Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars summer and autumn
nothing can be sure to cheer me up like listening to banhart. inevitable really when most of his songs are about things like trees and bugs and breakfast.
musically similar to folk artists like nick drake (with some comparable string sections) and john renbourn, but with a slight manic, backwoods feel (largely created by the droning, sometimes quiet-sometimes loud,...
Published on 4 Feb 2005 by Mr. T. G. Howells

versus
7 of 74 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Major disappointment
Bought this item after reading a fantastic review in the paper.
I was thoroughly disappointed: monotonous and moaning, not at all
what I was lead to expect. Save your money and buy something else.
Published on 25 Jun 2004


Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars summer and autumn, 4 Feb 2005
By 
Mr. T. G. Howells "captainjazz1" (Isle of Wight/London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
nothing can be sure to cheer me up like listening to banhart. inevitable really when most of his songs are about things like trees and bugs and breakfast.
musically similar to folk artists like nick drake (with some comparable string sections) and john renbourn, but with a slight manic, backwoods feel (largely created by the droning, sometimes quiet-sometimes loud, perfect vocals) banharts songs are low key and pretty, with a definate autumnul, earthy feel, perfect for hazy evenings and summer mornings.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars lo-fi perfection, 18 Mar 2005
I've not heard any of Banhart's previous records, but this is a beauty. delicate and understated but with a thrilling energy and wit that makes these simple guitar and voice songs sound a million miles away from the drippy miserablism of some singer/songwriter fare. Similar in spirit to Joanna Newsom's 'The Milk-Eyed Mender', (tho i guess Banhart was there first). There's more beauty in any one of these lo-fi gems than in a whole HMV full of over-produced digital blandness. If you're a Banhart fan, check out also David Thomas Broughton's 'Guide To Insufficiency'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Yeah, it's a little different., 26 Aug 2004
By A Customer
Don't listen to the first review on this page. The music is unusual, but never unapproachable.
This album has truly grown on me. The first listen was "wow, weird", but it just gets better. My only minor gripe is the occasional immaturity of the guitar playing, but maybe this creates an even better record because of it.
Whilst it's not an album you just pop on, it is something you will keep coming back to for those more personal listening moments.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Breathtaking Debut Album, 23 May 2004
By 
c m thompson (London United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This summer when the temperature creeps up toward 95° and the air conditioner isn't cutting it, go sit on your porch and put on Devendra Banhart's new album Rejoicing in the Hands. Each song is a folk music gem, and the combination of his tremendous guitar plucking and trembling voice provides an emotional weight to this album that few previous lo-fi recordings have come close to achieving.
What the record represents is a distillation of the material he presented earlier. Recorded with Lynn Bridges over the course of a couple weeks in his living room in Georgia, the tracks here feel more intimate and yet still spacious, framed by the occasional chirping of cicadas and subtle arrangements that laconically pass through. When stripped of the tape hiss, Banhart's guitar is given room to breathe, giving his songs an openness and sense of urgency that was often lacking before - while "This Is the Way" is as breezy as a summer night on a back porch, "A Sight to Behold" bristles with a rising vocal line held against intricate guitar work and the occasional orchestral flourish.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic Folk For A New Millenium, 29 May 2004
By 
To keep it short and simple, like Banharts songs, this album is totally enchanting and beguiling. Reminiscent of the days of John Martin and Nick Drake, Banharts songs are whispery, accompanied by a little guitar and sparse piano. This is the first record of the year to blow me away - a definite soundtrack for my summer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Marc Bolan meets Nick Drake, 20 Dec 2009
By 
Alan Murray (Edinburgh) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Heard this first in one of Edinburgh's finest vegetarian restaurants (Black Bo's) and was forced to ask who it was. My prediction is that if you like either or both of Bolan and Drake, you'll love this. If you dislike either of them, it will bring you out in a rash!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Music in its finest form, 20 Aug 2011
Perhaps the best album ever, can't think of any other which is so accessible and uplifting. Integral and heart warming.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Mesmerising, 24 May 2004
This album is captivating, humourous and powerful. From the resonant chorus of "Love, it would much better..." in the second track to the startling finale, it is an important album and a refreshing antidote to the drudge of the daily toil.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars awesome, 21 May 2004
after to very lo fi abums, devandra banhart returns with what must be said is an intense follow up. every track beautifully crafted, gentle and simple. this man is a genius at making dark simple songs sound so beautiful. this album is devendras best work to date. and he is only 23!
draws comparisons to charles mansons crazy recordings and nick drake. this is a must buy album. this is the album of the year and with another album promised in the next six months banhart is proving how much of a talent he is.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 74 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Major disappointment, 25 Jun 2004
By A Customer
Bought this item after reading a fantastic review in the paper.
I was thoroughly disappointed: monotonous and moaning, not at all
what I was lead to expect. Save your money and buy something else.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Rejoicing In The Hands
Rejoicing In The Hands by Devendra Banhart
Buy MP3 Album£7.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews