Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A performance of great distinction
I first wrote this about an earlier issue of this recording, which seems no longer to be available, so I reproduce it here.

I have always considered the sound of the King's College Choir to be too lightweight and polite, and in this recording their German pronunciation is sometimes awry. Having got that off my chest, I can say that everything else about this...
Published on 7 Feb 2012 by Musica Vita

versus
3 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Was hoping it was an English vocal edition.
As my wife will be singing it with the choir she is in she was hoping it would be in English and not German. Thought about returning it unopened but looked for an English version on the WEB but could not find one so it would help if the description stated the language that it was sung in.
Published 14 months ago by Amazon Customer


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A performance of great distinction, 7 Feb 2012
By 
Musica Vita (Birmingham, UK) - See all my reviews
I first wrote this about an earlier issue of this recording, which seems no longer to be available, so I reproduce it here.

I have always considered the sound of the King's College Choir to be too lightweight and polite, and in this recording their German pronunciation is sometimes awry. Having got that off my chest, I can say that everything else about this performance is splendid. The playing of the Academy of St Martins is impeccable, Philip Ledger's direction inspired, with tempi just right (except for the Lullaby in Part 2 which might have been better slightly slower) and the soloists seem ideally suited to this music. Robert Tear is a persuasive, declamatory Evangelist and sings his arias with great feeling, and Elly Ameling is beautifully radiant. It is almost needless to say that Janet Baker and Dietrich Fischer-Dieskau give performances of real distinction. His "Grosser Herr" in Part 1 will make you sit up and listen, but his delicate accompanied recitatives are even more moving. I find Janet Baker's "Schliesse mein Herz" in Part 3 to be her best aria here, although the others are also admirable. EMI's recording is of the best, and has overcome most of the notorious reverberation of King's College Chapel.

This is some of Bach's most joyful music, and this performance will cheer you up on the darkest of winter days.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Essential Recording To Hear, 26 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
What can I say about a splendid cast like this for a performance of some of the most exquisite music? The four soloists are some of the best singers for this work and also the beautiful voice contrasts in the choral singing of King's College Choir is worth hearing. This is great for a super recording to be cheap to buy or to download.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent., 21 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a marvellous recording. It did not win the CD review on BBC 3 but it seemed to me to be the best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 5 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Excellent. Could do with one in English as we are singing it in English although I speak German.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Christmas, 1 Jan 2012
An excellent recorder made chtistmas day so tranquil well worth lisdtening on the 25th December I would recommend it to anyone who would like a change to the potted music for christmas.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A GOOD ADDITION TO MY CD LIBRARY, 10 Jan 2012
This was a second-hand CD, but was in excellent condition. This is a work I am very fond of, and this particular recording is most pleasing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Was hoping it was an English vocal edition., 31 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
As my wife will be singing it with the choir she is in she was hoping it would be in English and not German. Thought about returning it unopened but looked for an English version on the WEB but could not find one so it would help if the description stated the language that it was sung in.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars bach for christmas, 4 Nov 2011
By 
CATRIONA (STROMNESS, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I bought this as we're singing part of the oratorio this Christmas. I chose this one because I love Janet Baker's voice and work - and I'm not disappointed. Will continue to listen, even after our concert
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Bach Christmas Oratorio (Ameling, Baker, Tear, Fischer-Dienskau, King's College Choir, Academy of St Martin in the Fields, Sir P, 1 Feb 2009
By 
Bought as a Christmas gift for a relative, this item has given endless hours of listening pleasure I'm told.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 22 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A little more information..., 4 Oct 2010
For those buying this because you are performing it with your choir, please note this CD version is NOT sung in English. I am guessing it is sung in German, but am not 100%. Definitely not in English though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Bach: Christmas Oratorio
Bach: Christmas Oratorio by Sir Philip Ledger
Buy MP3 Album£6.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews