Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle  Learn more Countdown to Prime Day Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars21
4.8 out of 5 stars
Format: MP3 Download|Change
Price:£7.99
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 12 May 2001
Looking back on it, Dead Can Dance were a remarkably consistant outfit. "Host of Seraphim" follows right off where "Persephone: the gathering of flowers" (finalé from their previous album) finished. There's no denying its one of the bands finest moments. Elsewhere there's medieval polyphony, the delightfuly Celtic-tinged "Writing on my fathers hand", and Brendon Perrys excellent Ulysses. Its amazing to think that this was recorded in the mid 1980's, is so completely removed from the style of that period. Then again, this music doesn't seem to belong to any set timespan. Oh, & great cover art. If you liked this try "Within the Real of a Dying Sun" & "Aion", also by Dead Can Dance.
0Comment|24 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 July 2001
I remember a freind of mine playing this album to me when it first came out. I was absolutely stunned, I had never heard anything like this before. I became a dedicated fan and was lucky enough to see them play a rare live concert in 1990. For anyone unfamiliar with Dead Can Dance they are an eclectic collection of medieval, tribal, gothic and ambient. But this really does not do them credit. The first track is quite simply awesome and I defy anyone with depth and taste not to be touched. If you recognise the vocals that is because Lisa Gerard ,the female half of Dead Can Dance, now spends her time making film soundtracks with Hans Zimmer. The stunning Gladiator soundtracks are a testament to her vocal talents. Together with Brendon Fraser they have created some of the most diverse and beautiful music I have ever heard. Enjoy!
11 comment|17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 August 2006
`The Serpent's Egg' seems not so much an ordinary musical album, but a sacred offering. It is profoundly affecting in ways I can scarcely describe; this music is deeply mystical in an almost primal way. It conjures up visions of Byzantine churches and ancient temples filled with the rich smoke of incense offerings, it awakens notions of divinity, the sacred and the profane, with a dreamlike elegance. It has the power to sweep the vestiges of the modern world from your mind. Listen by candlelight and let Lisa Gerrard's otherworldly glossolalia draw you in, from the ethereal `Host of Seraphim' to the hauntingly beautiful `The Writing On My Father's Hand', and the narcotic beat of `Chant of the Paladin' to the heartrending, yearning call of `Song of Sophia'. Brendan Perry's heavier voice balances the album well with the reflective sound of `Severance' and `In the Kingdom of the Blind'.

This album might naturally appeal to those with spiritual or mystical leanings, but I would recommend it to any lover of music looking for a deeper, more unusual musical experience.
0Comment|19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 May 2002
This genre is depressingly sparse. Yet, DCD manage to get it exactly right. The first couple of tracks on this album are perfect. Per-fect. Masterful. Ultimate, majestic. Brilliant. The rest are great, but the first couple are fantastic. Nothing else I have found in this genre (yet) matches them. Suggestions welcome.
Highest praise also for Within the Realm of a Dying Sun, esp Persephone.
0Comment|16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 May 2008
This is a special, limited de-luxe edition. It is a STEREO, HYBRID SACD - in other words, it is not a multi-channel release but it CAN be played on a regular CD player and does NOT require special SACD hardware. The album has been re-mastered by Mobile Fidelity Sound Lab in the USA and these pressings are packaged in Japanese, mini-vinyl replicas of the original sleeves, including replicas of any inner sleeves, plus an additional booklet with lyrics.
22 comments|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 June 2014
Here's the thing - all the sounds, both vocal and instrumental are extremely evocative and you'll never have heard anything like like it. But... What Gerrard sings is not another language and there is no meaning in her words, just emotion. If you can live with that, then it is simply awesome. But for me, it detracts a star.

I would listen to Opium from their recent album on repeat - and have done on a recent flight - as it is far more rewarding due to the marriage of insightful lyrics and mood.

But there is a whole lot of mood on display here and it really should be bought and tasted. I can't gee enough of Host of the Seraphim. This track is worth the price of the CD alone.

I'd encourage you to try.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 January 2002
with mystic soul vibrating vocals this album gives you a peace that can only described as erie yet beautiful, calming yet deadly, you can almost feel death is soothing you in to your clay overcoat, to just as you surrender, jolt you back out again in to a primeval celtic hacker, which gets you bouncing and bearing your teeth at the modern entrapments about you and the cat if near by, although like a fish on a hook your lured back in to spicy middle eastern mantras conjuring up images of belly dancers on the caravan routs of old, dancing round the night time fires, you half expect them to be painted blue and captain Kirk is looking on concerned with a sweated brow, that is the modern yet ancient mix this album gives out. as with there later albums its rich and deeply textured, if you like Greenaway type visuals Lisa Gerrard is the vocal embodiment, with a soothing voice that stroke your soul, not supriseing the tv media gripped this album with both hands, using it as backing music for just about everything, from nature/history programs to love in sifi metropolis, if you want to get lost in the past whilst being able to touching the future this is the album. personally it was the music i was listening to when my daughter was born it holds that much weight, as music for life changing events wether it death or to be born too
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 May 2013
4AD Records have always been the charm for me. Artists and particular sounds, covers all beautiful, very comfortable. Dead Can Dance is one of the groups that I loved most. The mysterious voices so soft and then as a powerful new force. This album remains their most successful for me, a masterpiece that could come after years, and instead they publish it after 2 or 3 albums.
It seems to be in the Middle Ages, the Odyssey, the court wizard Merlin, but it all happens in 1989.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
A summon to tolling bells and those macabre lit tunelled caverns, caught within visions of tumbling Gothic cathedrals falling into disrepair. The musical score recreates the rich ermine and pungent smell of those subterranean torch-lit seances.

Her voice, for me at least, brings out the past and makes it live, whilst his voice enters the interior whilst blazing to the annunciation of an archaic brazier. As an entirety the disc is a map into an inner journey, a moment just before the ceremonies are captured.

Contains elements of SPK's Songs of Byzantine Flowers, cursing along to the atmospheric presence of the Igg's "We will Fall," chanting paens to sprites bobbing up in ethereal imaginations. Provides a special seat to an insider picture show. So these pieces will change the mind mood as it alternate between the masculine and feminine, anima and animus.

A backdrop to a passion between those red silk lined sheets
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 November 2015
I was recommended this by a client ( im a therapist) as beautiful music and very comparable with my massage music . I have to disagree some of the tracks are lovely but others are just dreadful and they seem to be intermittent so i will be giving this away.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£5.52

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)