Customer Reviews


26 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Buy it now .THE essential album of `99/2000
All the tracks on this CD are brilliant , innovative and very , very catchy . Although they are all brilliant , there is , like all albums , the cream of the crop. On this album the really phat tunes are : "rendez-vu" "jump 'n' shout" "red alert" and "bingo bango" ( hopefully will be released as a single ). If you like...
Published on 14 Dec 1999

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars First DUFF CD from Amazon
Bought for the track 'Being with You' but it did not play as it should and jumped. Could not see any surface damage. Only refund offered not replacement. Poor and I will consider not using Amazon for CDs again. Going back to China on Monday so no time to replace. Very disappointing
Published 2 months ago by G. R. Chapman


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Buy it now .THE essential album of `99/2000, 14 Dec 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Remedy (Audio CD)
All the tracks on this CD are brilliant , innovative and very , very catchy . Although they are all brilliant , there is , like all albums , the cream of the crop. On this album the really phat tunes are : "rendez-vu" "jump 'n' shout" "red alert" and "bingo bango" ( hopefully will be released as a single ). If you like "surrender" by the Chemical Brothers then this is for you . This is THE essential album of `99/2000 .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The biggest stars of 1999 make house music worth the hype, 21 Nov 2002
This review is from: Remedy (Audio CD)
Much has been said by this British duo that made probably the biggest noise in dance in 1999. And they've often pronounced Prince as their idols and inspirations for their music. So was this album worth the hype? For the most part, yes.
Like Prince, Jaxx manage to take all kinds of diverse stylings and mix it into their unique brand of house. It all coheres well, unlike other bands that just achieve a giant mess. Their diversity is shown in the vocoder and flamenco guitar hit "Rendez-vu," which amazingly garnered little attention in the mainstream press during the year of Cher's "Believe" and "Blue" by Eiffel 65. You also have the fun if unintelligible regga-rap of "Jump & Shout" and the funky attitude of the smash "Red Alert," as well as "U Can't Stop Me" and "Bingo Bango." The Jaxx even cool it down a bit with "Always Be There."

Sure there will be a couple of the 12 tracks that you'll skip- track 2 "Yo-Yo" is not only annoying but too similar to "Rendez-vu" while "Being With U" is surprisingly bland. Still, this has the most fun and attitude of a disc in a while, and brings a fresh sound to the world of house music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good stuff, 11 Oct 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Remedy (Audio CD)
The radio stations seem to love Basement Jaxx - 'Red Alert', 'Rendez Vu' and now the fabulous 'Jump n' Shout' have been played to death! This is a good debut album, though; 'Rendez Vu' is a great first song, too - probably the best here. 'Jump n' Shout' gets you going - the rapping by Slarta John is incredible! Some of the songs are a bit odd, but many of the later tracks do grow on you - 'Same old show' and 'Bingo bango' especially. This CD will keep you up all night!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 4 out of 5 stars, currently, 10 Jan 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Remedy (Audio CD)
When I first bought the album, I would say 3 out of 5 stars. But everytime I listen, I like it more and more. I truly can't get enough of 6-7 tracks out of (approximately) 15. I suspect I might start liking the others soon enough, but they're just too odd right now--choppy. Slarta John on "Jump N' Shout" rocks the party! Thanks Jaxx!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great CD, 27 Jun 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Remedy (Audio CD)
Remedy by Basement Jaxx is a great CD, with many of the tracks to the same high quality of Bingo Bango. However, there are a couple of strange ones, but they won't alter your enjoyment of the CD, especially after you hear Jump 'n' Shout. And the final enjoyment comes from the amusing song lyrics printed in the booklet - yo, yo, yo, yo, yo yo yo yo, yo...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best dance album ever, 21 Jun 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Remedy (Audio CD)
This album is pure class. It starts off really well with the toe-tapping Rendez-Vu and just keeps getting better. Yo-Yo is the album's best track in my opinion
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This CD is PHAT, 9 May 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Remedy (Audio CD)
When I first bought this CD I didn't think it was all that but the more I listened to it the more I liked it. I think Felix and Simon have have got a great style of music which is different to everybody eles. All the songs are different, non are alike which is very good for a first album. Remedy includes R'n'B, dance and even rock and that's cool. Well done lads.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely Superb, 14 Mar 2000
By 
Luke Owen (Celebration, FL USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Remedy (Audio CD)
I don't care about what anybody else says, this has got to be one of the best dance albums ever. No matter how many times I put it one, I can't help but tap my foot to Rendez-vu and sing along with Bingo Bango. This is one album that will never tire and deserves a brilliant write-up. Because that's what it is...brilliant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best house CD on the market, 11 Mar 2000
By 
caroline nightingale (huntingdon, cambs United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Remedy (Audio CD)
I got this cd a couple of weeks ago and I can't stop listening. Its got so much variety of sounds that there is always at least one track you can listen to. Well done, Felix + Simon
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is how dance should be, then nobody would dislike it, 31 Jan 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Remedy (Audio CD)
I had this album bought for me at Christmas and it hasn`t been off my stereo once. It is dance music at its absolute best. The variety within the album is amazing - from the sing-a-long `Red Alert`(which reminds me so much of Summer`99)that everyone likes to `U Can`t stop me` which is so darned funky and probably the best song on the LP.Everyone will find something on this album that they like and one partcular track that just says it all to them. Enjoy and don`t forget to put your funk shoes on!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Remedy
Remedy by Basement Jaxx
Buy MP3 Album7.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews