Customer Reviews
Pod


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Quite simply one of the best albums of its era, if not more
This is one of those defining albums, the album that will open you up to a whole new music world. Absolutely superb melody's with the gorgeous vocals of Kim Deal and Tanya Donelly (could there be better?), the only possible improvement I could suggest on this is to hear Donelly more. Last Splash, the follow up, is a cracker as well, but this is the real deal. This is the...
Published on 22 Feb 2002

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars silver drops
The best thing about the Breeders is that their songs do the same to your mind as those of other bands your feet jig up and down or make your arms imitate instruments or your head and your body do that little sitting down dance where one goes to the left and the other to the right. Listen to 'Opened':

And I saw the wind blow back her Barbie doll hair
Robin...
Published on 24 April 2008 by Jack Hyde


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Quite simply one of the best albums of its era, if not more, 22 Feb 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Pod (Audio CD)
This is one of those defining albums, the album that will open you up to a whole new music world. Absolutely superb melody's with the gorgeous vocals of Kim Deal and Tanya Donelly (could there be better?), the only possible improvement I could suggest on this is to hear Donelly more. Last Splash, the follow up, is a cracker as well, but this is the real deal. This is the music that still influences a huge number of bands.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome!!!, 12 April 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Pod (Audio CD)
In my opinion, this album is far superior to 'Last splash', although after the reading other reviews alot of people may disagree. I totally adore this album, its one of the best albums I own. Its not the pixies but still very good. Standout tracks are 'Metal Man', 'Oh', the beatles cover,'Happiness is a warm gun', 'Doe', hell I love all the tracks.
Produced by the genius Steve Albini who did Bush's(my favourite band of all time) excellent Razorblade Suitcase, The Pixies Surfer Rosa, Nirvana's In Utero, which you guys should check out too. It has that trade mark 'Albini' feel to it, very raw, dark, disturbing and very cool!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars silver drops, 24 April 2008
By 
Jack Hyde (Suffolk, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Pod (Audio CD)
The best thing about the Breeders is that their songs do the same to your mind as those of other bands your feet jig up and down or make your arms imitate instruments or your head and your body do that little sitting down dance where one goes to the left and the other to the right. Listen to 'Opened':

And I saw the wind blow back her Barbie doll hair
Robin flies again

and those word will get between your ears and ... tickle you, mentally. There is plenty of that on this album, but there's also a lot that sounds as though no thought or effort has gone into it, songs worthy of that musical dirty word: side-project. They weren't at the level of Last Splash at that point, and the band is not as impeccably tightly-locked as they are on that album. Half of the time, though, this doesn't matter because the song has a mind, spirit, legs and b****cks of its own - see 'Doe', 'Happiness Is A Warm Gun', 'Iris', 'Opened' and 'Metal Man'. Anyone who listened to Last Splash and got it should find enough Kim Deal magic to make Pod worth the money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Breeders' finest hour, 22 May 2012
This review is from: Pod (MP3 Download)
I regard this as a superb album that is one-of-a-kind. I remember when it came out, way back in 1990, and how enthralling and original it sounded. The Breeders on Pod have a sound of their own that is impossible to pigeon-hole.

Is it rock? There are grinding guitars and drawling vocals. But it is rock of a very introspective, "gothic" variety. Kim Deal puts you under a spell with her croaky, witch-like vocals. The guitars have an eerie, spine-tingling edge to them. On tracks such as "Glorious" and "Iris", their sinister plodding reminds me of a spider's web, slowly and irresistibly drawing you in...

Is it pop? Sunny tracks like "Fortunately Gone", with sweet and catchy harmonies, would seem to say so. But there is a threatening undercurrent bubbling not far below the surface (and prone to erupt at any moment, as in the wonderful finale "Metal Man".)

Is it classical? The sublime violin on "Oh!", and the charming classical guitar in "Metal Man", add a note of poignant melancholy.

This eclectic mish-mash no doubt reflects the contrasting musical pedigrees of the band's mainstays - ex-Pixies rock-chick Kim Deal, dreamy indie-popper Tanya Donelly, and artsy Englishwoman Jo Wiggs - who came together to form the Breeders, originally as a side project.

My opinion is that the Breeders were never the same after Tanya Donelly went off to form her own band, Belly - apparently taking with her most of the spooky weirdness that made Pod such a unique and brilliant album.

I'm afraid the Breeders' next album, the far more conventional and commercially-successful Last Splash, just didn't do it for me. (Although the Safari EP released in between is a little gem well worth checking out).

That makes Pod even more extraordinary and special.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A dark ,interesting listen., 3 Oct 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Pod (Audio CD)
I bought this because I loved Last Splash and was not disappointed. It has an intense overall feel and has the Breeders trademark changes in pace/style. The standout tracks are "Happiness is a warm gun", and the intriguingly unsettling "Metal Man". If you're out looking for another classic cut - such as cannonball - you may be disappointed. Otherwise you'll find beautifully flawed gems of tracks and fantastic 4ad artwork.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Pod, 16 May 2011
This review is from: Pod (Audio CD)
This is an excellent piece of work, I love Kim Deal's vocals and music, she is pure class. Forgot about this album for a long time and I'm very pleased to have now obtained it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I HEAR HEAVEN CALLING ME, 27 Dec 2003
This review is from: Pod (Audio CD)
This Album,can be dark in some song's,but for me it's a happy album,it kinda makes me wanna sit in the sun shine and just paint pictures of dead crow's,and for once i have heard a album,that aint to heavy either,i mean heavy is sometimes good,but you know its kinda mellow,and i like that,the breeders have their own kinda sound,and i like alot,kim's vocal's just spit love hearts at you,and kinda incase you in them,it's a very addictive album,after a few listens to it!
but an all round classic album,from a classic band!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars ..., 24 Feb 2001
This review is from: Pod (Audio CD)
The flawed vocals, vague lyrics, guitars, violin, and Albini's production produce a fantastic atmosphere, even at the weaker points. There's some great, whoosey stuff like 'Oh', 'When I was a Painter', 'Happiness is a warm gun'. Sinister, beautiful and fun, with a uniqueness that sets it apart from Last Splash, even if the follow up is more polished.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you can't get enough of The Pixies then this is a must, 3 Oct 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Pod (Audio CD)
I had this years ago on vinyl and have managed to relocate it through Amazon and I am chuffed. Haven't heard it for years but remember it as being excellent. Kim Deal and The Pixies' influence are obvious. Enjoy. Nostalgia!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Pod
Pod by The Breeders
Buy MP3 Album£7.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews