Customer Reviews


27 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Find it; play it. Don't keep it hid!
On a break from his regular gig - as half of the Black Keys - Dan Auerbach has made a real gem of a record. Deliberately low-fi it may be, sounding like it was recorded in your neighbour's garage, it swings and sways delightfully: it sounds wonderful.
"Keep It Hid" is a storming mix of southern gothic soul channelled through Tom Waits side-by-side with some fragilely...
Published on 2 Mar. 2009 by Tiernan Henry

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars New one on me!
This was recommended by my stepson who is really a fan. After listening to this I now know why - add me to Dan's list of fans.
Published 21 months ago by Linda Lawrence


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent album, 8 July 2010
By 
Ms H. M. Fell "Top Cat" (London UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Keep It Hid (MP3 Download)
At first I wasn't sure about it and now I love it. It look about 4 listens. I watched the George Clooney film on Saturday:Up in the Air and to my surprise Dan Auerbach's song "Going home" was in it. It's a lovely song and is the last track on this album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars cool, 15 Jan. 2010
By 
This review is from: Keep It Hid (Audio CD)
If you like Black Keys, Tom Waits, you'll like this, a slight shift away from the BK sound but that voice and guitar still on form, and thats what you want eh..Couple of stand out tunes and on the whole very good , great production
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars spectacular, 14 Oct. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Keep It Hid (MP3 Download)
A virtuoso performance from Dan Auerbach. The music is real and raw without being in any way rough. I especially like Bob Cesare's drumming which at times sounds like Bonzo himself playing a return gig. Highly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars the sound, 19 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Keep It Hid (Audio CD)
above expectations for a debut album from this blues man whose voice is able to deliver on all levels on an unexpected variety of soulful songs. the musicians on this album serve him really well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, 2 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Keep It Hid (Audio CD)
A must have for any Black Keys fan. Dan Auerbach has an amazing sound. The lyrics on this album are SO good. This is one of my top 5 favourite albums of all time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars sweetest album I have ever bought. I would give ..., 11 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Keep It Hid (Audio CD)
sweetest album I have ever bought. I would give out it out to every 16 year old for the track 'when the night comes'. a must buy for every struggling parent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars New one on me!, 9 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Keep It Hid (Audio CD)
This was recommended by my stepson who is really a fan. After listening to this I now know why - add me to Dan's list of fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars good, 18 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Keep It Hid (Audio CD)
not as good as the Black Keys 'The Big Come Up' or 'Thickfreakedness' but better than 'Brothers' or 'El Camino' in my opinion
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Really enjoyable, 29 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Keep It Hid (Audio CD)
I bought this as a present for my son - had a sneaky listen and that was my introduction to Dan Auerbach. I'm glad I did!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great album, 30 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Keep It Hid (Audio CD)
bought this as a big fan of the black keys,i was not dissapointed not as full on as b,k,a little more laid back,love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Keep It Hid [VINYL]
Keep It Hid [VINYL] by Dan Auerbach (Vinyl - 2009)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews