Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


27 of 27 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Machines do rock!
This reissue of Tubeway Army's seminal work is welcome because it spotlights the underrated vision and talent of Gary Numan.Amongst the first of the new wavers to see the potential of the synthsiser as a valid pop instrument, Numan went about constructing a fine album of futuristic pop that was both in tune with its aggressive times,and crucially,gave pretty much the...
Published on 26 Feb 2008 by Paul M

versus
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Replicas Replicas
As with "The Pleasure Principle 30th Anniversary Edition" the sound quality of the original album is much improved compared to the previous releases on CD, but once again we have a bonus disc of material that is very poor musicically that should have stayed in a cupboard. The design of this album (again as with "TPP 30th") is much to be desired, who needs a picture of a...
Published on 23 April 2010 by P. Long


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

27 of 27 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Machines do rock!, 26 Feb 2008
By 
Paul M "ROYALSFAN" (Reading ,England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This reissue of Tubeway Army's seminal work is welcome because it spotlights the underrated vision and talent of Gary Numan.Amongst the first of the new wavers to see the potential of the synthsiser as a valid pop instrument, Numan went about constructing a fine album of futuristic pop that was both in tune with its aggressive times,and crucially,gave pretty much the first hints at a direction pop music would take in the next decade.

Both bleak,and foreboding,Replicas was an important album in establishing a new musical order,that two years earlier would have been unthinkable.Without Numan's breakthrough album,synthesised music may never have become such a huge musical influence,and the impact of "Are Friends Electric" as a massive number one single in 1979 still resonates in popular music today.

This reissue updates the original album by adding a full disc of demos that in some way retain the spirit of Numan's vision better than the finished product["When The Machines Rock" has a vocal missing from the Replicas version, giving the song a considerably different atmosphere,and the previously non album "We Have A Technical" was good enough for the final cut,but presumably left off for timing reasons].These demo tracks suggest Numan had plenty of ideas,and their rawer edge means they form the perfect missing link between the first Tubeway Army album,and Replicas.

Gary Numan would confirm that his success was no fluke with two fine follow up albums in the next two years,but it was Replicas that opened the gates to the final acceptance of the synthesiser as a valid pop instrument.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nice early synth album, 1 Mar 2008
Quite an important landmark album is REPLICA'S. Despite not being the first to take synth's into the pop world.
It's stark and icy in it's sound. It's quite a jump in music direction from his punk guitar root's. I do like the idea of including the early version of the album (disc 2) with the original release album.
I was expecting a very raw sounding version of REPLICA'S. Some of the arrangement's do work well. What part's were replaced by guitar were done on synth's.
There is some interesting sleeve notes about the development of Gary Numan's evolving creativity.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Numan was a true innovator, 29 May 2008
By 
Pieter Uys "Toypom" (Johannesburg) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Replicas Redux (Audio CD)
This enhanced version of the classic 1979 synth-rock album confirms Gary Numan's originality and innovative vision. Musically, Kraftwerk must have been a model, whilst thematically, David Bowie's work like Diamond Dogs and Alladinsane would have provided inspiration.

This type of synth music experienced a great flowering the next decade with groups like Eurythmics, OMD, Yaz(oo), The Human League and individual artists like Klaus Nomi. Although Bowie's Low and Suicide's debut album both appeared in 1977, Numan deserves the credit for bringing this genre into the mainstream.

The world it paints is bleak, a nightmarish landscape of aliens, alienation and fear, in melodious songs like Down in the Park and the arresting Are 'Friends' Electric? The second disc of earlier alternative versions is quite impressive, in some cases more striking than the familiar versions. Here, Only A Downstat and The Crazies must be singled out.

The packaging is impressive too with plenty of pics and information on the artist and the times. This reissue is well worth the price to enjoy again the first stirrings of the golden age of synthesizer music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars REDUX 'OH YES', 26 Feb 2008
By 
Mark W. Muir "caroline6505" (Edinburgh) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Theres not much to say about this release,to celebrate 30yrs of Mr Numan except YOU HAVE TO BUY THIS, IT IS ONE OF MUSIC'S HIDDEN GEMS.I bought the album back in 1979,and it has never lost it's appeal to me,it was so different back then and even now it still feels fresh.This release has the original plus extras (Demo's/Early versions)and it's the extras that show you how raw sounding early electronic music was compared to today,but this is it's charm.Replicas should be up there with the all time great albums.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gary Numan is God! (possibly), 27 Aug 2009
By 
As an 80s kid I loved my synthy stuff so I loved Ultravox, Visage, Art of Noise, Human League etc. Of course, I heard Cars and Are Friends Electric by Numan at the time and liked them. But that was that - I never got or heard his albums and neither did my friends.

Roll on 25 years or so...my brother played me a track of this synth compilation - one of the tracks was 'Praying to the Aliens' by Gary Numan. This one grew on me and my brother. So I downloaded Replicas....and then the Gary Numan addiction started! Needless to say, I bought Pleasure Principle, Replicas and Telekon soon after.

What can I say? I dont like these because of nostalgia etc - Ive only been listening to these albums for about six months now! (non-stop I hasten to add!). Pleasure Principle is my favourite (just) with Replicas and Telekon a close second and third (dont underestimate Telekon - it really grows on you!). I couldnt name a favourite track only to say that dont think Gary Numan is a two-hit wonder (Cars and Are Friends Electric?) because he is definitely not. I would say that Im not so keen on his new stuff though as its a bit industrial for me.

If you like the old 80s synth stuff, if you like House, if you like weird electronic stuff - you NEED these three albums. Its as simple as that. If you think that all these oh-so-dull modern indie/rock bands are getting too much give these a go - you might like them, you might love them!

Also - dont forget the Pleasure Principle tour at the end of the year, Ive got my tickets already!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars very impessive, 4 Mar 2008
By 
Mr. Dean J. Jenkins "djj081961" (South Wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Replicas Redux (Audio CD)
This is one of the benchmark albums for Electronic Rock, and it is amasing just how fresh and up to date it still sounds after nearly 30 years. The second disc shows just how ome of these tracks developed, indeed a few are inspiring to listen too when considering how the final version ended up. I purchased the 3 disc version direct which has 'remixes' and let my teen son listen to it, he was shocked as its almost drum and bass!!! Id recommend this 100%
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great album., 24 Feb 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
My favorite Numan album. The sound quality on all tracks is excellent. The demos are great quality and in most cases just as good as the final versions so well worth the money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Leicester Bangs Review (2008):, 22 Feb 2011
By 
Leicester Bangs "words-R-us" (Leicester, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Gary Numan & Tubeway Army - Replicas 2008 Tour Edition (Beggars Banquet)
This album (together with its follow up, Pleasure Principle) must have financed Beggars Banquet for a good few years after its original release, so it's good of them to return the favour nearly 30 years later with a special reissue to coincide with Numan taking Replicas on the road this spring.

This album, a seminal UK electronica recording if ever there was one, made Numan a mainstream star. He may not have been the first, Ultravox had been clashing guitars with synths for a couple of years previous (check out Ha Ha Ha), and if you want to be a purist about it, Pete Townshend had layered Moogs all over Who's Next back in 1971, but Numan was the first to register mass appeal with a synth-based sound. Actually, the contrast with The Who is an interesting one because Replicas is as much a concept album as Tommy or Quadrophenia, albeit one inspired by science-fiction, and Philip K. Dick in particular. Its imagery is pure Bladerunner, a film that appeared a couple of years later.

This special edition comes packaged with a second disc which includes all those troublesome to find b-sides and rarities, of which "We Have A Technical" and "Do You Need The Service?" will find their way onto plenty of iPods. It would have been nice if Beggars had finally found a CD home for the "Bombers" single, but what are you going to do? 10/10.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of my "groundhog" albums., 1 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
How do I jusify spending £15 on an album that is the best part of 35 years old is the question I asked myself. I have it on vinyl , and on my PC , so why ? Well it's just one of those albums I just keep going back to time and time again, classic synths , not quite as memorable as Pleasure principle, but it's up there with the best. The second disc is worth the money on it's own , just to here the songs I've been playing all these years, but with a different slant , is like watching Bladerunner with a third alternative ending......if you know what I mean, which if your'e reading this review, then I'm sure you do ;-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars And A Star Is Born, 3 Feb 2012
By 
Pink (Great Britain) - See all my reviews
Coupled with the surprise mega-hit 'Are Friends Electric?' this is the album that catapaulted Gary Numan to fame in 1979. And rightly so, for it is a unique recording that captured his transition from punk rock guitar-slinger to synth pioneer at the perfect time to also capture the record-buying public's imagination.

So compared to the first Tubeway Army album, the guitars are dialled down and the synths more abundant, although certain guitar-driven songs made it through (The Machman, You Are In My Vision, It Must Have been Years), which help give the album it's signature hybrid sound.

Aside from the big hit single, other highlights include the classic 'Praying To The Aliens', live favourite 'Me, I Disconnect From You' and the rather spooky title track. The album also features the epic 'Down In The Park', although for me the studio version is a bit weedy (but checkout the live version from Living Ornaments 79...that kicks ass!)

This re-issue gives you the original album plus B-sides on Disc 1, including the should-have-been-an-A-side 'We Are So Fragile' and 'Do You Need The Service', a song which was arguably Numan's last hurrah as a guitar-hero.

Disc 2 gives you demos and alternative mixes of the album, plus the three missing tracks from the Replicas recording sessions, which first saw the light of day as part of a series of retrospective EPs in the mid-80's, and demonstrates what a creative roll Numan must have been on, to be able to leave such quality material on the cutting-room floor.

So plenty of interesting stuff for the fans, but if you're new to Replicas don't be put off by all the extras, just relax and let the original, classic, utterly peerless album wash over you. And if you like it, get your wallet ready, because the mighty 'Pleasure Principle' was just round the corner and believe me, you are going to need that too!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Replicas Redux
Replicas Redux by Gary Numan / Tubeway Army
Buy MP3 Album£9.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews