Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen in Prime Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.9 out of 5 stars23
3.9 out of 5 stars
Format: MP3 Download|Change
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 10 January 2004
I've been a fan of the Jaxx since the day 'Remedy' was released.
But for me, this album's much more of a grower than the previous two – I couldn't get into it for several listens. Some songs grab you straight away ('Right here’s The Spot', 'Lucky Star' and 'Plug It In') but others just sound like crazy random noise (esp. 'Supersonic', 'Tonight' and 'Living Room'). For this reason, I couldn’t make my mind up.
After a few listens, however, I was hooked and I now love this album to pieces!
The first few tracks give a great start to the album and ‘Good Luck’ will makes a great single. But then 'Supersonic' is a slight departure, although it picks up towards the end. 'Plug It In' is amazing, but leads on to the weakest track of the album, 'If I Ever Recover' – it’s just too slow! Don't worry though, as its only 3 minutes long and creates great contrast with the next song, 'Cish Cash'. This leads on to the end section which is very cool, esp. 'Hot 'N Cold' and 'Living Room'.
All in all, 'Kish Kash' is an amazingly cool fusion of funk, rock and house with some pumping tracks that'll be stuck in your head for the rest of the day. Great grooves, top vocals and beats you MUST crank up the volume to fully appreciate.
Give it time, it will pay off.
0Comment|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 September 2003
Upon hearing this album a few of the loyal Basement Jaxx may be surprised at the slight push away from house music and how varied this album is. Although don't let that be a disappointment the album is awesome and definitely the best Jaxx album to date. A lot of collaboration work has been done on many of the tracks.
Good Luck (Feat Lisa Kekaula), opens up the album, the song is uplifting and has a Gloria Gaynor I will Survive type of vibe to it but with bigger beats and with a Basement Jaxx twist to it. Right Heres The Spot (Feat Ndegocello), this song almost has a neptune vibe to it. Lucky Star features MOBO nominee Dizee Rascal all the tracks have heavy bass and this one doesn't disappointment. Plug It In (Feat JC Chasez) this track wouldn't look out of place on a daft punk album definitely one which many will be singing along to.
The album really heats up with tracks like Cish Cash (Feat Siouxsie Sioux) this track is awesome with a phatt rolling bassline. Hot N Cold, is another fast paced track with a big beat type vibe to it.
The album doesn't disappoint on some of the more mellower tracks such as If I Ever Recover and Tonight (Feat Phoebe) which sounds like something Moby would come up with.
Basement Jaxx are pushing the sound forward and what they've come up with is totally awesome. Definitely worth buying well before your mates tell you how good it is. There's too many good tracks to pass it up.
0Comment|22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 July 2004
Basement Jaxx is a duo I've always admired, but I never thought they totally deserved all the praise the press lavishes upon them. For sure, they released two really solid albums of jumpy, nervous disco featuring club anthems like "Romeo" and "Rendez-Vous." Are they pretty good? Yeah. But are they knock-me-out brilliant? Nah. However, the London duo's third outing, "Kish Kash," could be the disc that finally justifies the hype. I think it's their best album yet. This time around, the Jaxx rope in a slew of guest vocalists, and they all make great impressions on this disc. Like the songs on their predecessors "Rooty" and "Remedy," the grooves on "Kish Kash" bounce from edgy house to acid-dipped funk that recalls George Clinton and Prince. Meshell Ndegeocello makes two vocal appearances, the better of which is the sensual, clap-your-hands-together jam "Right Here's the Spot," while goth queen Siouxsie Sioux lends her vocals to the abrasive title track, a rush of punk energy Avril Lavinge and Pink would die for. JC Chasez of, ahem, NSYNC makes a near-unrecognizable appearance on the funky "Plug it In," while "Supersonic" (featuring Totlyn Jackson) is an out-there slab of electronica that also stands out. "Kish Kash" is, in my view, the duo's most consistent joint to date, and it easily eclipses their last two efforts. Grade: A-
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 March 2004
I would not generally consider myself a great fan of this genre, but having listened to a couple of download samples I bought this anyway. In general the album's pretty good, and in particular the tracks Lucky Star, Tonight and Living Room are pretty uplifting. Kish Kash is good for getting you in the mood to go out.
If I have sounded a little moderate on my praise so far I have to make an exception for the track Plug It In. This tune is just SO. DAMN. GOOD. I challenge anyone who has even the slightest appreciation for dance music not to love this tune. If you claim not to like it then you're lying, or deaf.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 March 2004
Basement Jaxx's third album opens with the stunning Good Luck, a melange of heavy drum and bass, excellent break beats and the talented Lisa Kekaula coming over all Motown. This has to be the best opener to any new album I've heard in quite a while. Unfortunately, the Jaxx can't keep up this quality, and by the second track, we're back into familiar Rooty territory, although by this stage of their career, the list of feat's is a little more impressive (Dizzee Rascal, JC, Siouxsir Sioux and of course the superb Mehsell Ndegeocello).
However, being in familiar territory with Basement Jaxx is never a bad thing, it's dance music pure and simple (also see Daft Punk, Chemical Bros); the whole point of it is to get your moving (waving your hands in the air like you just don't care), and it achieves this with little effort. Good for listening to before a night out (or after a night out), but it's a little too 'busy' for casual listening.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 October 2003
I've had the album for a week and have listened to it 6/8 times. My first impression wasn't good but after a few more spins it's slowly growing on me but doesn't grab you in the way Remedy or Rooty did. There are a couple of great tracks on here standout being Good Luck, Kish Kash & Living Room but not enough to justify the Jaxx and overall it's got too many fillers.
The weakest album to date but still unlike anyone elses sound and for that the Boys should be congratulated.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 August 2004
As a big fan of Basement Jaxx and owner of their previous outings, i was puzzled when listening to previews why they depart from a formula that has worked them so well in the past. however upon purchasing Kish Kash my fears were layed to rest. Even though this is a significant change in style for Jaxx, there new combination pays off well. The sound of Kish Kash is noticably loader and with more rock undertones, a slight change from previous dance tunes. The title song is a dance rock hybrid that introduces fabulous energy and a clever war themed video involving dancing tanks. Good Luck is definately the leading dance song with feel good vibes oozing out of it. Closely following this in the dance songs stakes on the album is the incredibly infectious Plug It In featuring N*Sync star JC Chasez, it is garunteed this chorus will be echoing in your head for hours after listening! The other noticle track is Lucky Star featuring Mobo Award winning Dizzee Rascal. Dizzee adds his own style to Jaxx beats and an asian tune. This leads the song to sound right in any club whether it be a dance club or Uk Garage scene. Overall this is a fabulous album and a must buy for all true Jaxx fans and anyone looking for a good home grown act that has what it takes to make it huge!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 January 2005
This is the most consistent album for me, i can listen right the way through this album without having to skip any tracks as aresult of the improved consistency.
The singles which are on this album aren't as good as other basement jaxx singles such as 'rendez-vous' or 'Romeo', however, the album tracks are more impressive such as 'hot and cold' and'Right here's the spot'. The other album tracks are also cool which helps makes the album even better and means you don't have to skip any of the songs.
The singles, despite not being as good as previous ones, are still cool, just as cool as the whole album. I believe that it is not the singles that make an album, but the remaining tracks which decide whether an album is good, the album tracks give it the consistency which i didn't quite feel was there in the prevous albums. It is for this reason that i have given it five stars, not only are the singles good but the album tracks are cool making it, all in all, a very good album worth listening to if you like their previous work
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 December 2003
An excellent release from the Jaxx, an improvement on Rooty, and challenging the superb Remedy. The first time I heard this album I thought it was just noise, but it really grows on you and you'll soon have the tunes pumping in your head all day. The album explores a much wider range of styles than its predecessors and does so very successfully. The album as a whole has a more rocky feel which produces some pumping tunes. Highlights of the album are "Good Luck", "Right Here's The Spot" and "Lucky Star" which get the album off to a flying start. Also "Feels Like Home" is a great chilled out track bringing the album to a good close. It is the middle of the album which is the only let down with a couple of weak tracks tarnishing an otherwise great album.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 October 2003
The notoriously difficult third album often gets mixed reviews and this is no different for dance outfit Basement Jaxx. 'Kish Kash' is a curious name for an LP - but here it's apt because it is a meltdown of styles - a fusion of funk, electro and house - a mish-mash of ideas if you will.
The fact that the work arises a broad spectrum of opinion is a testament to the Jaxx, an ode to their brave outing here. Okay, they may have cleaned up their sound, added a few soap suds to their load, but it's not a cheesy pop catastrophe a'la Fast Food Rockers.
Instead N-Sync puppet JC-Chasez funks up the excellent 'Plug it In', Siouxsie Sioux beefs up the terrific 'Cish Cash' and Mercury man Dizzee Rascal splices his style on the cranked up, electifying Egyptian house of 'Lucky Star'. In other words - these guests enrich the template.
Add to the mix the deep grooves of 'If I Ever Recover' and the corking 'Living Room' and you have a hat-trick of brilliant record from Britains leading dance act.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£13.39
£7.99
£7.99

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)