Customer Reviews


188 Reviews
5 star:
 (165)
4 star:
 (16)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


23 of 25 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Reviewing the DVD and the film..
Having watched the film 21st years ago as a young child in India, when it first came out, I was more than keen to acquire it on DVD for keeps. The eulogistic tone of the other reviews may make my review look rather sour, but my review encompasses both the DVD and the film.
The film itself is brilliantly shot and technically flawless, even where the minor creative...
Published on 10 July 2004 by S. Yogendra

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Dissapointed
I don't feel competent enough to comment on the film content, I'm sure all the awards speak sufficiently on that.
However, I'm very disappointed with the sound quality of the Blu-Ray disc.
The volume changes frequently from very low to extremely high to the extent that I had to watch with the remote in hand ready to reduce so that I would not disturb my...
Published 3 months ago by Mr Roy Smithies


‹ Previous | 16 7 819 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 10 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Wonderful film. Long but well worth watching.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Of epic proportions, 9 Aug. 2011
A very, very long film but exceptionally well acted and beautifully shot. It is a very long story but you do learn a lot about India and Pakistan that you probably didn't know before.
Do watch this film but clear your diary beforehand!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great timeless movie, 25 Nov. 2010
This review is from: Gandhi [DVD] (DVD)
It's a must-see film. Very beautiful and touching. Tells a story of a true peace "fighter". The world definately needs more of these sort of people. I recommend this film from the bottom of my heart.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars brave and earnest, 25 Nov. 2010
By 
WSH (NSW Australia) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Gandhi [DVD] (DVD)
Watching this on DVD again many years after seeing it on the big screen, the impact was missing. Panavision just does not translate to a home television (maybe a home theatre, yes). But it was not just the technical aspect that left me unsatisfied. This film is a brave and earnest attempt to tell the story of 50 turbulent years and the man, Gandhi, who stood up to the British in India. It has assembled a stirling cast (only Martin Sheen and Candice Bergen seem miscast), taken us to some great locations, added a good soundtrack, and paid proper attention to art design and historical detail. But the film is not blessed with the outstanding script it needed nor the economical directorial and editing eye. Clumsy narrative devices are used to inform the viewer what has happened since the film's last moment in time - journalists riding jeeps recapping the story, that sort of thing. Gandhi is centre stage throughout (Kingsley does a fine job in the part) but Attenborough constantly approaches the man through his words, in bursts of aphoristic lecturing to various acolytes, and leaves us outside his subject. The reverting to simulated newsreel to cover Gandhi's European journey seems too much part and parcel of the objectifying of the historical figure that marks this director's approach. So, once you have seen it, that's all there is. There are no unexplored nuances and insights to be had on subsequent viewings. Not wanting to sound too negative, I go back to where I began: this film looks good and is well acted; it does provide a credible account of the events it covers; and Gandhi and his ideas should be kept before the eyes of the world. See it once.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Great Soul's life., 2 Nov. 2008
By 
Themis-Athena (from somewhere between California and Germany) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Gandhi [DVD] (DVD)
It all began simple enough - with the purchase of a first class train ticket by Mr. Mohandas Gandhi, Esq., recently arrived in South Africa, and unaware that as an Indian, he was required to travel third class and not entitled to such a ticket. Literally thrown off the train for his transgression, the young attorney, embodied to perfection by Ben Kingsley, spent a full night sitting on the platform, musing how best to respond to such discrimination. Shortly thereafter, and after consultations with established members of his community, he wrote his first treatises and organized his first demonstrations. And when participants of a protest assembly stood up and proclaimed their willingness to die in the fight against suppression, Gandhi once and for all formulated his doctrine of nonviolent protest: "They may torture my body, break my bones; even kill me. Then they will have my dead body - not my obedience."

Shot largely on four Indian locations, Richard Attenborough's nine-time Oscar-winning biography of Gandhi is a sweeping epic that takes the viewer back to Britain's colonial past, covering all major events of Gandhi's political career from its beginnings in South Africa to the March to the Sea and India's independence, and contrasting the luxurious lifestyle of the foreign rulers with the poverty of those they governed; that India which, as Gandhi soon realized, not only the British didn't understand, but whose population also could not have cared less about the activities of the Indian Congress Party, at the time little more than a group of well-to-do city dwellers mentally and socially almost as far removed from the rest of their country as the British. Twenty years in the making, the movie is clearly reverential of Gandhi's genius, and of the man whose symbolic growth was reverse parallel to his retreat into simplicity, and who for that very reason, and because of his unfaltering commitment to nonviolence on the one hand and India's independence on the other hand, accomplished what only few people would otherwise have thought possible: to convince the world's biggest colonial power to give up the crown jewel among its colonies; and to do so in a gesture of friendship and without civil war. The one aspect of Gandhi's life that falls a bit short here is the effect that his overbearing symbolic status had on his family life, which necessarily had to suffer as a result (unable to cope with his father's fame and chosen lifestyle, Gandhi's eldest son, for example, threw himself into a life of alcoholism and prostitution). But Gandhi is not depicted as a saint, and particularly during his early years, we learn about the struggle that went into the formation of the man who later earned the title "Great Soul" (Mahatma). Even anticipating that he might be killed by an assassin's bullet, Gandhi once said that he would only deserve that title if he could accept that bullet with Rama's (God's) name on his lips: fittingly, the movie begins with his assassination and comes full circle at the end, affirming that Gandhi truly was a Great Soul throughout.

Attenborough found his perfect Gandhi in Ben Kingsley, who not so much plays but truly is the Mahatma; from his appearance to the inflection of his voice, attitudes and gestures. Over the year-long struggles to finance the movie, Attenborough's first choices for the role had grown too old to convincingly play the young Gandhi in South Africa, but eventually Michael Attenborough pointed his father to Kingsley, then with the Royal Shakespeare Company, who reportedly won the role by meeting Attenborough in full Gandhi makeup at their first get-together, thus instantly convincing him that he had found his man. Yet, despite his gift for mimicry and his part-Indian heritage, Kingsley nevertheless turned to his Indian co-stars, particularly Rohini Hattangadi, who plays Gandhi's wife Kasturba, to fine-tune his portrayal; and he recalls in an interview for the movie's DVD release that the skill he found the most difficult to master was to spin and to talk at the same time. The use of the actual British newsreels covering Gandhi's visit to England adds to the movie's sense of authenticity - and emphasizes yet again Ben Kingsley's achievement in transforming himself into the Mahatma.

In fact, his awardwinning performance so overshadows every other actor in the movie that it would be easy to overlook the fine performances of his costars, all of whom contributed to the movie's unique quality - to name but a few, Sir John Gielgud, whom Kingsley praises as "a national treasure" (British viceroy Lord Irwin), Roshan Seth (Pandit Nehru), Martin Sheen (New York Times reporter Vincent Walker), Candice Bergen (People Magazine's Margaret Bourke-White), Ian Charleson (Gandhi's early friend and colaborator Reverend Andrews), Edward Fox (General Dyer, the man responsible for the massacre at Amritsar, who testified at his court-martial that his intention had been to "teach a lesson that would be heard throughout India"); and Trevor Howard as Judge Broomfield, who had to sentence Gandhi to prison for his outright admission that he was guilty of the charge of advocating sedition because of his belief "that non-cooperation with evil is a duty and British rule in India is evil," and who nevertheless rose at Gandhi's entrance into the courtroom instead of making the prisoner rise for him, and commented on the sentence he had to impose that "if ... his Majesty's government should, at some later date, see fit to reduce the term, no one will be better pleased than I."

The movie ends with Gandhi's affirmation that when he despaired, he remembered that "all through history, the way of truth and love has always won. There have been tyrants and murderers; for a time they can seem invincible, but in the end they always fall. Think of this: Always." Such a belief may be difficult to hold on to, particularly for us who are so much more fallible than the Mahatma. Yet, this movie eloquently pleads that it is, at least, worth our very best effort.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 31 Oct. 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gandhi [DVD] [1982] (DVD)
Probably Ben Kingsley's best ever film
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 5 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gandhi [DVD] [1982] (DVD)
most enjoyable with brilliant actors
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 21 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gandhi [DVD] [1982] (DVD)
Excellent service and perfect DVD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Authentic and nice movie, 6 May 2014
By 
S. Viktor (Budapest, Hungary) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Authentic movie about the important part of the history of South Africa, India, Pakistan, Bangladesh and an uniq men of the history of the mankind.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 31 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gandhi (Amazon Instant Video)
Classic film never fails to move
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 16 7 819 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Gandhi [Blu-ray] [1982] [US Import]
£10.40
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews