Customer Reviews


181 Reviews
5 star:
 (117)
4 star:
 (26)
3 star:
 (12)
2 star:
 (12)
1 star:
 (14)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rock's new megastars
The tag "saviours of rock" and the like are bandied around like there's no tomorrow and one band to have such terms applied to them were the Strokes months before this album even appeared. Usually this is enough to put you off as the band in question is actually a huge disappointment after so much hype. Well, with the Strokes it's different because they may...
Published on 30 May 2002 by Will

versus
6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Was that it?
Certainly the most over-hyped album of the decade. A collection of OK, short, catchy, but completely forgettable songs. There's little depth or innovation on offer here and little to come back to.
Published on 17 Nov 2009 by S. HARRISON


‹ Previous | 1 2 319 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Influences abound... a fresh twist on a blast from the past, 30 Oct 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Is This It (Audio CD)
The first time I saw the video for "Last Night" I wondered how I could've missed this band during my 70's punk phase growing up, even the video has a retro look. Not to mention being completely live, a rarity... It wasn't until I heard the video again that I decided to search for the band online. Unbelievable! They're a NEW release! Wonderful minimalistic guitar, driving drums, melodic bass guitar (what happened to melodic bass parts anyway?)... and the odd Jim Morrison vocal (that's what I hear anyway). Whatever happened to these sounds from NY in the 70's? Here it is again... Just what I was missing. Keep the music coming guys.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great, but ignore the hype, 28 Aug 2001
By 
Alan Moore "evilcat" - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Is This It? (Audio CD)
Listen... ignore the hype, this is just a good album by a good band. That's it.
11 great songs. Short, sweet, to the point: start, say what you need to, short solo, end. Perfect, really.
Casablancas sometimes sounds a bit like Iggy, occasionally phrases his words like Lou Reed on the last 2 Velvets albums. Most of the time he sounds like himself... the kind of drawl no British singer could get away with.
Sometimes the guitar player plays 'slash guitar' like Lou usta do live. Occasionally the band sound like Television, if they had been forced to make songs averaging 3 minutes long, not 5.
But when it comes down to it, what we have here is a good rock band playing solid songs in an addictive way. The record's just been released but I got a promo copy 2 months ago and everyone that's heard it - Goths, pop kids, HipHop fans and Alt Rock fans - are going out to buy it (or at least have taken a copy). Even after 2 months, I can't bring myself to skip a track when I play it.
It might only be 36 minutes long but it's worth every penny. And the cover art's great too. Buy it...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars How it should be done., 6 Jan 2002
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Is This It? (Audio CD)
How anyone can compare these guys to "Oasis" or "Coldplay" (as some critics have) is beyond me. "The Strokes" owe more to "Joy Division" or "The Velvet Underground", than they do to either of the afforementioned (not to say massively over-rated) bands. The lead singer, Julian Casablancas, at times even sounds like Lou Reed.
"Is this it", is one of those rare musical treats that remains consistently brilliant from start to finish, with its catchy rythyms and chorus lines and tremendous use of the bass guitar, best captured in the albums two stand out tracks (In my opinion anyway) "Barely legal" and "Hard to explain".
The only fault I can pick up on is the relatively short playing time, just 36 minutes. Still, it's 36 minutes of class rock and roll.
"The strokes" have been touted as "the next best thing" and hailed as "The saviours of rock and roll". That remains to be seen, but British acts should take note; This is how it should be done.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sexy, superb, brilliant, 13 Dec 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Is This It? (Audio CD)
"Is This It" is without a doubt album of the year. It has everything; sweet retro rock n roll, sexy beats and band members who r really laid back. The album has 11 short and VERY sweet songs that can definately move you. Forget your Limp Bizkit's and your Blink 182's, The Strokes are coming to take over the world!! Buy this album now!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the title of the album is too modest, 8 Jan 2002
By 
This review is from: Is This It? (Audio CD)
I never heard of the hype surrounding the strokes because like a fellow reviewer I don't read music magazines, I saw them perform "new york city cops" and was impresssed. It wasn't a new sound but it was a familar sound that made you warm inside because finally someone was making good old fashioned rock music. The album itself did not disappoint me in the slightest. There are those who argue that it is "samey", which is a fair enough point, but each song offers something different be it a drum loop, or a great guitar riff, or bass line. It gives me a smile when I listen to it because it has a nostalgic feel about it, which is probably why I could be viewed as biased. However I would say that if you like rock'n'roll then buy this album, it will make a lovely addition to your collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Listen Without Prejudice, 18 July 2002
This review is from: Is This It? (Audio CD)
It's impossible to review this album without using the word "hype". So before putting it on my CD player I steeled myself for disappointment, and at first listen disappointment was pretty much what I felt. It sounded competent, rather than inspired or astonishing.
It wasn't until a few plays later that the sheer quality of this record dawned on me. The Strokes have come up with a memorable collection of songs, many surely destined to become classics, without having to resort to fussy production methods. The tracks, some of them better than others, bristle with controlled energy, and the breezy, almost casual delivery puts The Strokes ahead of the jaded cynicism of most established bands, and even the self-conscious post-modernism of, say, The White Stripes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars classic, 17 Jan 2004
By 
Mr Sean Crossley (Manchester, Greater Manchester United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Is This It? (Audio CD)
In my opinion, the best debut album of all time. Despite its relatively short life span, this album rejuvenated music, and is simply class. At the moment, the strokes, together with the libertines stand head and shoulders above most other acts. I could listen to Is This It? repeatedly, and never tire of it. It'd be better without the relentless hype from NME and the like, but how can anyone not fail to be excited from listening to this. Undeniably the pattern is formulaic, but it doesn't matter, as each song is guaranteed to get you hooked. In indie disco's all over the country, the songs Someday and Last Nite generate the same amount of hysteria as favourites (in manchester) such as oasis and the stone roses.
The highlights of the album are contained within the last four songs, which absolutely blow you away. Personal favourite is Take It Or Leave It, but the last group of songs are as good as anything i've ever heard.
Despite this, it did take me quite a few listens to realise how good it is, but it's completely worth it. This is the best music around today, don't waste the opportunity to buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Believe the hype!, 28 Aug 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Is This It? (Audio CD)
For once a band that lives up to the NME hype which usually surrounds a select few bands every year. Also see the 'The White Stripes'. There is not one bad track on the album and instant classics such as Barely Legal, Hard to Explain and Alone Together, will I feel, seem as breathtaking in 10 years as they do right now. 'This Is It' is not nothing new or groundbreaking, with the Velvet Underground comparisons valid, but when music is this good who cares, it is just good honest heart stopping, head pounding guitar music.
I also saw them in Sheffield [Leadmill] on the Thursday prior to the albums Monday release and they blew the audience away. Albert Hammond Jr [guitar]appeared to be the star of the band, however all the band oozed scuzzy NY charm.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the greatest record of the last five records, 17 Feb 2006
By 
David Johnson "El Burrito" (Buenos Aires) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Is This It? (Audio CD)
Sometimes I wish reviewers would just tell like it is. I live in Argentina and I am largely immune to the dross written in the British and American music press. This group are the best thing to happen to pop music since the early 90´s.
Punchy, absurdly melodic pop songs that defy belief.
Weighing in at just over half an hour this album smacks of a band desperate to show you everything they´ve got in their armoury. I like the way they start with the low-key yet beautifully lacrymose "Is this It." Every single tracks builds to a transcendent melody."The Modern Age," leads in excellently to,"Soma."
A personal favourite is,"Someday," the riff has a anthemic quality to it but the lyrics are movingly distant and understated.
Most of the songs are about love and distant relationships which is comfortable territory for a first record but the slant on everything is somehow distinct to most of the other predictable bands around at the moment. Someone told me they´ve been compared to The Velvet Underground. The person who said that obviously has never listened to The Velvet Underground.
The great thing about this album is the way the guitarists work is tandem.It all sounds so simple but yet they compliment each brilliantly, Nick Valensi provides the drive, whilst Albert Hammond Jnr chips in with his quirky little riffs that keep the listener constantly entertained. The bass player knows what he´s doing as well. Anyone who´s seen them live knows how well they work together as a unit.
They also know how to stop a track, this album never drags, each tune zips along as if they are ready to get on to the next one. Julian´s vocal style is undeniably cool, he brims with confidence and I love the way he throws the odd word in completely against the beat a.k.a Mark E Smith.
Anyone with a genuine love of music will warm to this. So what if they dress cool, isn´t that what Rock and Roll´s meant to be all about about? I hope this lot are here to stay
Dave
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars earthy raw sound delivers a winning combo of killer choonz!!, 5 Aug 2002
This review is from: Is This It? (Audio CD)
quite simply stunning!!! this cd arrived this morning and i haven't stopped playing it im gonna start charging my neighbours soon (although thats illegal)! anyway im trying to put them into a box (strokes not my neigbours) so that i can convey how they sound but its not easy. they sound a little like the ramones/blonde/smiths/cure + god only knows. the production is very raw almost sounds like the producer has simply stuck a mic down to catch them jamming somewhere and then just tweeked it a bit!! may not be everones cup of tea but raw is without doubt the best serving suggestion when you have a group playing a bunch of songs that sound this good!! i just wish that they were british cors unfortunately they waz all over coldplay, doves et al!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 319 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Is This It
Is This It by The Strokes
Buy MP3 Album£7.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews