Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
20
4.6 out of 5 stars
Price:£8.90+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 6 March 2009
There is little point in bemoaning the fact that the UK only gets one 13-episode DVD of The Bill a year, as I think that's a fact that's here to stay. So I'll just continue with the review.

Since The Bill became a trashy soap opera in 2002, it's nice to be able to see it in its earlier form as hard-nosed, fast-paced gritty police drama. Storylines involve a family who have found a skeleton walled up in their home, an abandoned industrial estate containing a shed full of dead chickens, a stake-out which goes belly-up and a brush with a pretty violent army corporal. The famous Bill characters such as Cryer, Burnside, Roach, Carver etc are at their best and there's also a continuation of an ongoing thread involving Sgt Penny's deterioration in the wake of a shotgun injury.

A classic piece of TV drama and something every fan of the series should have.
11 comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 April 2016
These classic episodes of The Bill do not really relate to real policing even back in the eighties but they are enjoyable even if some of the plots are a bit over the top.The episodes cover various subjects ranging from domestic violence to drugs including the plain clothes CID attempting fits ups such as planting VCR's { These would have cost a fortune back then}. One episode demonstrates the frustration of the police in their attempts to build bridges with various communities thwarted by the cynical and unhelpful attitude of those who claim to represent these people. One man refers to the police as representing wasps { White Anglo-Saxon People} even though he himself is white skinned. The street scenes will appeal to those with a sense of nostalgia as it records a time when tobacco advertising was legal and CCTV did not exist to name but a few. I enjoyed watching these DVDs but I was disappointed with the sound quality as it was impossible to hear what some of what the characters said without turning up the volume to high. A remastered version of this DVD would improve the experience immensely. {Strange thing is that I brought the pilot series of The Bill on DVD and the sound on that was fine despite being recorded in 1983.}
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 16 February 2014
I know a few of you don't really like the 30mins episodes, but for me, I am really enjoying them. In this little selection you get the following episodes:

The Bill Series 4 - Vol 2

Disk 1:
Episode 14 - Requiem (24mins & 49 seconds long)
Episode 15 - Trespasses (24mins & 46 seconds long)
Episode 16 - Save The Last Dance For Me (24mins & 14 seconds long)
Episode 17 - Runaround (24mins & 43 seconds long)
Episode 18 - The Trap (24mins & 51 seconds long)
Episode 19 - Community Relations (24mins & 36 seconds long)

Disk 2:
Episode 20 - A Dog's Life (24mins & 49 seconds long)
Episode 21 - Trouble & Strife (24mins & 37 seconds long)
Episode 22 - Running Late (24mins & 55 seconds long)
Episode 23 - They Say We-re Rough (24mins & 13 seconds long)
Episode 24 - Blue For A Boy (24mins & 54 seconds)
Episode 25 - Chasing The Dragon (24mins & 25 seconds long)
Episode 26 - The Coop (25mins & 18 seconds long)
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 July 2009
This collection of the early Bill half hour episodes, is, of course, brilliant, as indeed the half hour format enables the writer to tighten up the story lines without falling into the cliche trap. All the old favourites are there, Hollis, Yorkie, Melvyn, Stamp, Bob Cryer, Burnside, Chief Superintendant Brownlow. Most of these characters stay with the series for quite a reasonable time, so if they include your favourite (June Ackland, Martella, Pete Ramsay etc.) then this is one terrific DVD
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 November 2011
This DVD contains the next 13 episodes from Volume One that were originally broadcast in September and October 1988. Again each episode is an excellent way to fritter away the odd half hour. Highlights in this set include the episodes 'Runaround' (in which actor John 'Boycie' Callis from Only Fools & Horses plays a bus driver who goes on the rampage), 'Chasing The Dragon' (in which Ramsey & Haynes knock down a child in their patrol car), 'Trespassess' (in which Ramsey finds a baby in a bin!) and 'The Coop' (in which Ackland, Edwards and Peters find themselves being held hostage in a chicken shed!). Let these DVD releases continue!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 January 2016
I love this series. The actors do a wonderful job of getting you to care about their characters, and the stories are interesting and detailed. I recently finished watching all the seasons of Hill Street Blues and think The Bill is a great successor, but this time I get to see the British side of things.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 19 May 2009
This second volume of 1988 episodes from the long running Police drama series, The Bill, features more crime for the officers to solve. Amongst the episodes we see Ackland and Edwards taken hostage by chicken farmer Stokes. PC Tony Stamp the only character from this period still in the show, is more of a secondary regular at this stage, with the main Police Constables being Edwards,Smith, Ramsey and Haynes. The latter two were actually only in the ptogramme for one year. The CID consist of Carver, Roach, Dashwood and arguably the best ever character in the show, the maverick DI Frank Burnside.
All these years the fashions and cars may have dated, but this seems an accurate reflection of Policing at the end of the eighties.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 October 2012
Most of The Bill Volume 2 was unedited with only a few episodes with soundtrack edits, at least there weren't any scene cuts.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 December 2013
its fantastic enjoyabull and entertaining to wish they bring it back or some of the caraters loved reg he was my favoret
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 January 2013
a great show good clean fun and a great classic . I would recommend this to any one who like classics of the ninties
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£18.25

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)