Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars So uplifting
After seeing Brassed Off I have wanted this.The best piece in the film.If you like a classical with a difference this is the one.
Published on 27 Dec. 2009 by A. V. Calvert

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Not the film version!
What a shame,

The film soundtrack has clearly been "tickled" to bring the horn out up front, like a true virtuoso mix - and I LOVE it!!

In this version, it almost disappears into the background as the full Band plays the theme.

Very nice, etc, but the hairs on the back of this neck failed to rise.

Can anyone point me to a...
Published on 3 Feb. 2013 by Richjenn13


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars So uplifting, 27 Dec. 2009
By 
A. V. Calvert (Thorne,Doncaster) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Concierto de Aranjuez (arr. for flugelhorn): Concierto de Aranjuez: II. Adagio (arr. for flugelhorn) (MP3 Download)
After seeing Brassed Off I have wanted this.The best piece in the film.If you like a classical with a difference this is the one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Not the film version!, 3 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Concierto de Aranjuez (arr. for flugelhorn): Concierto de Aranjuez: II. Adagio (arr. for flugelhorn) (MP3 Download)
What a shame,

The film soundtrack has clearly been "tickled" to bring the horn out up front, like a true virtuoso mix - and I LOVE it!!

In this version, it almost disappears into the background as the full Band plays the theme.

Very nice, etc, but the hairs on the back of this neck failed to rise.

Can anyone point me to a download of the Brassed Off Soundtrack Album track - every time I search I get this "tamed" version?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Brass guitar concerto!, 23 Sept. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Concierto de Aranjuez (arr. for flugelhorn): Concierto de Aranjuez: II. Adagio (arr. for flugelhorn) (MP3 Download)
The Grimethorpe Colliery Band have always been a favourite with me. So has the Concerto de Aranjuez, which the master classical guitarist Segovia played so magnificently. Combining this great band with this great piece when one is used to hearing as a guitar piece is somewhat strange, but Grimethorpe pull it off rather well I think, if you like Brass Band Music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars top brass, 20 May 2010
This review is from: Concierto de Aranjuez (arr. for flugelhorn): Concierto de Aranjuez: II. Adagio (arr. for flugelhorn) (MP3 Download)
this is a wonderful piece of music played by top quality musicians! I beleive all music is valid, even if we dont like it all! we all need to broaden our outlook on this. in other words remove our heads from the sand. I am familiar with lots of music styles and tastes, and appreciate all good musician ship.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Just Beautiful, 27 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Concierto de Aranjuez (arr. for flugelhorn): Concierto de Aranjuez: II. Adagio (arr. for flugelhorn) (MP3 Download)
This is just a beautiful piece of a music. The way it swells in the middle stirs the soul. I have loved this piece of music since hearing it played on 'Brassed Off' and never tire of hearing it. I have listened to many versions but this one by the Grimethorpe Colliery Brass Band is definitely ma favourite.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful balanced sound - pukka!!!, 28 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Concierto de Aranjuez (arr. for flugelhorn): Concierto de Aranjuez: II. Adagio (arr. for flugelhorn) (MP3 Download)
This is the way brass should sound with all the nuances and depth which exemplifies the rich and uplifting sound this band can generate. The slightly tremulous flugelhorn solo only serves to heighten the breadth of their musical emotion - wonderful stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely mind blowing!, 18 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Concierto de Aranjuez (arr. for flugelhorn): Concierto de Aranjuez: II. Adagio (arr. for flugelhorn) (MP3 Download)
A totally moving rendition, makes the hairs on the back of your neck stand up. Truly wonderful and this is from a west country female
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars What tone and fluidity., 15 Feb. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Concierto de Aranjuez (arr. for flugelhorn): Concierto de Aranjuez: II. Adagio (arr. for flugelhorn) (MP3 Download)
What tone and fluidity in the flugelhorn, this piece will always hold a place in my play list as I cannot play it any more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant tune, 13 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Concierto de Aranjuez (arr. for flugelhorn): Concierto de Aranjuez: II. Adagio (arr. for flugelhorn) (MP3 Download)
Good arrangement for the flugelhorn and played very well. I really enjoyed listening to this music and would recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent performance, 3 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Concierto de Aranjuez (arr. for flugelhorn): Concierto de Aranjuez: II. Adagio (arr. for flugelhorn) (MP3 Download)
An excellent performance from this lovely brass band, as would be expected and a good quality recording easy to listen to.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews