerhouse blues/rock songs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Garage Groove, 10 Jun 2005
This review is from: Get Behind Me Satan (Audio CD)
The White Stripes have their own special sound that, no matter how their albums vary in influence and style, they retain that underlying White Stripes Sound. That sound is still here on Get Behind Me Satan, so even if all you like is Elephant (which, lets be fair, is their most easily accessible album for the Man In The Street), you should love this album. There is enough here to keep everyone satisfied. There is a bit more funk and groove added to the mix here. They just grow stronger with every album. If you like your music with a garage groove, you can't go wrong with this purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars White Stripes take a step into the unknown, 29 July 2005
This review is from: Get Behind Me Satan (Audio CD)
To start with I have only recently delved into the wonder that is the White Stripes and have only 3 of their albums in my collection, the brilliant White blood cells and the equally moving Elephant, and can comfortably say that this album treads over that treacherous line of experimentation with amazing results. From the opener Blue orchid, with its irresistable riffs, to the immensely catchy My Doorbell, to the soothing ballad Forever for her, to the glorious finisher Im Lonely, this album leaves you breathless and craving for more. Despite the awkward nature of certain songs, Nurse being one in particular with its random crashes through certain sections, I highly recommend this album and believe it to be a truly worthy addition to the White Stripes catalogue.
Current favourites off the album:
My Doorbell, Forever for her, Little Ghost, Instinct blues, Take, Ugly as I seem, Im Lonely.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars All change for The Stripes?, 14 Jun 2005
This review is from: Get Behind Me Satan (Audio CD)
There have been various critiques of this record saying that it is unlike anything The White Stripes have created before. Indeed, listening to the beginning of 'The Nurse' may have you thinking the same. Jack and Meg White have here created a record which is unlike their others in many respects, but still with hints of the past.
Tracks such as Blue Orchid, The Nurse and My Doorbell should become instant Stripes classics. The raw, catchy beats of Blue Orchid will immediately hook the listener, encouraging to take the entire ride that is Get Behind Me, Satan. Indeed, many of the tracks on the album are certainly different to things which have been done before. The Nurse, perhaps most noticeably, accompanied by a jagged piano and marimba, is quite a new angle for the Stripes to take, though it does them many favours.
Clocking in at just under forty-five minutes, this is well worth the money. Some fans may be shocked by the noticeable lack of squealing guitar solos; the music is now more raw and edgy. Fans of the White Stripes should certainly not miss this, and fans of indie rock, alternative rock and rock in general should give this a try - you'll probably be glad you did.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Original, Frighteningly Excellent, 8 Aug 2005
By 
D. Tuffnell (Huddersfield, West Yorkshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Get Behind Me Satan (Audio CD)
I love The White Stripes, and have their four albums previous to this, and I love them all. When I got this, I fell in love with it straight away as well!
It introduces a lot of new instruments into what the pair uses, and so many more ideas and melodies are featured on the album thanks to that, it's more original and fresh than any of their previous.
It brings in a darker world to the White Stripes, musically and lyrically, as well as live. A brilliant, diverse album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Interestingly Different, 26 Jun 2005
This review is from: Get Behind Me Satan (Audio CD)
I am a huge White Stripes fan and the first time I heard this album I was massively disappointed. However, that is the end of the bad news. Having listened to it several times now I can say that I really enjoy it now. Its very experimental and different. Those who say that Meg and Jack cannot play their instruments are off their trolley, they are both fantastic for the music they play. If you are not very familiar with the White Stripes, you should know that they are a very original band, who combine blues, rock and metal in a combination that only they know how to.
This is certainly not their best album, and should not be their first album that you own, but if you have any of their other albums, I think it is definitely worth adding to your collection, as it shows their interesting experimental side, and is very enjoyable with several listens.
I'm not going to break down every song, but my favourite has got to be My Doorbell; its classic stripes, with nothing but drums, vocals and piano in a fantastic combination. I thought that the White Stripes had really messed up to start with, but I was a very long way off the mark. Love it, very glad I bought it, but I think I'd like a bit more of White Blood Cells style in their next album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Just when you thought they couldn't get better..., 2 Aug 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Get Behind Me Satan (Audio CD)
...along comes their most fresh and experimental album yet. The fact that only three of the thirteen tracks have guitar, with the others using marimba, bass (yes, bass!) and piano, may have put some off. But their music works just as well, if not better, with these thrown into the melting pot.
The album kicks off in raucous style, with first single "Blue Orchid" an incredibly catchy tune that you just have to sing along to. Other little gems hidden in the album include new single "My Doorbell", where Jack does just as well on piano as he does on guitar (is there anything he can't do?). "little Ghost", "The Denial Twist", "Passive Manipulation" (sung by Meg, she really should do more), "Take Take Take" and "I'm Lonely (But I Ain't That Lonely Yet)" bring the album onto a level with Elephant.
The White Stripes have managed to move on even further here. Coming away from Elephant slightly and into more unknown territory, they leave the others trailing in their wake. If they carry on like this, no one will be able to keep up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A glorious fifth outing of an impeccable career., 6 Jun 2005
This review is from: Get Behind Me Satan (Audio CD)
Fantastic album. A creative tour de force. A band at the peak of their powers, flexing their muscles and stretching their boundaries. Don't impose yours on them with narrow expectations.
Listeners inevitably baulk when a favourite artist steers their ship in an unexpected direction. Have Radiohead been forgiven for Kid A and Amnesia yet? But really "Get Behind Me Satan" is not so different from the preceding albums. Listen a little harder. It's just a little broader, a bit more imaginative, a more challenging palette. The addition of marimba and piano shouldn't really be so difficult to swallow surely?
Interesting that it's released the same week as a new "Coldplay" album. I'd be amazed if anyone is either surprised with that or disappointed by it. And that, music lovers, is the whole point ...
A glorious fifth outing of an impeccable career. Take up Jack and Meg's challenge, be disappointed if you must, then be enthralled and fall in love with the Stripes all over again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Get Behind Me Satan
Get Behind Me Satan by The White Stripes
Buy MP3 Album£7.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews