Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Soulful vitriol
Picked this up after hearing, buying and loving GSH's latest album I'm New Here. Delighted to find that what I loved about that album - the intensity and tunefulness - is a feature of all his best work, sounding a little like a brooding or embittered Bill Withers.

This album features 80 glorious minutes of some of GSH's best songs from 1971-1982. The songs work...
Published on 29 July 2010 by Amazon Customer

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars not great
2 0r 3 good tracks, the rest boring. i tunes would have been the bettre choice to get the tracks i wanted
Published 18 months ago by martin crabtree


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Soulful vitriol, 29 July 2010
This review is from: Very Best Of (Audio CD)
Picked this up after hearing, buying and loving GSH's latest album I'm New Here. Delighted to find that what I loved about that album - the intensity and tunefulness - is a feature of all his best work, sounding a little like a brooding or embittered Bill Withers.

This album features 80 glorious minutes of some of GSH's best songs from 1971-1982. The songs work together well, despite different recording eras, subjects and styles - varying between reggae, folk, soul and r&B. His voice is such a gorgeous and powerful instrument that you find yourself glued to the spot listening to his strident raps about Watergate, Ronald Reagan, the rise of consumerism and so on. Interspersed between diatribe songs like 'The Revolution Will Not Be Televised' and 'B Movie' are the most incredibly groovy songs like 'Home is Where the Hatred Is', 'Blue Collar' and 'Lady Day'.

I could listen to this all day - and will now investigate his solo and live albums. Excellent and value for money compilation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good for the soul, 28 Nov 2011
By 
R. J. Panter (Essex, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Very Best Of (Audio CD)
This CD is soulful, eclectic, passionate, poetic and cool all at the same time.

I stumbled across Gil-Scott Heron after having it suggested by Amazon after I had made purchases of music by Roy Ayers and Lonnie-Liston Smith and have found it be be a joy.

I had already heard opener's 'Bottle' (which is just a complete classic) and 'The revolution will not be televised' which are argueably his two biggest and well known tracks.

There are elements of soul, jazz, funk, folk-pop, poetry all with alot of raw passion and emotion. And it is the variety that makes this CD so good. It is not just based within a jazz, funk, fusion or soul base. It has them all with other elements thrown in.

This CD is great for Sunday morning relaxing but it also has a very powerful political message which can also be tapped into depending on your mood.

I have also recently purchased 'Storm Music' which is another greatest collection of GSH as it has other great tracks on that are not here. But this has others not on Storm Music. For the price you can get them I would say it may be worth getting both but if you just want one then this CD would be my choice as it has 'Bottle' and Storm Music doesn't.

I love GSH. Great musician and lyricist. Good all round quality to his music in whichever form it takes and obviously he had very strong feelings about his roots and the problems faced by the black community in 60's, 70's America.

Great buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant, 10 Sep 2011
By 
Mr. R. A. Hueston "RH" (ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Best Of (Audio CD)
died way too young but left us an amazing legacy, you need this album in your collection, pure undiluted brilliance
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great collection.. relax & enjoy, 16 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Very Best Of (Audio CD)
Ok it's a 'Best of'.. so absolutely nothing here not to like. For me, best played on a Friday afternoon just before clocking off from work in the spring time as the evenings get lighter IMHO - with the prospect of intellectual stimulation love and revolution. If this don't turn you on - you've already dropped off
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great music but........, 18 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Very Best Of (Audio CD)
Although I have been aware of G.S-H for many years this was the first time I had brought any of his music and this CD is a great introduction to G.S-H's music. The main reason that I gave it 4 stars is that although the CD plays on my computer and cheaper hi-fi systems around my house; my more expensive and sophisticated cd player refuses to recognise it's existence which is very annoying. It has never done this with any other cd except those cheap computer generated ones of local bands that you buy while on holiday.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars poetry genius!, 30 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Very Best Of (Audio CD)
Classics from start to finish, my favourite is B movie - many of the sentiments hold true 30 years on! Shame there is no double CD containing all of Gil's best songs...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars What a reminder, 10 Mar 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Very Best Of (Audio CD)
Father of rap - poet - political commentator - well labels don't matter when the basics are so good, I'd forgotten how good these songs are, not just the obvious ones but 'pieces of a man' for example. 'home is where the hatred is' and all the rest. I've bought it three times more for friends. You won't go wrong with this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Badass soul funk jazz blues fusion!, 5 Mar 2013
By 
Mr. T. J. Armitage (Near Hitchin, Herts United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Very Best Of (Audio CD)
This is a superb collection featuring GSH's finest work from the early 70's to the late 80's! Revolution, bottle, lady day and h20gate blues. The collection is 80 minutes a pure class from the jazzy pieces of a man to the soulful croon of Blue collar. Underrated and misunderstood this guy could work four genres and be cool,and at home on each one! Legend!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very Best of Gil Scott Heron, 15 Sep 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Very Best Of (Audio CD)
This album was a steal. Every track is fantastic and showed the man's genius for wordplay, humour and keen political nous. And the music is greta as well. A fantastic introduction to the man and his genius at an incredible price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 3 Oct 2014
By 
Mr. Dean A. Osborn (Cambridge England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Very Best Of (Audio CD)
Brilliantly clever artist delivers amazing songs of depth and conscience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Very Best Of
Very Best Of by Gil Scott-Heron (Audio CD - 2009)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews