Customer Reviews


181 Reviews
5 star:
 (130)
4 star:
 (31)
3 star:
 (10)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Damn fine album!
The White Stripes are a duo who record all their material on old analog recording equipment and refuse to embrace the digital revolution. The result? An album that sounds warmer and more real than just about anything that has been around in years!
That's no exageration either, as this album just exudes a sound that is sadly being left in the past. There are not...
Published on 25 Feb. 2004 by michael_m

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Striking at the time, but moderate content!
Cutting straight point, in a nutshell this is an extremely moderate album. There are a couple of great moments: 'Seven Nation Army', 'Black Math' are great openers. There is an interesting cover of 'I don't know what to do with myself', but thats roughly it. The rest of the album seems to teeter off, so much so that by tracks 7-8 you begin to glaze over and realize that...
Published on 5 Mar. 2013 by Chris Goldsmith


‹ Previous | 116 17 18 19 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One word... FANTASTIC, 14 July 2005
This review is from: Elephant (Audio CD)
Elephant has got to be one of their best albums yet! All the songs are amazing..there aren't any that you wouldn't like..trust me!!! They are exceptionally talented and their songs are incredible! This album is worth purchasing!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars it has th best single this year, 24 Nov. 2003
This review is from: Elephant (Audio CD)
this album dose contain my best single this year, severn nation army.as a previous reviewer said "dont be put off by there success" (i have herd them being played on radio 1), they are still coming from their blues rutes. the white stripes are sutable for all ages, i am 12 but i know many fans at 40 (they are often featured in the mojo.)when you get this alubm you may be temted to just listen to the first "single tracks" but if you listen further into the album you will find out the true nature of the cd.this is a must have for any blues/rock fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 11 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointed., 2 May 2003
By 
MR M Johnson (Middlesex, London United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Elephant (Audio CD)
I will begin my review by congratulating the "Stripes" for their creative talents. The concept of their image, style and the general fusion of all the elements is refreshing and works really well. I don't know if it is intentional but i have also heard many individuals including DJ's, radio presenters and Joe Bloggs in the pub debating wether or not Jack and Meg are married or brother and sister. This uncertainty seems to have created a little story line akin to a television soap, which is clever marketing.
This is the first album of theirs that i have heard. When i listen to it, i am instantly reminded of The Doors, for the poetry style writing of lyrics. Led zepplin for the vocal asthetics and a hint of glam rock with a Pulp twist.
Nothing wrong with that!
The band itself as a group of musicians has a really fantastic raw and powerful sound. The opening, second and last tracks are evidence of this statement.
When i listened to this abum for the first time, the first two tracks had my pulse racing, adrenalin pumping and had me reaching for my Air Guitar, whilst leaping up and down like a bionic badger.Great!
Imagine my disappointment as i crashed back to reality with track three.
At this point the album certainly takes a dramatic dark mood change.
I suddenly found myself feeling morbid and morose and in need of therapy.
C'mon guys. Rock or sulk. Not both.
Maybe their next album should be entitled "Schizophrenia".
They definitely have raw and powerful talent but i wanna hear them rock.
I will be checking their next album in anticipation.
Hey maybe that's another clever marketing strategy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It's good but it's not right..., 1 April 2003
By 
Paul Bridgewater (London, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Elephant (Audio CD)
The build up to the release of this album has been predicatably intense and the reviews have used every superlative under the sun...yet this listener was left rather confused.
"Elephant" isn't a truly terrible album; it's just not the all-saving saviour of modern rock that everyone has made it out to be. The songs are not beautiful in their simple construction and stripped-down sound like on previous White Stripes releases - they're erratic and under-constructed, coarsely-written and lyrically half-baked.
Think of the heavier moments from "White Blood Cells" - here they are again, bigger and noisier than ever but without reason to be. This is an uneven record.
They are a talented duo, that much is true - but there's nothing new or shining here to show a development from "White Blood Cells".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars vinal, 24 July 2011
This review is from: Elephant [VINYL] (Vinyl)
Hi i bought this record for my grand son he tells me it plays very well and his girl friend love it other than that it is ok
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars top 10 of 2003, 27 Oct. 2003
This review is from: Elephant (Audio CD)
well worth buying alone for the ball and biscuit track.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A shining light, 14 Nov. 2003
By 
Toby le Rhone (StaffordshireUK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Elephant (Audio CD)
Don't be put of by their success, this group is the most remarkable event of the 00's.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars overrated, 16 Jan. 2004
This review is from: Elephant (Audio CD)
whats all the fuss. ok seven nation army is good for a few listens, but the rest of the album is just a repeat of itself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 20 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not their best work, 20 Dec. 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Elephant (Audio CD)
This album is a step back for the white stripes, comparing it with their pervious album (white blood cells). In my opinion their low-fi vibe has gone too far with this album, they used to make songs that were significantly more musical, and just because Radio 1 has decided that we should all like the white stripes now does not necessarily mean that they have suddenly become more brilliant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 39 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars What a disappointment!, 25 Aug. 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Elephant (Audio CD)
Seven nation army is an excellent track and was, as I suspect was the case for many other people, both my introduction to The White Stripes and the reason I bought the CD. That's as positive as I can get though. The rest of the tracks are a total let down - I've heard better in my local pub. If you're tempted to buy this borrow someone's elses copy first.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 116 17 18 19 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Elephant
Elephant by The White Stripes
Buy MP3 Album£7.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews